Help with Cisco SG300 and HP V1910-48G Switch for LAN and SAN configuration

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Dog Patch 06, Sep 6, 2015.

  1. Dog Patch 06

    Dog Patch 06 n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    HI,

    This is my first post here, and i need some help from you guys.
    At this moment i have in my production environment 2 firewalls Watchguard's M440 and 2 Cisco SG300-52 ports, with support LAN and SAN.
    Now we have acquire 2 HP HP V1910-48G Switch's for SAN only, and i need your help to advise, to help me to design the best solution. We have 3 Pool's of server's and 3 Pool's of Netapp's FAS 2xxx with iSCSI and fiber.
    The image above, is the best solution that i have reach with full redundancy.
    Thanks.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. /usr/home

    /usr/home [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,166
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Honestly, those are both terrible switches for SAN. They are access switches, not data center switches. They don't have enough buffer on the ports for iSCSI/NFS.
     
  3. thrash408

    thrash408 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    327
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
  4. Dog Patch 06

    Dog Patch 06 n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Hi, thanks for your replay.
    At the moment, this is what i have available.
    If i can put to work these solution, then i can justified 4 new switches for our Datacenter.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. NetJunkie

    NetJunkie [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,697
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Good luck. I've seen many, many iSCSI deployments fall completely on their face by using switches that weren't meant for it. These work fine in my lab (Have a SG300 and HP1910) but not for what you want. You WILL have problems.
     
  6. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Well, I guess it will fail depending on load so how much data are you pushing?

    @ All
    While it might not be the best possible solution you can try to advice he/she/it how to deal with it the best way possible. That said, I've run quite a few network solutions on "this is a bad idea hardware"-comments on this forums without issues even though it might not be optimal.

    //Danne
     
  7. /usr/home

    /usr/home [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,166
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Running NETAPPs on access switches? I'm sure they can afford a proper storage switch. For homelab? Sure, I use a Juniper 4200 for iSCSI with no issues. For a business with more serious SAN needs? An access switch will give him grief.
     
  8. Dog Patch 06

    Dog Patch 06 n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply's, i have talk to my administration, and we are going to acquire 2 new HP FlexFabric 5700 only for SAN.
    The diagram above, give us redundancy and high availability or it need to be change?