[H]ard Forum Storage Showoff Thread

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by EnderW, Jan 1, 2015.

  1. virtualheretic

    virtualheretic Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    237
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    I changed hosting.

    With my current setup if I remove the 6Tb drive and the dvdrom I can add one more icydock and then fit 7 more drives and then fab up a hdd tray inside the right compartment of the case to hold the 6Tb drive and another drive to add another array. However Im starting to eyeball a Sueprmicro 3u or 4u chasis and plop all the drives into there. I just built a 6u server cabinet and plan to expand it to add another 10u of space and that would fit nicely in there.
     
  2. eptesicus

    eptesicus n00b

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Total storage between both servers: 55.19 TB


    Gear neatly organized in a Dell 24U rack I scored on Craigslist for $150, with a Cisco Aironet mounted on the front.
    [​IMG]

    Mikrotik Routerboard RB2011UiAS-RM up top, with some cheap 16-port Netgear gigabit switch that will need to be replaced sometime soon. The two servers on the bottom are 7xSVR01, and below it is 7xSVR02. Below the bottom server is a Cyberpower UPS.
    [​IMG]


    7xSVR01
    Primary NAS and VMs (DC, Apps & Services, Downloads, and Testing)

    Total Storage: 52.36 TB

    OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
    Case: Supermicro SC846E16-R1200B
    PSU: Redundant 920W PWS-920P-1R 80PLUS Platinum (quieter over stock 1200W's)
    Mobo: ASRock E3C224-4L ATX
    CPU: Intel E3-1241v3 3.5GHz
    RAM: 32 GB Kingston 4x8 GB DDR3 ECC Unbuffered KVR16E11/8
    RAID: IBM M5015 w/ BBU
    SSD: 120 GB Samsung 850 Evo - OS
    SSD: 250 GB Samsung 850 Evo - VMs
    HDD: 10x 4 TB HGST NAS (Raid 5) - primary storage pool
    HDD: 4x 1 TB HGST Deskstar (Raid 5 w/ Hot Spare) - VM data pool
    HDD: 3x 3 TB Mixed Models (Raid 5) - temporary data pool
    Notes: The large storage pool in this server contains all of my media, software, and currently houses some backups. The DC and downloads VMs are self explanatory. The apps VM runs dynamic DNS, Subsonic (music streaming service), Owncloud (self-hosted "cloud" storage), and a web server for acting as a front-end to the other services, and just for messing around. I run a fourth VM for testing software.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    7xSVR02
    Data Backup and VMs (Testing)

    Total Storage: 2.83 TB

    OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
    Case: Supermicro SC846E16-R1200B
    PSU: Redundant 920W PWS-920P-1R 80PLUS Platinum (quieter over stock 1200W's)
    Mobo: ASRock Z97 Extreme6 ATX
    CPU: Intel i5 4670K 3.4GHz
    RAM: 16 GB G.Skill 4x4 GB DDR3 F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL
    RAID: IBM M5015
    SSD: 120 GB Samsung 840 Evo - OS
    HDD: 4x 320 GB Mixed Models (Raid 10) - VMs
    HDD: 3x 500 GB Mixed Models (Raid 5) - VM data pool
    Notes: Once I obtain the HDDs for this server, this will be the backup server of 7xSVR01, as well as my workstation and HTPC. I currently have Windows 10 and Debian running in Hyper-V to test.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Welsper

    Welsper Gawd

    Messages:
    643
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    That is pretty damn nice!
     
  4. bmh.01

    bmh.01 Gawd

    Messages:
    610
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Very nice but i'll say it, RAID5 on 10x4TB drives???
     
  5. Bigdady92

    Bigdady92 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,768
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    With windows 2012 you can use their new storage spaces and get a ton better usage out of it if you are going that route.
     
  6. eptesicus

    eptesicus n00b

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    I know... I know. Once I get the HDDs for the backup server, I'll copy my data over and then redo the existing array in RAID6 or RAID50 instead of RAID5.

