Hope to open Lan Center have Hardware questions

m4ck

Weaksauce
I am very seriously looking into opening a Lan Center. I've even come up with a name and looking into Location in my town for rent. I have been into multiplayer pc games for about 12 yrs now. Attended many lan parties, and helped run a few. I've never prepared for something of this magnitude though. If I am going to get this business going I want to do it right. I want the players to want to return. I have no problem with the gaming hardware. I have been building pc's for 10 plus yrs. I am self taught at everything. My networking skills are average or slightly above I would think. I'm planning on having 30 to 35 pc's set up at first. There will also be 10 to 15 stations for people to bring there own pc's. They still pay to play on a high speed network. Bandwidth is my first question. I know I need switches and not hubs. I am that smart (heh). I am familiar with trunking and cascading on a 10/100 mbs switches. My question is should I go this route and have 2 32 port 10/100mbs switches cascaded or 4 16 port 10/100mbs switches trunked 4 way. Or 24 port switches which seem more available. Or should I just go with Gigabit Switches and if so which ones and why. Would something like this work 96 port switch with gigabit uplink . Next question should I go with on board gigabit lan or spend the extra and get network cards for each pc.

thanks for any help guys.
if I get this thing going sometime I will throw a party when we open for the [H]'ers.
M4ck
LanFrenzy

As an eBay Associate, HardForum may earn from qualifying purchases.