GUIDE: Install Windows Vista, 7 and 8 from a flash drive!

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by criccio, Jan 3, 2009.

  1. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    11,640
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    The below steps are no longer required.

    Microsoft now has an official tool that can be downloaded from here: http://images2.store.microsoft.com/prod/clustera/framework/w7udt/1.0/uk/Windows7-USB-DVD-tool.exe


     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  2. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer Stay [H]ard

    Messages:
    18,290
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Awesome, going to have to give this a try!
     
  3. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris Wii was a Novelty

    Messages:
    17,638
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Wow this is incredibly simple and requires nothing but Windows. Great job! I'm guessing this works for XP also?
     
  4. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    11,640
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Oooooo no. XP is a whole 'nother animal. I actually attempted Installing XP Pro on my AAO when I first got it, but I gave up as it was uselessly complicated. I just wanted the features of XP Pro, and Home didn't have them. Decided just to go with Vista. Little off topic, but Vista IMHO runs better on this little beast then XP does.
     
  5. CptFalcon

    CptFalcon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,976
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    I really wish software manufacturers would start using flash disks instead of optical media. It would be cheaper in the long run as you can transport more flash drives than CDs inside of a compact space like a box.
     
  6. Spartan1000

    Spartan1000 Gawd

    Messages:
    576
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    I have wanted the same thing - the only thing is, though, they would probably charge more for the product, initially, because its flash media and not a CD, which can be made cheaply.
     
  7. kuyaglen

    kuyaglen 3TB of pr0n

    Messages:
    9,232
    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Thank you.

    I dont know when I'm able to test this since I recently reinstalled Server 2008 on one rig and Vista x64 works fine on my other. Maybe when I get another hdd. I wonder if this works for Server 2008 x64.
     
  8. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    11,640
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    It will.
     
  9. kuyaglen

    kuyaglen 3TB of pr0n

    Messages:
    9,232
    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Cool.

    So does this message about the update being unreliable a normal message then?
    [​IMG]

    -thank you
     
  10. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    11,640
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    O god, i forgot about that. YES its normal. I'll edit my original post. Thanks!
     
  11. Greggy_D

    Greggy_D Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    So.....does this speed up the install compared to installing from optical?
     
  12. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    11,640
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Maybe, if you have a particularly fast flash drive. Its mostly useful for people without optical drives. Like on some laptops.
     
  13. RogueTrip

    RogueTrip 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,753
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    very nice, I used this way for my last vista install: http://kurtsh.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!DA410C7F7E038D!1665.entry

    It worked great with my 180x patriot 8gb drive, much faster than installing from DVD!

    The faster the usb stick, the better.

    Know any easy ways to manipulate the install.wim file without vlite and WAIK? Wouldn't mind shrinking my base installs :)
     
  14. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    11,640
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Interesting, that guide uses a FAT32 drive, that failed for me every time I tried it, and that was about 8 times... :confused:

    They also don't run the bootsec command. Hmmm, whatever works I guess.
     
  15. RogueTrip

    RogueTrip 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,753
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Yep, using a basic format and then xcopy didn't work. You have to follow those directions with diskpart and will work great and is bootable without the nt60 bit. Your way seems a bit easier though. Wonder if it will work with Win7 ;)
     
  16. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris Wii was a Novelty

    Messages:
    17,638
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    OK I'm confused then. What are you doing here that would not let this work for XP? Is it editing the cd boot directory? Also, I'm lost as to what you mean by AAO?
     
  17. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    11,640
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Google around for installing XP from a flash drive, its not the same procedure, and definitely not as simple. AAO is my Acer Aspire One netbook.
     
  18. RogueTrip

    RogueTrip 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,753
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    I can confirm that the link I gave will also work great for Win 7 Beta (7000) install.
     
  19. Klob

    Klob Gawd

    Messages:
    900
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    I wouldn't want MS shipping the OS on flash drives because it is a volatile medium, good quality optical disk can last 100 years or more so long as you don't scratch it.
     
  20. aaronearles

    aaronearles [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,017
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Good info.

    Guide to Installing XP from a flash drive:
    1. Just don't do it, it's not even worth it.
     
  21. Demon10000

    Demon10000 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,502
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006

    ...someone installed it from a flash drive running DOS without Smartdrv. There is absolutely no reason NOT to install XP from a flash drive if it's something you want, or need, to do...
     
  22. darkpaw

    darkpaw 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,281
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    There is no way it would be cheaper for the mfg. 8GB Flash drive will cost them at least $5 while a mastered DVD9 is probably $0.05 or less. I think we'll see more of it as time goes on, but mainly on very small installs.

    Either way, great guide and thanks op for putting it together.
     
  23. MTXR

    MTXR [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,324
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2000
    This worked for me, but you have to make the flash drive on a vista machine.
     
  24. Joe Average

    Joe Average Ad Blocker - Banned

    Messages:
    15,464
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    I'd seen the OP's method posted on a Microsoft blog last week but never got back to it (and I didn't bookmark the page so it got lost in the 200+ Microsoft blogs I've been hitting), but I just now did it using Win7 x64 Beta 1, worked great, no issues whatsoever.

