Guy builds computer with Intel 486, claims it can withstand digg/ slashdot effect

pxc

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 22, 2000
Messages
33,064
He will probably get his wish. :p

Brave talk for a site with "Total hits: 924"
 

AMD_Gamer

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
18,287
from the digg comments,

Yes, I am hosting it from my home. I have 8Mbit down and 512Kbit up (though QoS'ed to 460Kbit), which allows me to push twice as many pages as the 486 can handle under full load. I have no monthly bandwidth limits, and the pages will max out at around 3.2KB (currently 2.46KB).

The blog post describes it in better detail ( http://diyist.blogspot.com/2008/06/slashdot-capabl ... ), but the go-beyond.org server is a P3 500Mhz Katamai which proxies requests to the 486 over IPv6. Technically, the 486 is only reachable over IPv6, but IPv4 users will connect through the go-beyond.org server which will forward the requests.
 

Rombus

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
3,285
Well, yeah, of course he can build a server that can withstand digg on a 486.

I can build a jeep wrangler that can beat a top fuel dragster if i use the right parts and do the right things with it.

Now, a 486 that can HOST DIGG, that would be impressive!
 

supergper

Gawd
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
766
Well, yeah, of course he can build a server that can withstand digg on a 486.

I can build a jeep wrangler that can beat a top fuel dragster if i use the right parts and do the right things with it.

Now, a 486 that can HOST DIGG, that would be impressive!
Right, and his "right part" is the fact he's choked his connection down to 460Kbit...my blackberry could keep up with serving pages at those speeds. I bet you will get a bunch of timeouts and extremely slow load speeds, but his "server" won't die or choke from it.
 

leSLIe

Fisting is Too Mainstream for Me
Joined
Oct 18, 2004
Messages
13,925
could someone send this guy a Pentium 4 ??

heck i´ll do it out of pity :p
 

bholstege

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
1,054
I noticed hardforum was losing to dig, so I set my PC to refresh 10 times a second on the site to help us catch up.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Messages
722
While impressive the effort put into the project, I think calling the site dynamic content is a bit much. Very cool project even if it can or can't handle the actual /. load... I'm surprised he was able to get that much stuff into 16mb of ram
 

Oneos

Gawd
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
596
Interesting concept, though with a 3KB file, and probably not very much processing actually going on to create the page, I don't really see the challenge.

P.S. I think we're winning
 

sega01

n00b
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
1
Hi,

I noticed hardforum was losing to dig, so I set my PC to refresh 10 times a second on the site to help us catch up.

Please don't use auto-refreshers on the site. While it is suprisingly still holding up fine, it is unfair and does not truly test the Digg effect and what not. I appreciate your interest though. You have beat out Digg by 4 times so far anyways.

While impressive the effort put into the project, I think calling the site dynamic content is a bit much. Very cool project even if it can or can't handle the actual /. load... I'm surprised he was able to get that much stuff into 16mb of ram

It is actually hovering around 9MB of RAM usage (excluding cache and buffer) according to procps' `free`.

Thanks,
Teran (sega01)
 

commissioneranthony

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
1,141
16mb or ram is a lot. I got a 386 laptop with 2mb of ram. It still cranks while playing solitaire in 4bit color. Yup that's all 14 shades of grey :p
 
Top