H.265 AMD VCE Video Codec With Handbrake or other software

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by primetime, Jul 11, 2019 at 2:56 AM.

  1. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,591
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Is there any visual difference between regular H.265 and AMD VCE? I used to use bdrebuilder back in the day to shrink bd movies but have been trying out handbrake.....The AMD codec seems a million times faster and puts the gpu to actual use, so is there any reason not to use it?
     
  2. Keljian

    Keljian Gawd

    Messages:
    564
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    I've found that VCE output is slightly inferior to x265 and the file size is slightly bigger. Nvenc (Nvidia's alternative) seems to be marginally better in that respect and has come forward in leaps and bounds over the last few years.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  3. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,591
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Im kinda wondering if i need a decent 4k display to see the difference? maybe its just to hard to see on a 1080p display? which amd card did you use the few times you tried?
     
  4. Keljian

    Keljian Gawd

    Messages:
    564
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    I used a Vega 56. My display at the time was a 1440p cheap Korean special.
     
  5. Nolan7689

    Nolan7689 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,301
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Not normally picky about the use of cheap but this could perhaps be one of the times inexpensive should be used. Some of those Korean knock of panels were pretty decent quality. Mine certainly wasn’t bad....the actual bezel and stand though...yikes. Definitely cheap.
     
  6. Keljian

    Keljian Gawd

    Messages:
    564
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Pretty much this. the stand is woeful, but the screen is ok.