    I timed it from the moment I pressed Enter on my laptop's boot menu to select the USB stick (HP "Business Class" nx7400 (Core 2 Duo T5600 @ 1.86 GHz, 4GB DDR 667, 120GB 7200 rpm 8MB SATA I drive) to the moment the create a user account window popped up:

    15 mins 35 seconds, so not too shabby at all. Give or take maybe 1 minute due to me having to select buttons during the process and the finalizing of the settings (the 15:35 included the system check for WinSAT too).

    I've got a Kingston 4GB USB stick, testing it with HDTune just after the installation (on Win7) shows an average read speed of 19.3 MB/s so, about average for a $10 USB stick I guess. :)

    The biggest place this "method" helps is the file copy, after the files are copied from the installation media to the hard drive (or an SSD if you've got one) the installation media isn't really accessed anymore. This is also what happens if you run something like XP or Vista and you mount the Win7 installation DVD as a virtual optical device - you can install it from that method because the file copy process copies everything and after that, the media isn't needed anymore...

    Regardless, it does help with the biggest time chunker, the copying. Even on fast DVD drives, the random access speeds and moving the laser assembly around... ugh... so I'm sold and will use this method in the future as all my current machines (my own personal hardware and not client boxes) are USB bootable. Neat stuff... :)
     
  25. hstuehmeyer2000

    hstuehmeyer2000 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,740
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
  26. Red Falcon

    Red Falcon [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,759
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Very nice, thank you for posting this!
     
  27. odoe

    odoe Madministrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    9,739
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Stickied.
    Nice and simple, thank you.
     
  28. Joe Average

    Joe Average Ad Blocker - Banned

    Messages:
    15,464
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    hehe Wouldn't be easier and more efficient to just delete those posts once and for all? Eh? :)

    Congrats on the Sticky-ness... and yes, as I've said before, this is the one I point people to for this particular aspect of using USB sticks, every time.
     
  29. Cov

    Cov Gawd

    Messages:
    918
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    No matter what I do, I just cannot formay my USB device in NTFS format.
    WTF ?
     
  30. Joe Average

    Joe Average Ad Blocker - Banned

    Messages:
    15,464
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Stick the drive in, open a Command Prompt (Admin Command Prompt in Vista/Windows 7) and - knowing the drive letter - use:

    format driveletter: /q /fs:ntfs

    That should do it, and yes put the colon :)) after the drive letter...
     
  31. Cov

    Cov Gawd

    Messages:
    918
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Hi thanks dude .. but having tried your guide step-by-step ...



    [​IMG]

    Went to Start / typed in CMD / right clicked CMD and run as administrator / typed format g: /q /fs:ntfs (g = drive letter of my 8 GB USB device).

    It confirms that my current file system is still FAT32.

    It prompted me for giving the device a new name.

    ... and then it failed ... again .... why why why ? Incompatibility ? or just because life is a bitch sometimes ?
     
  32. Joe Average

    Joe Average Ad Blocker - Banned

    Messages:
    15,464
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Methinks your Flash drive be defective... I've had that happen to me on many occasions, turned out to be a defective drive.

    Format it FAT32 and run a full chkdsk scan on it (chkdsk driveletter: /f) and see what that turns up.

    But in 20+ cases of seeing a similar error, it was because of defective Flash drives, could be the same in your case.
     
  33. Cov

    Cov Gawd

    Messages:
    918
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Hmmmm, I feel ya ...

    [​IMG]
     
  34. Jon55

    Jon55 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,352
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Aw I thought this was if you had an .iso file.
     
  35. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    11,640
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    You can use an ISO file just fine. Just mount the ISO with you're favorite virtual drive application (daemon tools, alcohol 120%, VirtualClonedrive.. etc) and then follow the guide.

    Thats how I did all my Win7 installations.
     
  36. Jon55

    Jon55 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,352
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008

    Like via a flash drive? As in mounting an .iso to a flash drive and installing off it?

    EDIT: Oh duh, that makes sense. Why didn't I think of that. :D Thanks for the heads up!
     
  37. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    11,640
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Mount the ISO.... to your computer..

    It will show up in My Computer just like if you burned it and put the DVD in the computer.... drive letter and all.

    Then follow the guide. This is how most people here are doing Win7 installations, no need to burn a disk needlessly.
     
  38. Jon55

    Jon55 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,352
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Nice, thanks guy.

    OK, one last question. When formatting the flash drive, it gives you the checkbox option to "Quick Format". What's the difference between doing a quick format and a regular format (other than one being much faster than the other)?
     
  39. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    11,640
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    For all intents and purposes, use Quick Format for this situation. Google will turn up a ton of information on the specifics of the two options if you really want to know the details.
     
  40. Jon55

    Jon55 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,352
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Hm, I've seemed to run into a problem.

    Everything has gone great up until running "bootsect /nt60 F:" (F being my flash drive). I get the message:

    And that's it. No "Bootcode was successfully updated on all target volumes" afterwords like everyone else is getting. I'm doing this on a MacBook Pro, so I wonder if EFI has anything to do with it.