Home lab for CCNP and beyond?

Virai

n00b
Hey guys,

I'm looking to build a lab to learn and get more experience with. I've got my CCNA and CCNP and am just looking to build a lab to keep my skills up and have fun with. I have no plans of getting my CCIE, but delving into some of the CCIE topics would be interesting.

The lab that I have been using for the last 2 years is my school lab, and now that I've graduated I no longer have access to it. They had very new equipment in the lab, so I'm used to the new 12.2-12.4 IOS. There was mainly 3500 and 3700 series switches and 2800 series routers for the last year in there.

I know I can't afford that kind of equipment, or even close. I need a little help picking out some routers and switches for my home lab that will do me good. I would like to spend under $200 for each unit (maybe 3 routers and 2 switches right now). Does anyone have similar equipment in their home lab that is doing well for them?

I've heard a lot of things like "Don't go for the 2500 series" and "Make sure you get 64/16 in your routers for the latest IOS's", but besides these does anyone have some specific advise on what I should be looking for? Thanks so much for any help.

Regards,
Jerry

I have no Cisco advice. But you are in the wrong forum. This is the Networking Gallery. It should be a forum up. Good luck with your find. I am working on my CCNA myself... its been slow.

Damn, I'm sorry. I accidentally placed it in this forum and not the one above it, but I figured I should leave it and see if anyone replies before moving it. I'll move it right now, thanks guys.

As long as you stay within the 2940/2950 for switch's and 2600's for routers you should be ok. Just know that, 2600's don't support voice (dsp's that is), and 2940's don't support auto-qos. Although, i'm sure you know that.

Good luck in your search!

How did you pass CCNA & CCNP, i am doing CCNA any advise would be really appreciated ?