Has anyone ever heard NTFS doesn't need defrag?

Syndicated_Death

[H]ard|Gawd
So today I asked my IT guy to defrag one of the computers here for one of my coworkers. the reply I got back from my IT guy was, "why. it doesn't do anything on a ntfs system."

Personally this is the first I've ever heard of this. I did a google search and there does seem to be a myth about this. Has anyone else ever heard anything about this one way or the other?

Oh and in case anyone is wondering why I didn't just do it myself? ... no admin privs to do so. well not legitmate admin access. I only try to use my nt psswd disk for good. :cool:

I have heard that defragmenting was unnecessary however as a programmer I have seen ntfs filesystems where 80% of the files were fragmented. I have also seen similar claims and similar fragmentation levels in the linux world for xfs.

Never heard anyone claim that for NTFS. It is well known it usually is much less fragmented than fat-32 would get but still. The usual myth is that linux file-systems don't get fragmented which is also a huge myth and totally untrue.

I've always read that NTFS is "fragmentation resistant" because of the way it allocates blocks for new files. It will still get fragmented over time though. Whether the fragmentation is enough to cause noticeable performance degradation is probably application dependent.

Windows even puts defrag for NTFS volumes on a schedule by default, unless they are on SSD's. It's sad that there are so many dumb sysadmins out there :/

please report back how your "IT" guy responds to those links

Awesome CrimsonKnight13! Thank you very much for the linkage.