has this ever happened to you?

tiebird321

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2004
Messages
1,062
so i have a nice tyan thunder k7x
this is about the nicest dual MP mobo board ever made

i've had this running my dv editing system for about a year.5 now
2 weeks ago the system sudenly gets unhappy
programs wont start
cant write to floppys
system lags alot randonly

i'm thinking time for a format and reinstall of xp.....
so i was running a 18gb 4mb 10k u160 scsi boot/programs/swap drive
and i had a nicer drive sitting around
so i turn the system off
pull the old drive out
put the new IBM in (15k 36gb 16mb u160)
insert xp cd
goes trough the first part of instalation just fine
restarts
halfway trough the XP loading screen
get a BSOD
"windows could not mount the operating system hard drive"
WTF
restart
same thing
pulls hardware out
finsishes installing
long story short
anytime a hardware change is made it will boot
clears cmos
still having problem
swaps HD
same problem
tries to upgrade bios
pulls everything out of system except for:
1. MP processor (tested on another system)
2. 512mb ram (tested on another system)
3. floppy drive and floppy cable (tested on another system)
4. normal ps2 mouse and 104 key keaboard
5. 17" dumb crt monitor
system error "no operating system found"
if i try to boot from a good 98 or 95 or linux floppy
if blank floppy "disc I/O error"
mail it to tyan
get call back

{them}"hi weve never seen this happen before can we keep it and send you a new one and a free graphics card for your troubles"
{me} sure, but do you know what was wrong?
{them} you have the only case of both the floppy port dieing and the bios becoming corupted with the mobo still mostly functional

yeah... so anyone else ever hear of this happening
 

Vertigo Acid

2(-log[H+])4u
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
12,416
Wow, that's weird. Cool that you're getting a new mobo and video card out of it tho. Good luck getting everything to work
 

FLECOM

Modder(ator) & [H]ardest Folder Evar
Staff member
Joined
Jun 27, 2001
Messages
15,739
you talking about the 2462? it is the nicest mobo ever made ;) ... that is strange... ive had mine for years, never had an issue, still in my pc :)

what vid card you getting?

the only thing on my 2462 is if i plug anything into the second (upper) usb port on the mobo it instantly blue-screens windows, and makes the system completely unusable, wont boot or anything :eek:
 

Sojuuk

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 18, 2003
Messages
3,011
{them}"hi weve never seen this happen before can we keep it and send you a new one and a free graphics card for your troubles"

feel special :)

and of course no ones ever heard of it happening they said it was the only case :eek: ;) :cool:
 

ambit

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 7, 2000
Messages
3,249
i know NT4 would sometimes get screwy if there wasn't a floppy present on install, but haven't heard of that with XP.
 

FLECOM

Modder(ator) & [H]ardest Folder Evar
Staff member
Joined
Jun 27, 2001
Messages
15,739
ambit said:
i know NT4 would sometimes get screwy if there wasn't a floppy present on install, but haven't heard of that with XP.

ive never had an issue installing NT4 (server) w/o a floppy, as long as you have boot from cd your good to go... :D
 

tiebird321

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2004
Messages
1,062
antec true power eps550
tired using my antec truepower 430 (known perfectly good)
with the same results

they are sending me a tacyon 9600pro with the hardware monitoring

should be back to me in the next 5 days
 

Ugly_Jim

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
278
what makes the 2462 so awesome? I want to build a dual socket 462 system for a HTPC/fileserver/encoder
 

Oppy

Gawd
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
874
tiebird321 said:
antec true power eps550
tired using my antec truepower 430 (known perfectly good)
with the same results

they are sending me a tacyon 9600pro with the hardware monitoring

should be back to me in the next 5 days


on that note, my truepower 550 was causing issues , ie* the hardrive motor would kick off and on and the floppy would miss behave, checked the voltage rails and the 5 volt was at 4.5 :eek: and the 3volt was all over the place, popped open the powersupply and noticed 4 messed up caps , one leaking, and 3 that looked ready to leak (bulging upward).

Changed out for a 2 year old enermax 431watt and all is good for now.
 

tiebird321

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2004
Messages
1,062
its actualy the 2469UGN (with the scsi U160)
until this happeneed it was the most solid system i owned
 

FLECOM

Modder(ator) & [H]ardest Folder Evar
Staff member
Joined
Jun 27, 2001
Messages
15,739
actually the 2469UNG has U320 scsi ;)

i have the 2462UNG, the little brother of your board, has U160
 
Top