Got my Westinghouse LVM-37W3 37" 1080p display today!

SysteX

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Messages
119
I've had this thing for about a month now. Absolutely love it.

DSC00293%20(Custom).JPG


DSC00291%20(Custom).JPG


DSC00295%20(Custom).JPG


DSC00298%20(Custom).JPG


Check out the rest of the pictures here.
 

tygirwulf

n00b
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
39
I have one red pixel in the bottom left, about one inch from the bottom and two from the left. My eyes don't travel all the way down there very often so I don't notice. It helps that it shows up only when that area is black.

I have a couple pics but I've been too busy playing to think about grabbing my camera. I also had problems getting the white balance right but now I think it's ok. Playing in near-darkness with this monitor is great for immersion and that movie-feel. Pics of Oblivion on PC and Digital Devil Saga on PS2 via component:



 

gepetto

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Messages
451
I switched to 720p as oppose to 1080i when watching HD programming from my cable provider; I notice less motion blur and ghosting. Anyone else notice this ?
 

TheRapture

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 31, 2000
Messages
6,885
I switched to 720p as oppose to 1080i when watching HD programming from my cable provider; I notice less motion blur and ghosting. Anyone else notice this ?

A good 720P picture is technically superior to 1080i.

On my 51" widescreen HD rear projection, I PREFER 720p to the 1080i, my tv will not do 1080p :p
 

Lt.Fubar

n00b
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
42
Hey guys, whats SDTV like on this set?
Is it like horrible since the HD points out the flaws?
Does it stretch the picture weird?

Excuse my noob knowledge of displays. Thanks for your time
 

claudione314

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
264
Hey guys, whats SDTV like on this set?
Is it like horrible since the HD points out the flaws?
Does it stretch the picture weird?

Excuse my noob knowledge of displays. Thanks for your time
Actually that's a good question. No, it does not stretch the picture: the monitor has a "Standard" mode that will display a 4:3 picture with black bars on the sides.

SDTV is, well, crappy---but not nearly as crappy as in some LCDs I've seen. Just sit 6-7 feet from it and it looks as it would on your average $200 CRT TV set. Oh, and HBO and Max through analog (480i) cable are very good quality for me.
 

claudione314

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
264
Looks like you and me both need to move the hinge on our minifridges over to the other side :cool:
LOL and me! I have the same GE fridge, that too on the "wrong" side. :p Not to mention, SysteX, that my desk and drawers are nearly identical to yours. College furniture... no fantasy.
 

SteveW928

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
146
and there appears to be a very tolerable, very small bit of ghosting in certain scenes, could be my eyes still playing tricks on me, or it could actually just be a notice of frames or movement of camera. (When a camera moves in a movie it kinda makes me a little ill)...

I hear you there.... but, I've been noticing that a lot of this is actually in the source material. I'm just starting to get my Westy set up... but have noticed this more and more when watching stuff, even on the CRT I'm replacing.

I'm quite sensitive to this too... so I'll have to report back if it seems like the Westy is any worse than my old CRT or other LCDs I have access to. (until the CRT goes away that is. :) )

SDTV is, well, crappy---but not nearly as crappy as in some LCDs I've seen. Just sit 6-7 feet from it and it looks as it would on your average $200 CRT TV set. Oh, and HBO and Max through analog (480i) cable are very good quality for me.

No argument from me about SD being crappy.... but, I don't agree at all that ANY LCD looks as good with SD as a $200 CRT. CRTs are just 'magic' at making horrible video look acceptable. These LCDs just seem to have a way of showing the true ugliness that is there.

I'm hoping though (so I don't get killed by my wife), that with enough tweaking of my HTPC (I'm using a mythTV box), that I can make SD look reasonable. You can do a LOT more processing with a HTPC than just plugging, say a VCR in.

