Help Pc won't post with dual channel ram.

dat722

Limp Gawd
Previously, my niece was running a fx6300 and am3 board with gskill 2x4gb 1600mhZ ram at dual channel. It was stuck in a boot loop so I figured I would upgrade the whole thing.

Specs now is:
i7-4770
Gigabyte Z97-hd3 Rev. 2.1
2x4gb Gskillz 1600mhz
Evga nex 750w
Same hyper 212 plus cooler.
Same Msi armor 1060 6gb

I tried every combo possible. Each ram works in each slot. 2 sticks works in single channel (red and blue slot). I tried the bare minimum motherboard and ram only. I even tried no hyper 212 with a fan blowing at the bare cpu. I retightened the standoffs and etc also!

Help please!

Gigabyte boards stuck in boot loops are almost always due to corrupt CMOS settings, corrupt BIOS or corrupt backup BIOS conflicting with the primary BIOS. I've had plenty of experience with misbehaving Gigabyte boards, which is why I don't buy them anymore.

Like the guy above you said, pull the battery and the power cord so the board has no power, and let it sit for 10-15 minutes and then reinstall the battery (normally just a minute works, but Gigabyte boards are that kind of special.) You may also want to check if the battery has enough juice left, if it's below 2.5v, you'll want to replace it.

Also very important, MAKE SURE you have the RAM in the correct slots for dual channel mode, it's not always intuitive in which slots should be used. If you use the wrong slots, the board can fail to POST or act erratically. Download the manual for the board from the gigabyte website if you don't have it already and it should tell you the allowable memory configurations. In newer boards, the farthest slot from the CPU is more often slot 1, so you may have to put one module there and one module in slot 3, which would be the second slot from the CPU socket.