Help... Nvidia driver stuck in limited RGB

Discussion in 'nVidia Flavor' started by LigTasm, Mar 25, 2018.

  1. LigTasm

    LigTasm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,503
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Fresh install of Windows 10 on a new machine with a 1060, installed the latest 391.24 drivers and then the colors went dull. Originally I was able to change it from limited to full (this is over DP, fucking thanks Nvidia) and it worked for a split second and then reverted back to limited so it basically looks like grayscale.

    I used DDU and rolled back to the previous driver and it did the same thing. What the hell? Anyone know how to fix this? Using the Windows default mode doesn't fix it either.
     
  2. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,583
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Make sure that HDR and WCG is off in the Windows display settings.
     
    AceGoober and Armenius like this.
  3. ob1

    ob1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,276
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    Did you change back to full from limited in the control panel? I have to do this on several monitors with my 970. Each driver install changes it back to limited.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. LigTasm

    LigTasm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,503
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Thats literally what I'm talking about, it doesn't matter what mode its in it doesn't change to full. It shouldn't even be trying to use limited mode on a DP connection anyways, but it is.
     
  5. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,806
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Make sure your selecting the right resolution under the right heading.. like monitor. I noticed last time there's different headings now like tv/display ext.
     
  6. LigTasm

    LigTasm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,503
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Yeah it is set to monitor, correct resolution and refresh. Everything is normal. I have to switch it to Nvidia settings because PUBG still trips out with green bars on the screen if you use the default windows setting, usually its no issue but this time it just seemed to get stuck.

    settings.jpg
     
  7. LigTasm

    LigTasm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,503
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Ok I fixed it, it was Gigabytes APP CENTER causing the screw up. I removed it and set the colors to full again and it worked.
     
  8. melk

    melk Gawd

    Messages:
    908
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Glad you figured it out. That's the number 1 reason why I steer clear of bundled crapware like that.
     
  9. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,395
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    what's the difference between 'default color settings' and 'Nvidia color settings'?...I've always left it at default...is Nvidia color better?
     
  10. Decibel

    Decibel 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,794
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2000
    NVIDIA color settings gives you more controls, whereas default is just that, whatever it autodetects to.
     
  11. LigTasm

    LigTasm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,503
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    The issue for me was that PUBG will show green lines on default windows values on some cards, but if you change it to Nvidia the Microsoft settings are overridden and it works fine.

    To elaborate, Gigabyte APP center isn't just for their apps apparently, it also can interface with the control panel and several other things like power settings. It also runs continuously in a separate desktop (if you use the tile view you'll see it) and it fucks up the whole system.
     
    AceGoober and cageymaru like this.
  12. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,209
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    It's actually very interesting that the drivers default to RGB limited when standard PC application requires the use of RGB full? Good job NV.

    Checked all my machines, it's only the Windows drivers that do this, the Linux drivers default to RGB full.
     
  13. LigTasm

    LigTasm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,503
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Normally it only does it in HDMI mode. Is been like that for a while now and they have yet to fix it.
     
  14. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,209
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    The monitor on my Windows PC is connected via DP, and it's defaulted to RGB limited. I had to manually select RGB full.
     
  15. XoR_

    XoR_ Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    398
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    What monitor is that?
    I see 240Hz... if that ist G-Sync monitor then this would be considered as epic fail...
     
    Armenius likes this.
  16. Armenius

    Armenius [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,241
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    It was added as a compromise to Microsoft trying to add implicit support for HDR color. There was a conflict between what NVIDIA was doing for HDR color and what Microsoft did. NVIDIA color always seemed to give better color reproduction than Microsoft to me, even at default settings.
    I've been through 3 monitors: one with HDMI, one with DL-DVI and my current with DisplayPort. All three have always defaulted to RGB full whether it was Windows 7, 8.1, or 10. Only when I have connected a TV has it defaulted to RGB limited. With my new Samsung TV it automatically detect the black level I have selected on the TV and change between full and limited based on that.
     
  17. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard|News

    Messages:
    19,469
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    The Gigabyte app center is the most vile software on the internet. Not only does it crash your PC and make weird choices without you asking it to do a darn thing; it will use up 25% of the system resources while hosing your system. The motherboards are rock solid. The app center crap need to DIAF.
     
  18. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,395
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    does 'Nvidia Color Settings' ever cause any issues in games or desktop applications?...or does it only matter if you have an HDR enabled display?
     
  19. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,354
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    MS's version of HDR basically broke Nvidia's version. Before the first Creators update, HDR content would auto-enable itself no matter what your display settings were. I left my setup as Full-RGB all of the time because that's what most of my other devices (Xbox, PS4, etc.) use. The system simply knew when HDR was being used and swapped over automatically.

    Thanks to MS's update, you have to have everything set to "default color settings" or HDR simply won't work with no explanation given. For some apps that don't use true fullscreen (Netflix & PowerDVD), you also have to enable it on the desktop.