We'll see how it goes. I tried to record a 'before' state from my CRT as a comparison.... but getting video and photos of a CRT is pretty hard, so that might have been a waste of time. But, I can already tell I've got my work cut out to even get close with SD on this Westy to my under $200 Sanyo CRT. (Plus the westy is about 2 or 3" larger with SD than the Sanyo... so that doesn't help either.) Maybe I can make mythTV just put SD into to 800x600 box in the center of the Westy with black bars all around... that might do it. LOL
 

claudione314

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
264
That is a very good price. Be wary, though, that you will not be able to return it should something be wrong. When you buy large TVs from Newegg (and most other e-tailers), returns are handled by the manufacturer only. Shipping back to Westinghouse at your expenses may be a pain.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
582
That is a very good price. Be wary, though, that you will not be able to return it should something be wrong. When you buy large TVs from Newegg (and most other e-tailers), returns are handled by the manufacturer only. Shipping back to Westinghouse at your expenses may be a pain.

yeah newegg is pretty strict when it comes to returns on big screen tvs. i just got my westinghouse yesterday and found one dead pixel about midway on the left side of the screen. its not noticeable at all when watching tv and playing games but sometimes when i have a window open in IE you can see it. also it looks like there is some sort of burn in on the lower left hand side of the screen. i called the egg about it and they said its not their problem and i have to call westinghouse. even with the extended warranty they didnt care and said call westinghouse.

i sent westinghouse an email about it and i am still waiting to hear back from them. overall im pretty happy with the monitor. its very very big...watching tv and playing games is great on it but I am still getting used to viewing the PC on it.
 

XLeezardx

[H]ardChef
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
7,926
I stuck my 32 inch Westinghouse on my desk and hooked it up to my PC, just to get an idea of a huge screen would feel. After 2 hours of gaming and watching a movie, I find it eye straining. I think 37 inch is just way too big for my taste as a PC monitor, dont your eyes hurt? I have a Jerker desk by the way and i sit about 3-4 feet away.
 

slimslider

n00b
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
8
Get this. I ordered my westy last saturday from newegg ($99.99 shipping) . Monday AIT picks up the package. AIT front door delivery is a 3-5 day service, so it should be here today correct? I called AIT to get some kind of update since the tracking number shows nothing. They say that a different carrier ( J & P Hall Express) has my package now and gave me their number. I call J & P Hall, and they tell me it is being flown out of L.A. today and should be delivered on tuesday..the only day of the week my house is empty all day and I won't be able to recieve.. I called newegg and they tell me the day AIT picks up the package doesnt count as part of the 3-5 days, but told me if it dosen't arrive by monday they will give me a partial refund for shipping.. I was SO excited about getting this thing today and having the weekend to play with it.. how gay. Thanks AIT
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
582
Get this. I ordered my westy last saturday from newegg ($99.99 shipping) . Monday AIT picks up the package. AIT front door delivery is a 3-5 day service, so it should be here today correct? I called AIT to get some kind of update since the tracking number shows nothing. They say that a different carrier ( J & P Hall Express) has my package now and gave me their number. I call J & P Hall, and they tell me it is being flown out of L.A. today and should be delivered on tuesday..the only day of the week my house is empty all day and I won't be able to recieve.. I called newegg and they tell me the day AIT picks up the package doesnt count as part of the 3-5 days, but told me if it dosen't arrive by monday they will give me a partial refund for shipping.. I was SO excited about getting this thing today and having the weekend to play with it.. how gay. Thanks AIT

call newegg. i didnt get my monitor till 11 days after I ordered or 6 business days and I was able to get a credit on the whole shipping cost.

and apparantly AIT contracts out the local delivery service. i had some shipping company called ABCS come and deliver the monitor yesterday.
 

Cereal Killer

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
272
I want one so badly, too bad I have no money and at the moment no job :( I have yet to see one in person but they just look so sexy from these pics.
 

Veritas616

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
129
for those of you that ordered at J&R how long did it take for you to get the set? I live in Sacramento fyi. TIA
I ordered from J&R and it took 3 days to ship. Although, I'm 2x closer to NYC than you are (I'm in MN). It still wasn't fast enough for me; I love this thing, and I've had it for 6 months!
 

slimslider

n00b
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
8
call newegg. i didnt get my monitor till 11 days after I ordered or 6 business days and I was able to get a credit on the whole shipping cost.

and apparantly AIT contracts out the local delivery service. i had some shipping company called ABCS come and deliver the monitor yesterday.