    When I added 4x 4 TB drives to extend the array, it took a little over 7 days to add the drives. If one drive fails, I'd hate for another drive to fail when rebuilding the array.
     
  7. eptesicus

    eptesicus n00b

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    I tried storage spaces once, and I won't use it again unless they make major improvements. The software array dropped a drive. I tested the drive, and it was fine, but it wouldn't take it back in, nor would it take any others. So, I tried rebuilding it with the drives that it had left, and then started to have all sorts of problems. Luckily, I was able to backup most of my media to HDDs that I had lying around (at pretty crummy speeds unfortunately), but I lost all of my TV shows. It was at that point that I went with the hardware RAID controller card and haven't looked back. I still need HDDs for the backup server to be safe, however.
     
  8. TType85

    TType85 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    24TB Unraid Home Server

    • Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Case
    • Corsair RM650 Power Supply
    • Supermicro X9DR3-F
    • Dual E5-2670v1 Processors
    • 112GB DDR3 ECC Ram (2 slots are bad on the mobo)
    • 5x 3TB WD Red Drives
    • 2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300 Drives
    • 1x 3TB WD RE Drive
    • 2x 120GB SSD (Cache Drives)
    • Unraid 6.1.4

    [​IMG]

    This is my main file/vm server. It was living in a 2u Supermicro case but the room where I kept my gear is going to be repurposed (a guest room for GUESTS?!!). I still need to replace the heat sinks, they are Supermicro 2u's and they are a bit loud. I have a few noctua's on the way.

    I was going to drop the set up in a Norco 4220 but the EATX layout doesn't fit the options of the stand offs.

    I went with Unraid because I like the idea of being able to replace drives with different size ones at different times. (6TB drives are coming soon). Any important data (pictures, documents) get backed up to multiple cloud providers. The newest version of Unraid has a great integration with docker and KVM.
     
  9. iamwhoiamtoday

    iamwhoiamtoday Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    493
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    TType85, I'm used to seeing overkill hardware in Hardforum, but... that's the most over the top UnRaid server that I've ever seen.

    How many VMs are you running? Are you doing anything CPU intensive? o_O
    Usually unraid doesn't get any performance boost out of having over 2GB of memory unless doing some awesome KVM stuffs :D
     
  10. TType85

    TType85 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    This is extreme overkill, but my dual E5-2450L 1.8Ghz 8core/16thread(x2) system couldn't transcode VC-1 videos with out stuttering. The breaking point seemed to be around 2.4-2.6ghz single thread for no issues. The deals out there on the V1 E5 stuff is insane. I got the two E5-2670's (8C/16T 2.6Ghz) for $125/each the ram I averaged ~$19 for each 8GB stick. I got the base server from my old work when it went out of business.

    I am just getting the VM's set back up but I run a lot of software development stuff on the side and try to mimic a production environment.

    Windows 2012 R2 Servers (all running at the same time}
    • AD/DNS
    • SQL
    • TFS
    • Build
    • Application
    • Web

    Windows 7 VM's for testing IE8, IE9 & IE10
    Windows 8.1 & 10 VM's for testing
    Misc Linux distributions for learning

    I am also running Plex, Sonarr, NZBGet, Guacamole, CrashPlan, Unifi Controller all in dockers. If I get this system quiet enough I will throw in a video card and pass it through to a HTPC VM

    EDIT:
    I was also thinking of throwing in my I3-3220T Supermicro board/ 4gb ecc ram instead to use for Unraid and moving this over to Proxmox VE for the VM's.
     
  11. iamwhoiamtoday

    iamwhoiamtoday Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    493
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Yeah, I'd seriously recommend throwing the UnRaid file server duties over to the i3 and then using that beast as a real hypervisor :D

    XenServer makes me a happy camper, but ProxMox looks really sweet too!
     
  12. spencers

    spencers Gawd

    Messages:
    965
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Clever idea with the AP mounted to the front of the cage!

