Have 3000 should I get 3200?

Maddnotez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2014
Messages
294
New build will be B450 Tomahawk max, Ryzen 3600, 5700XT.

I already have 16GB of Tridentz 3000 RAM unopened that I ended up not using for a build. Is it worth returning and paying an extra $30 for 3200?

Will I see a lot of gains?
 

sabrewolf732

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Messages
4,329
No unless you're getting something with better memory chips.

Work on getting tight timings at 3000 to 3200.
 

Maddnotez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2014
Messages
294
Not sure what memory chips they're using right now, what are people saying in the reviews? Do you have a link?
I dont know much about the details.

  • DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600)
  • Timing 16-18-18-38
  • CAS Latency 16
  • Voltage 1.35V



Vs.


  • DDR4 3000 (PC4 24000)
  • Timing 16-18-18-38
  • CAS Latency 16
  • Voltage 1.35V
 

DrDoU

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
2,563
I've played with those speeds and timings the only place i can see a difference is in adia.
 

quiktake

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 22, 2011
Messages
486
Ryzen infinity fabric would clock at 1500 for the 3000 MHz ram and 1600 for the 3200. Very minor but could affect performance a bit in some games at 1080p
 

Jamie Marsala

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
246
Personally I went with 3600 to keep the IF at 1800 and the FCLK/MCLK at 1:1. Although I got memory that will run at 3800 just fine with the IF at 1900. It all depends on what you want though. You could probably run the 3000 at 3200 with no issues. With my RAM I just upped the speed and left timings and voltage where they were supposed to be for 3600Mhz speeds. And yes the only place you would likely notice the difference between any of them is in AIDA64, I have tested at 3600, 3733 and 3800 and of course the best numbers were had at 3800. Also tested with the Infinity Fabric at 1800, with RAM at 3800 and at 1900 and RAM at 3800 with better result with IF at 1900Mhz. But it all depends on what you are doing with your system that is memory intensive and would be better with faster RAM and IF settings.
 

dasa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
394
If you are interested in overclocking swap the 3000c16 RAM for 3000c15 Crucial BLS2K8G4D30AESBK Ballistix Sport LT as they will do 3600 but more importantly you can tighten down the timings a decent amount.
In CPU limited sections of games you could easily see a 20% increase to CPU performance but then you could probably get 10-15% by tweaking your current kit at 3000 or 3200.
If you want to squeeze a bit more out of it look for 3200 14-14-14 RAM which is Samsung b die but it usualy comes at a premium that most consider is not good value.
 
Last edited:

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
21,920
Ryzen infinity fabric would clock at 1500 for the 3000 MHz ram and 1600 for the 3200. Very minor but could affect performance a bit in some games at 1080p
less than 1% difference.. it's only a 10% improvement in benchmarking programs from 1400IF to 1900IF and around 5-8% in actual game performance.

Run the 3000Mhz memory at 3200Mhz. They are very likely the same Hynix chips.
and this... probably will end up needing to bump the voltage up a bit but should run similar timing at 3200.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
645
as was mentioned earlier those two kits likely run the same ics or very similar. being that you have them in hand i would pop them in and run thaiphoon burner to find out what ics they have. google the ics and see what kind of ocs others have gotten so you know what they may hit. you never know they may be solid clockers that will exceed 3200. gskill uses all kinds of different ics in their slower loose timing kits.
if you post a pic of thaiphoon burner we can tell you what ics they are using.
 

quiktake

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 22, 2011
Messages
486
less than 1% difference.. it's only a 10% improvement in benchmarking programs from 1400IF to 1900IF and around 5-8% in actual game performance.



and this... probably will end up needing to bump the voltage up a bit but should run similar timing at 3200.

I discovered that 3000 series ryzen has the infinity fabric disconnected from ram clock.
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
21,920
I discovered that 3000 series ryzen has the infinity fabric disconnected from ram clock.
it can be decoupled but with am4 zen 2 the latency gets pretty bad. TR4 doesn't seem to have the same latency issue.
 
Top