[H] Stock Alerts, Tips & Tears for AMD, Nvidia, Intel, PS5, XBOX

prtzlboy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
1,721
Holy crap, I got a 3090 fe! Pickup at my local store next week. I think I need to play the lottery today.

I've failed at literally every best buy drop. I think my issue is not living close enough to a "big" city. Never available in my area.
 

arnemetis

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,851
I've failed at literally every best buy drop. I think my issue is not living close enough to a "big" city. Never available in my area.
I failed 100% of best buy gpu drops in 2021, and I had discord channels/youtube streams to alert me. I guess you have to just keep trying, and eventually you luck out. I think the 3090 was less desirable than the 3060 ti through 3080s, so since I started with the 3090 I finally got one.
 

les_garten

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
496
I failed 100% of best buy gpu drops in 2021, and I had discord channels/youtube streams to alert me. I guess you have to just keep trying, and eventually you luck out. I think the 3090 was less desirable than the 3060 ti through 3080s, so since I started with the 3090 I finally got one.

Which 3090 and how long ago?
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
11,142
I failed 100% of best buy gpu drops in 2021, and I had discord channels/youtube streams to alert me. I guess you have to just keep trying, and eventually you luck out. I think the 3090 was less desirable than the 3060 ti through 3080s, so since I started with the 3090 I finally got one.
I had auto-clickers running on about 20 cards for most of 2021 and got nothing. Literally hundreds of "250 Mile" errors and out of stocks. This was before they added the account verification stuff. I got a 3080 FE in January 2021 (declined CC) and a 3060 XC in March, both without scripts, just a stock checker and my finger.

According to the queue bypasser extensions, queue times are somewhat randomized. That's why those extensions take multiple requests to get a better time. In my experience it's about 30~60 seconds in variation.
It's basically a lottery. If you're the first person to click the button, but you get a 30 second queue = No card. Click the button late, but get a 1 second queue? = Get a card.
 

undertaker2k8

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
1,681
I had auto-clickers running on about 20 cards for most of 2021 and got nothing. Literally hundreds of "250 Mile" errors and out of stocks. This was before they added the account verification stuff. I got a 3080 FE in January 2021 (declined CC) and a 3060 XC in March, both without scripts, just a stock checker and my finger.

According to the queue bypasser extensions, queue times are somewhat randomized. That's why those extensions take multiple requests to get a better time. In my experience it's about 30~60 seconds in variation.
It's basically a lottery. If you're the first person to click the button, but you get a 30 second queue = No card. Click the button late, but get a 1 second queue? = Get a card.
For manual cops in high pop areas, you need to click on queue within 5 secs of go live, for slightly attainable stuff like 90 fe/70 ti. 60 TI/70/80 FEs are specialized bots only.
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
11,142
Specialized bots only.
Ahh, what a wonderful world we live in
Yeah there are some that hook the site's code and bypass certain things. That's how the FE's sold out launch day on Nvidia's website, the bots just straight-up submitted purchase info directly to the site without even clicking anything.
 

undertaker2k8

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
1,681
Specialized bots only.
Ahh, what a wonderful world we live in
Sad but true...I've seen people on various discords post every single fe card copped in a single drop, that is outside human ability even accounting for dumb luck.
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
11,142
ETH chart a hot mess since November. These are 1-day candles:

eth_jan20.png
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
11,142
Nothing new here, the RTX 3050 is a slow card (~1660 performance) and has LHR.
Combine that with its relatively bad price of $250:

https://videocardz.com/newz/nvidia-geforce-rtx-3050-is-not-good-for-ethereum-mining

Lite Hash Rate algorithm in place because the hash rate drops from 20-ish to 12.5 MH/s in a matter of seconds. You can see that to achieve this hash rate, the card only consumes 73W.
Now, taking those figures into account, with NVIDIA’s suggested retail price and the current value of Ethereum, the return of investment for RTX 3050 is already at 500 days and that’s assuming the card costs 250 USD. In any other case, such as the card going retail at 350 USD, the ROI is 700 days.

I think the author is ignoring LHR optimizations, right? People have gotten them up to like 80% mining performance these days I think.
 
Last edited:

wareyore

Hard DC'er of the Month November 2021
Joined
Jan 1, 2014
Messages
727
I just got and EVGA notify today for a 3060 Black 12G-P5-3655-KR - the $400 card.

KR . . .

Entered this que:
12G-P5-3655-KR5/1/2021 9:36:24 AM PT

Will be in next week.

Went back to EVGA and now see this:
1642797391755.png
 
Last edited:

legcramp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
12,234
All the KR for 3060s are the newer LHR version can't be unlocked with the dev. drivers for mining fyi.
 

legcramp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
12,234
LHR is really only a problem with Eth and a lot of it is mitigated there as well now.
Well it's a problem with the most profitable coin to mine and it's only 72-74% mitigated unless you dual coin mine which is iffy anyways. My LHR cards are half as profitable as my FHR cards right now.
 

SunnyD

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 6, 2004
Messages
3,218
Well it's a problem with the most profitable coin to mine and it's only 72-74% mitigated unless you dual coin mine which is iffy anyways. My LHR cards are half as profitable as my FHR cards right now.
Or, you can, you know, use a video card for... I don't know... Maybe graphics?
 

arnemetis

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,851
Or, you can, you know, use a video card for... I don't know... Maybe graphics?
Yup, I totally use my 3090 to play minecraft. Use it for work too. But while I sleep, may as well keep things warm and make a little bit of crypto while I'm at it.
 

Brackle

Old Timer
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
7,995
Yup, I totally use my 3090 to play minecraft. Use it for work too. But while I sleep, may as well keep things warm and make a little bit of crypto while I'm at it.
The same thing I do. Might as well make a few extra bucks while im sleeping and working.
 
Top