Help this newbie!

manny1222

Gawd
Hi guys,
I am a registered nurse looking to work in nursing informatics. I'd like to get some programming under my belt to shure up my resume as I've never done done anything programming related. I have two questions.

1. When it comes to informatics (nursing, medical or otherwise) what programming languages should i be looking into (at least initially)? My assumption is SQL and maybe Java (just from my little research).

2. Where would be a good place to get this training online with my arm and leg intact? I was checking out my wife's groupon and there was one for training from "Database Training Academy". Is this a reputable site to get programming training? Or should i sign up for Lynda.com?

Thanks in advance for your replies.

SQL would be important. Any recent-ish, well rated, book on amazon would do well.
Informatics I think would lean towards python and R.. but sure.. Java would be okay. scanning some of the job postings they seem to lean towards specific industry apps.

SQL and .NET, imho.

As for learning, you can get SQL Express and Visual Studio Community for free, and just go at it!

Thanks guys!
I was initially looking at my local community college but their classes didn't jive with ny schedule. I will have a hard time doing it nyself with a book. I need outside motivation .

The world pretty much runs on some combination of SQL, PHP, Perl, and/or .NET (at least until you get into developing desktop apps/programs, then it's almost always some version of C)

Java is mostly used as a teaching language here in the West, but it's pretty popular for development in India, for some embedded type applications, Android apps, and some other areas.

Honestly though, once you learn one programming language, the concepts don't change (much), just the syntax.