Help choosing a new router..

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Copyright, May 14, 2018.

  1. Copyright

    Copyright [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,983
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2000
    Not sure if I should even upgrade. Currently have an Asus 68U. I own a two story home and the router is upstairs. I do large file copies between wireless and wired PC's. The differences in USB adapters has been unreal. My netgear 6210 has been the best wifi adapter I have used. I just ordered the A7000 AC1900 adapter. Is there any benefit to stepping to a newer model router? Looking for best transfer speeds possible between my PC and one that is wired to the gigabit switch.
     
  2. Mega6

    Mega6 Gawd

    Messages:
    1,010
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    AC is it for a while. You are limited by your adapters the environment. Tune what you have.
     
  3. Copyright

    Copyright [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,983
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2000
    I will give it a go..
     
  4. Mega6

    Mega6 Gawd

    Messages:
    1,010
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    so for speed, 5GHz obviously and AC. Make sure your reception is the best possible.
     
  5. Copyright

    Copyright [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,983
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2000
    Yup, 5ghz and AC.. the netgear 6210 wasn't bad.. surprised my onboard which should have been better was not. Transfer speed was half as fast. Will see how this 7000 does and I will check to see what channels I am on as well. I haven't touched this network in a couple years....lazy!
     
  6. infinity9

    infinity9 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    191
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Just order a new access point and turn off the one in your router. You will get a better access point that way.
     
  7. Eickst

    Eickst [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,666
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Placement is important as well as antenna orientation. Dipoles have weaker tx/rx from where the end is pointing, so try to keep it parallel to the area you want to cover.

    AC Wave 2 has beam forming, I doubt your devices have wave 2 though. We're deploying wave 2 devices at work just because that's what is available now, don't expect to benefit from it for a while when laptops finally start coming with them.