Well like I said they offered a partial refund to me. I ordered on 1/20 so if it arrives Tuesday that will have been 10 days or on the 7th business day.. It really didn't bother me that it will be a day or two late. It's that the only option for shipping was the AIT $100 service, and they can't get it here on time..lame.
 

[Retaliation]

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
505
I bought mine right after xmas off of Crutchfield...w/free shipping(5 day)...on the 6th day i call...they dont know where my display is at(they sub'd it out to another company)(which in itself seems to be the way they all do it)...2 days later the person who has it calls me for a delivery time between 8am-2pm and 1pm-7pm...yes a SIX HR WINDOW! as annoyed as i was...i picked 1-7(it was going to my in laws house)...but i wanted to be there to inspect it...well....at 11am that morning i get a call(im at work)from my mother in law telling me they just came to the door with it and left it!
let just say i was a tad pissed off...i went through the hassle of getting the time off for a reason only to have the delivery driver drop it off whenever he felt like! now bare in mind...its the same dude who called me the day b4......i called Crutchfield on it...and they were not happy at all....delivery window is no more than 4 hrs(per contract) and they were just as annoyed at the fact they set up a time just to do what they wanted...well...i ended up getting a 40$ giftcard and a bunch of im sorry's...then 2 weeks later i get a call from the owner of the delivery company telling me how sorry he was and "what can i do to make it up to you"...i told him he could come to my house and clean it!(obviously that didnt happen) but the fact that he called and fessed up to the fuck up was enough for me
 

ituggle

Gawd
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
528
Can anyone clue me in on who has the best extended warranty for this? That is going to be a major deciding factor for me if/when I purchase this.

thanks
 

claudione314

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
264
I think it largely depends on how close the closest autorized repair center would be. I didn't buy an extended warranty and won't (I don't see myself using this for longer than a year anyway), but if I did I would have gotten RepairMaster at $129 for three years----but only because the closest repair center is right across the street from me.
 

slimslider

n00b
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
8
I've noticed so many different opinions about which dvi cable to get I'm confused myself now. At first I thought I needed a single link dvi, then I read somewhere I needed dual link, and I ended up ordering a dual link. Now I've read again in other places you need a single link.. I have a digital dual link.. at the least is it backwards compatible? Thanks

edit: Also, I have a 10-12" plasma plate thing(looks like lightning) that reacts to sound.. I can't think of any kind of real name but I think you guys know what I'm talking about. It sets on my desk and will be close to the westy when it finally comes in.. Will this cause any kind of damage being 4-5 inches away??
 

willyiv

n00b
Joined
Jan 4, 2007
Messages
37
Ok, i finally got the damn thing. Took 9 days from Newegg (3 days my english ass).
Anyway, shes a beauty, PC image quality is amazing so far. I have notinced some VERY minor ghosting, mainly in Counter Strike Source but i am about as obsessive and anal as humans come so dont worry too much. So far for PC use id give it a 10/10 :D
Hooked it up to my HD set top box and watched some Leno and Letterman in 1080i, picture quality was great but i did notice the ghosting some of you had mentioned due to the interlaced image. That being said the picture was still awesome.
Now, heres my problem, the day after i picked it up i hauled ass to Gamestop and snagged a 360 with Gears and Fight Night, i was pissing my pants with excitement all the way home. Hooked her up using the Microsoft vga cable, ran through the Avia calibration and set down to have my very first 360 experience.
I have to say i was disappointed. I dont know if i was expecting too much as id never seen a 360 on a real HD set but the image quality is nowhere near what i was hoping for. Grainy, blurry, ghosting, jaggies everywhere. It almost looks to me like its not even running in HD. Im trying to get hold of the Monster vga cable to see if it makes a difference. Unless im doing summin wrong with the 360 then im seriously bummed about that. I think i have all the settings right, set to 1080p in the dash n all. Tv calibrated with Avia like i said. I was wondering if 360 games are upscaled and if this would cause image quality to suffer as i know it would with a computer signal. Id love some opinions from you Westy having 360 owners out there, hopefully you could tell me im doing summin wrong.
I need to get some new Duracells then i'll post some pics of the set up here too.
Thanks.
 