    +1 on that. unRAID and the i3 will run your docker apps just peachy.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2015
  13. eptesicus

    eptesicus n00b

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Thanks, I thought so too! I have housemates and that AP's wireless is just for me and my gear. I couldn't really mount it anywhere, wanted it to be close to all my other equipment but didn't want to put it inside the cabinet (for fear of degraded wireless signal), and didn't want anything on top of the rack, so the front was an ideal place to put it.
     
  14. anon

    anon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    154
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Sooo does eptesicus win the thread? :|
     
  15. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,668
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Not really? Check the first page of the thread.
     
  16. twistacatz

    twistacatz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    With all due respect to eptesicus, I can't even say that's top 5.
     
  17. eptesicus

    eptesicus n00b

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Ha! This is only page 11. I'm far from "winning."
     
  18. Bigdady92

    Bigdady92 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,768
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    He has a clean looking setup and configuration, solid wiring, and a decent amount of storage. I am envious of his organization as that cabinet was a steal.

    No where near the top at all. It's all about the Terabytes and to be in the big leagues for home use it's now in the 100+ range.
     
  19. eptesicus

    eptesicus n00b

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    And by the time I get there, the big leagues will be in the 250TB+ range. I'm not in it to compete. I think it's a great opportunity to see how others have their home rigs setup, and to steal ideas. I wouldn't have gotten my used Supermicro chassis' without seeing how much of an improvement it was to houkouonchi when he ditched his Norcos for the Supermicros in his own setup.
     
  20. Bigdady92

    Bigdady92 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,768
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001

    I am not knocking your setup at all. You have an enterprise in a box solution that is very clean. I firmly support more people posting their solutions even though they may be under the "Big League's" just to show what is possible.

    If more people had setups like yours this thread would flourish with ideas.

    I really wish I could get that Dell Cabinet of yours.
     
  21. eptesicus

    eptesicus n00b

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Oh no, it's cool Bigdady92, I know you weren't knocking it. :D

    There was a guy on Craigslist that had 4 of those cabinets. I wish I would have bought them all, but I only picked up the 1. I live around Cincinnati, and find a good deal on a rack or cabinet on Craigslist every now and then. I'm currently looking for a smaller standalone or wallmount cabinet for the network and camera gear we're putting in my parent's new place. I bet I'll find something good pop up in a month or so.
     
  22. ponky

    ponky Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    180
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    [​IMG]

    Home lab unracked. I'll post specs later.
     
  23. eptesicus

    eptesicus n00b

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    You tease...
     
  24. tehkr

    tehkr n00b

    Messages:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Anyone pickup new equipment from boxing day?
     
  25. balance101

    balance101 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    411
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    do these count? :cool:

    [​IMG]
    supermicro X8DTI-F off ebay

    [​IMG]
    some 12 * 5TB WD

    [​IMG]
    Supermicro 846
     
  26. cantalup

    cantalup Gawd

    Messages:
    758
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    oops poor PSU...
    you do not need to replace with desktop PSU. get 500W to 920W platinum supemicro psu.
    why?
    you can monitor power consumption via ipmi cmdline or SM tool java app and does not generate jet noise :D

    I took out desktop psu and 120mm fans with backplate and put back everything to orignal with 500W platinum Supermicro PSU.

    I did replace with Desktop PSU and 120mm fans backplate initially, well was OK, but.. with some concern, I put everything back to original.

    without replacing to 120mm fans, you can not get "low" noise...
     
  27. balance101

    balance101 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    411
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    I brought the 846 chassis with caddy only, didn't come with PSU didnt want to buy psu and the psu board. I think the psu is fine for home use :p
     
  28. yoyostile

    yoyostile n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Hey,

    this is my little setup:

    Usable storage: ~17-18TB

    Case: Lian Li Q25B
    PSU: Something cheap.
    Motherboard: Gigabyte H170N
    CPU: Intel i5-6500T
    RAM: DDR4, 2133MHz, 2x8GB
    Controller Cards: one additional cheap SATA controller
    Hard Drives: 3x3TB WD RED, 3x4TB WD RED
    SSD: 2x120GB SanDisk ZFS Raid1
    Operating System: Debian 8 with Proxmox

    Storage is one the hard drives as btrfs raid 5, OS is running as zfs raid 1 on ssds. I'm quite happy so far.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  29. balance101

    balance101 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    411
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    nice I love the Lian Li Q25B, i still have mine :D
     
  30. hound

    hound 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,416
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Nice, I love these little Lian Li cases.
     
