• Some users have recently had their accounts hijacked. It seems that the now defunct EVGA forums might have compromised your password there and seems many are using the same PW here. We would suggest you UPDATE YOUR PASSWORD and TURN ON 2FA for your account here to further secure it. None of the compromised accounts had 2FA turned on.
    Once you have enabled 2FA, your account will be updated soon to show a badge, letting other members know that you use 2FA to protect your account. This should be beneficial for everyone that uses FSFT.

hardocp.com virused???

Status
Not open for further replies.

cbar

n00b
Joined
Aug 5, 2004
Messages
7
Just to let you all know, avg is saying theres a virus in my opera cache which must come from hardocp because after deleting the file with avg and clearing the cache in opera, then visiting hardocp.com this warning comes up after a short while. See screenshot: http://img101.echo.cx/img101/4648/hardocpvirus2ye.jpg
Can kyle or someone check this out. Thanks.
 
I think AVG is on crack. That virus was discovered in 1989, and it infects .exe and .com files, not .htm files!

...on a side note, why are you using a browser that has advertisement banners when there are so many alternatives (Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox) that do just as good a job (if not better) without the ads? Just strikes me as being odd. I wouldn't want to put up with ad banners in my browser...
 
andrewhaji said:
I think AVG is on crack. That virus was discovered in 1989, and it infects .exe and .com files, not .htm files!
It might be a different virus, possibly a very new one. Or of course it could be a false positive but i think it needs looking in to.
...on a side note, why are you using a browser that has advertisement banners when there are so many alternatives (Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox) that do just as good a job (if not better) without the ads? Just strikes me as being odd. I wouldn't want to put up with ad banners in my browser...
Because ie is a joke and opera kicks firefoxs ass (seriously). I hate advertisments more than most people but 98% of the time you dont even notice the ad, and my filter.ini is edited so i dont see many ads in web pages (notice the white bars on hardocp in that screenshot) which more than makes up for it. You can choose to have a targeted google text ad instead but i dont like the idea of having my usage tracked by a company, especially google.
 
You might wanna read up on the rules NOW. Check my sig and read the one on Ad blockin before you reply again.

There's no virus on Hardocp. This is something on your computer. I'm quite sure if you go to any other site it will kick in again after a while.
 
mohammedtaha said:
You might wanna read up on the rules NOW.
Already had in august, but i took another look just for you. Dont see anything i broke.
Check my sig and read the one on Ad blockin before you reply again.
I didnt even look at the stickies (why would i have? Ive not been here in a year, not intending to stay and only came back to make this thread). I have now but it doesnt matter anyway.
There's no virus on Hardocp.
Well there isnt any more at least.
This is something on your computer.
:rolleyes:
I'm quite sure if you go to any other site it will kick in again after a while.
Nope.
PS. We appreciate you telling us as we and our users would have been in a pretty bad situation had hardocp been distributing a virus.
Dont mention it.
 
cbar said:
Already had in august, but i took another look just for you. Dont see anything i broke.


Any discussion of ad blocking software or instruction for using ad blocking regarding this forum or any other discussion in general of attempting to block advertisement will result in a no questions asked permanent ban on your account. This is not done lightly, rather deliberately to deny access to those who choose to utilize this forum, but not support our sponsors. It takes money to finance the cost of bandwidth, especially a forum of this size and if you don't care enough to support us through our advertisers, then we don't need your business. This will be the only warning with no discussion.

talking about how you edited certain files to do certain things not to see things kinda qualifies under that there rule..
 
well since your using a crappy freeware AV Scanner thats unable to determine which varient of Yankee_Doodle you have I cant be of much help, Id recommend some online scanning or a trial of NOD32 or Kaspersky and a careful search for rootkits (I also highly encourage the use of ProcessGuard)
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=768776
http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/vacsina.shtml

what I san say is that your experince seems to be isolated to you
and that other members and myself arent experiencing that


regarding the other point
the seriousness of ad-blocking has dramatically increased recently from an open secret to a totally verbotten subject through the abuse of the topic and blatant in your face discussion of how to circumvent the very ads that make this forum possible. This isnt a joke, and there are other places to discuss the topic, but not discussing it here is now part & parcel of being a member.

However judging from your title it seems someone else might have already made that clear :p
Look forward to seeing you next week ;)
 
stupid n00b...

i love the way he says "especially google" because im shure google is one of the top companys someone would trust
 
neither have i....its because hes a retard and has spyware so he blames the [H]
 
Well atleast he has 1 week to clean up his system.

btw ... if you're banned, you can still access hardforum but not post right ?
 
i think so


YOUR A N00B cbar!


sorry..had to put that if he can read them :p
 
mohammedtaha said:
btw ... if you're banned, you can still access hardforum but not post right ?
If you are banned, you are denied access and get a screen telling you so. If you toss your [H] cookies, I believe you would be able to view the forums like any other unregistered guest. ;)
 
Talon Blackrazor said:

he was awarded a one week all expense paid luxury vacation :p
from what I can tell he wasnt permabanned do to the casual reference as opposed to an instructional reference.

But you can see exactly how seriously all this is getting enforced ;)

of course you can view, clear your cookies and dont log in
as a guest of course you cant post

its unfortunate examples need to be made, but it is the only means available to get people to take this seriously
cbar I sincerly hope to see you in a week ;)
 
I see one banner on this forum. it even fits in nice with the sceme i find. Why block it? I don't even notice it even more... plus i like newegg ads..

:confused:
 
WOW... yall have flowed way off topic or im missing something. This cat wasnt talking about blocking ads! He was talkinga bout recieving a virus alert due to this site... lets open our ears, get out of denial, and for fucks sake atleast take a look and see wtf he is talking about.. considering it only take 2 secs to take a look at google and read wtf he was talking about!
 
Mauli said:
I see one banner on this forum. it even fits in nice with the sceme i find. Why block it? I don't even notice it even more... plus i like newegg ads..

:confused:

Ya i like the ad it makes it easy to get to Newegg. :D But why did he get banned for ad-blocking look to me like a case of noob?

Edit,

I was just thinking can we get a ad/link to google to if you did i would set [H] as my home page. :)
 
Aquafina said:
WOW... yall have flowed way off topic or im missing something. This cat wasnt talking about blocking ads! He was talkinga bout recieving a virus alert due to this site... lets open our ears, get out of denial, and for fucks sake atleast take a look and see wtf he is talking about.. considering it only take 2 secs to take a look at google and read wtf he was talking about!


No .. we understand what he was talking about. We told him what was wrong. If you look at the picture he posted, HardOCP ads were blocked and he said that he blocked a few of them. He clearly blocked NewEgg and Google ads but uses Opera without buying it and views their ads. Maybe he needs a break to think clearly about things. Do you want a break too ... ask IceCzar for one.

There is no virus on this website. Many of us running REAL antivirus softwares would have detected it. The server hosting the site would have detected it.

Why do we need to look at google ? What's wrong with google ?
 
Aquafina said:

something he cant currently detect is reloading something he can detect into his cache
the first part is likely stealthed with a rootkit, that or its a false positive

the other "issue" seriously derailed the thread, but thats pretty normal when it strays over the line :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top