Help advise on home switch purchase - I want LACP, > = 24 ports, Web GUI, Low power draw

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Archaea, Jun 22, 2018.

  1. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,243
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    I bought a layer 2 HPE Office Connect 1820 switch so I could have greater trunked bandwidth 802.3ad LACP to my QNAP 231P NAS for an upcoming LAN party. I've failed to make it work. See here if interested:
    https://hardforum.com/threads/recom...with-lacp-for-nas-use-at-lan-parties.1961076/

    I'm back to making another purchase and I desire input from the networking enthusiast crowd - as this isn't my technical wheelhouse.

    Here's what's important to my buying decision:



    Here are the units I'm now considering:

    $200 - Ubiquiti EdgeSwitch Lite 24 Ports Wall-Mountable Fanless Switch with Optional DC Input - ES-24-LITE-US
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=0XP-000A-000B1


    $200 - Ubiquiti Networks US-24-US Managed Gigabit Switches with SFP1
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=0XP-000A-000S4


    $150 - Mikrotik Routerboard CSS326-24G-2S+RM
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=0XP-002R-000A7


    $150 - Refurb Cisco 2960S
    eBay


    I've been told to ill consider Trendnet, Linksys, D-link etc - - - because they are just lower tier consumer gear that isn't reliable, and newegg reviews more or less seem to confirm that vs the brands like Ubiquiti, Mikrotik, and Cisco.


    Which do you recommend, or is there something else I should consider?
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2018
  2. mda

    mda [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,187
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Throw the SG300 into consideration? 200$ over at amazon
     
  3. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    6,096
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    None of the Ubiquiti products, I'm afraid- and very likely the Mikrotik as well- are capable of line-speed LACP. To do so, they must run the necessary routing through their CPUs in software rather than through their hardware.

    This is a feature that I'd go straight to Cisco for.
     
  4. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    6,096
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
  5. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,243
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
  6. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    6,096
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Well, I'll need to clarify further; I managed to imply that software LACP/LAG was a bad thing. It's not; however it is an issue if the CPU running said software and the links between the CPU and the ports being aggregated are too slow. This is the case for the Ubiquiti and Mikrotik devices in general, but not necessarily for the Cisco stuff. Different market targets and all that probably.

    And I do recommend that you do the digging yourself a bit to limit your retail trial-and-error to just the one switch so far ;)
     
  7. bds1904

    bds1904 Gawd

    Messages:
    990
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    No, the mikrotik is a smart switch that has a proper switch chip for line-rate switching and has hardware based VLAN’s, LACP and STP. The line he referred to was the CSS line so it runs the lightweight SwitchOS which relies solely on the switch chip not the CPU running the web config.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2018
    /dev/null and IdiotInCharge like this.
  8. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,243
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    FWIW, the HPE 1820 I couldn't ever get to work. I borrowed my brother's Cisco 2960S tonight to test and it benched much faster than the HPE switch with the same artificial tests. In real world testing, I suppose they were more similar. Perhaps at that point more a limitation of the NAS than the switch.

    https://hardforum.com/threads/recom...s-use-at-lan-parties.1961076/#post-1043705717

    QNAP 231P
    (2) WD 5TB Blues, 5400RPM
    Cisco 2960S

    802.3ad - dynamic configured on both switch and NAS.

    Qnap 231p 8023ad.PNG
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2018
  9. boushidosan

    boushidosan Gawd

    Messages:
    513
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    I agree it might just be a limitation of that hardware.

    On a side note just fyi, I think the LACP standard does not send packets over both slave interfaces that are part of the dynamic group from Host A (server/nas etc) to Host B (client), it is more for when multiple clients are wanting data from the same box, and instead of flooding one interface with packets, it dynamically assigns another interface in the group to talk to each extra client (max of 1 gig per client, or w/e the interface speed is, and max seperate TCP interfaces is dependent on max NICs in group). Which is good for when you need to transfer to/from your box from multiple machines (like backing up on a similar time schedule).

    I use 802.3ad with 4 nics with unraid box and a Force10 S60 to stream to a bunch of different boxes throughout the network and it seems to help.
     
  10. /dev/null

    /dev/null [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,766
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    That depends which hashing algorithm your switch(es) support.

    It can do it via mac, src ip, dst ip, src+dst ip, and sometimes src/dst port as well.
     
    boushidosan likes this.