  31. Aesma

    Aesma [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,844
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Total storage : 209TB

    All in a single server, single ZFS array.

    Tower specs :
    Case: noname crap
    PSU: Fortron Aurum 500W
    Motherboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0
    CPU: AMD Phenom X6 1045T
    RAM: Kingston 16GB DDR3 PC12800 ECC
    Controller Cards: IBM M1015@9211IT & LSI 9240@9211IT
    SSD: 2x120GB SanDisk ZFS mirror
    stock cooling
    Operating System: OpenIndiana 151a9 + Nappit

    DAS enclosures : 4* RACKABLE SE3016, all fans replaced by quietish ones.

    Hard Drives:
    19*3TB RAIDZ3-1
    19*4TB RAIDZ3-2
    19*4TB RAIDZ3-3

    21* WDC WD40EFRX
    19* HGSTHDN724040AL
    11* WDC WD30EZRX
    4* ST4000DM000-1F21
    1* WDC WD30EFRX
    1* WDC WD40EZRX

    I'm only counting my storage server, I have as much or more in various systems, eSATA/USB DAS units etc., but it's too complicated to count, and I'm in the process of simplifying everything, as money allows. First goal is a duplicate server for backup by ZFS send/receive instead of unmanageable and unreliable copy pasting. I already have 5 more SE3016 enclosures, motherboard, CPU, and half the hard drives needed.

    [​IMG]
     
  32. ashman

    ashman Gawd

    Messages:
    805
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    This is my 25 disk UnRaid server, it serves as a primary back to my movie and TV NAS, my movie NAS is a 12 Bay Synology and my TV NAS is an older 6 bay QNap. Total available storage is 72TB but will be increased as I replace the remaining four 2TB drives with 3 or 4TB drives. Its a little unconventional, I know but it was the best I could put together with what I had. I just upgraded the main board from an Asus P5Q Premium and E8400 CPU to an Asus P8Z68V-Pro and a Core i5-2500 with 16GB of RAM.

    IMG_0764.jpg
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2016
    Cool Runnings likes this.
  33. Welsper

    Welsper Gawd

    Messages:
    643
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Your second image doesn't work.
     
  34. ashman

    ashman Gawd

    Messages:
    805
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Yeah sorry about that I was having issues inserting an image before I realized one could be uploaded, the correct image is in my post now.
     
  35. ledcriss

    ledcriss Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Nice setup
     
  36. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,786
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I thought this was a computer case at first. Really nice setup.
     
  37. ledcriss

    ledcriss Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    I agree
     
  38. guc32

    guc32 n00b

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Yeah I thought so too, but thats a great idea the put your AP in front.
     
  39. virtualheretic

    virtualheretic Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    237
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Just when I thought I basically had my media server finalized, a nice used 15bay supermicro 3U case pops up on craigslist.
    snagged it for $50, and now Im contemplating expanding my tiny rack to fit the case and get this all situated.

    SUPERMICRO CSE-933T-R760B
    SUPERMICRO CSE-933T-R760B Black Server Case - Newegg.com

    [​IMG]
     
  40. yoyostile

    yoyostile n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Had to upgrade my rig. For fun I guess. :)

    Mobo: SuperMicro X11-SSH-F
    CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1240v5
    RAM: 2x16GB Samsung DDR4 ECC
    Case: Fractal Design Define R5
    And a btter PSU

    Next: Some more HDDs and migration from BTRFS to ZFS.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2016