HELP!!! Strange Xbox Live issue!

JohnnyNapalm

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
1,159
Whenever I load up a game (doesn't matter what game), and go to the online matchmaking screen, I am unable to view games (COD4), retrieve updates (Madden 08), or find matches (Halo 3). I have to sign out of my profile, and back in, and then the problem is fixed. This is a MAJOR pain to have to do every time I want to play online.

I'm running the Xbox wired through a D-Link wireless router. I've tried both static and dynamic IP addresses, put the Xbox in the DMZ, and no luck. NAT tests come back fine every time.

For example: I'll start the console, and browse new demos in the marketplace. It will let me browse and download just fine. Then I'll fire up Halo 3, and my profile will be detected with proper rank, exp, etc...but when I start the matchmaking, I will get a "Information can not be retrieved from Xbox Live" message. I hit the guide button, hit X to log out, log back in immediately, restart matchmaking, and it finds matches immediately.

Every game exhibits this behavior.

Any thoughts? This is driving me insane.
 

Rugeroni

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 9, 2002
Messages
482
when did this start happening? did you purchase a new xbox and transfer your data over? maybe just a new hd or transfer your profile from one mem card to another?

the reason i ask is i sold my xbox and moved everything to a new xbox and had the same issue. i was lucky and a update was released and fixed the issue but i was ready to contact ms about it.

i would call them and see what they can do for you.
 

JohnnyNapalm

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
1,159
i bought a used xbox, and did a name change on the existing profile. it did it even before the name change, however.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,669
Yeah, my transfer kit left my elite doing the same thing over the weekend. It just keeps dropping and disconnecting me all weekend. I finally had to pull a "restore to factory settings" on my router to fix everything.
I think that transfer kit or even moving one account from one machine to another causes some odd issues.
 

Ehren8879

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
4,431
did you power cycle the router after setting the port forwarding/dmz ?

What if you connect the xbox directly to the modem? (This may require you to MAC clone your xbox with the router's MAC or unplug your cable modem for several minutes so it can assign a new host ip)
 

erf

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
1,848
i had the same problem and it ended up having something to do with my router settings.....i got it sorted out by calling 4myxbox hotline.
 

JohnnyNapalm

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
1,159
i updated the firmware to the microsoft recommended version...seems to have smoothed things out a little bit.
 

preyed

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
373
I had the same router and I ended up having to buy a Lynkys. But the Dlink was also bugging out my PC's connection in games as well.
 
Top