HL2.exe crash on exit (vista 64), anyone else?

koopaGG

2[H]4U
It's never really bugged me until I started playing a lot more source games, and now that I'm going between CSS, Insurgency, L4D, and TF2 the error is starting to bug me. The game runs fine but as soon as I exit the game crashes.

It's just getting pretty dang annoying. Anyone else with Vista 64 (or even 32) run into this issue? Have you fixed it, and if you have, how?

There's no fix that I'm aware of, it does it for me on pretty much every source game, you would have thought that valve would have fixed this problem especially considering that Vista x64 is such a popular gaming OS now. Typical Valve IMO.

I had the same problem while in Vista x64 ... I've since switched to XP 32bit.

Said error also used to occur in XP 32bit, but that was a while ago.

I used to have it, but It went away after a while.... I have no idea why.

I get this too on Vista x64 and it bugged me also. But I can't seem to recall if it still does it for me....maybe I got used to it or it went away by itself like xdivenx.

I had it for a while and then it went away. Im pretty sure I found the answer on google.

Edit: Im pretty sure I just reinstalled and it worked fine.

Yeah it comes and goes for just about everyone. Someone posted a thing awhile back telling how you can hide the error but I forgot how.

It's 64 bit specific from what I understand.

It's weird, I rarely play Valve games now, but last time I was playing L4D without error was a couple of weeks back, then quit, and then played it again a couple of days back and it errored when I quit. So it's quite a mystery.

There's a huge thread about it on the Valve forums. Seems Valve tend to leave big problems and not fix them for some weird reason.

I had these same issues on Vista 64 more than 6 months ago on the HL2 Series, it's amazing Valve hasn't fixed it yet.