XBarbarian

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
1,368
Grats Willyiv!

Youv'e been posting along with the rest of us, so I know you were anxious to get it!

Yea, pc quality is amazing.

I have a 360 that I haven t connected up yet though, so can't offer feedback yet on that, but I'm betting there a config change to get it better. I don't even have my Westy set up at all atm, my Maingear F131 is due maybe early next week I believe, ( they are testing and buring in the OC atm, etc ) and was also waiting for my Ikea Jerker desk, which UPS shows as inc on Monday... So..quietly trying to contain my enthusiasm!..just....a.few...more...days....RAR!

But anyways, Grats yo!
 

claudione314

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
264
Ok, i finally got the damn thing. Took 9 days from Newegg (3 days my english ass).
Anyway, shes a beauty, PC image quality is amazing so far. I have notinced some VERY minor ghosting, mainly in Counter Strike Source but i am about as obsessive and anal as humans come so dont worry too much. So far for PC use id give it a 10/10 :D
Hooked it up to my HD set top box and watched some Leno and Letterman in 1080i, picture quality was great but i did notice the ghosting some of you had mentioned due to the interlaced image. That being said the picture was still awesome.
Now, heres my problem, the day after i picked it up i hauled ass to Gamestop and snagged a 360 with Gears and Fight Night, i was pissing my pants with excitement all the way home. Hooked her up using the Microsoft vga cable, ran through the Avia calibration and set down to have my very first 360 experience.
I have to say i was disappointed. I dont know if i was expecting too much as id never seen a 360 on a real HD set but the image quality is nowhere near what i was hoping for. Grainy, blurry, ghosting, jaggies everywhere. It almost looks to me like its not even running in HD. Im trying to get hold of the Monster vga cable to see if it makes a difference. Unless im doing summin wrong with the 360 then im seriously bummed about that. I think i have all the settings right, set to 1080p in the dash n all. Tv calibrated with Avia like i said. I was wondering if 360 games are upscaled and if this would cause image quality to suffer as i know it would with a computer signal. Id love some opinions from you Westy having 360 owners out there, hopefully you could tell me im doing summin wrong.
I need to get some new Duracells then i'll post some pics of the set up here too.
Thanks.
Congrats on both of your purchases! :D No, it's not supposed to look that way. How are you connecting your X360? The composite (red/white/yellow) cable does look like crap. If you're using component (blue/green/yellow/white/red), then try upgrading to Monster VGA, as it does make a world of difference.

You say that you set the console to output 1920x1080 in the dashboard? Check that, as that too can make a big difference. Also make sure to connect your 360 to Xbox Live and download the latest updates.

There are no 1080p native games yet on the Xbox 360, but all content is upscaled to 1080p.

Good luck!
 

DoughBOy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
180
Ive been using my 360 with the component cable to the westy. The image looks great at 1080i. Was the same level of goodness on a Sony 60" 1080p projection set. Give the component cable a try and see if it makes a difference. Ive yet to buy the vga cable, should be one of my next purchases.
 

Nettwerk

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
3,513
You might want to try and update your console so 1080p is available? (dunno if this applies to vga but you can do 1080p through component after update with this monitor)

make sure its 1920x1080 in console settings

turn on xbox and wait till its at the dashboard before switching to vga and turn off autobalancing/autosource (or autoscaling forget what its called) on your tv
 

tygirwulf

n00b
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
39
I know the Westy seems to have some problem de-interlacing 1080i content, but I could've sworn that on the big avsforum thread, someone said he was able to get it to "adjust" to de-interlacing his 1080i HD cable input. I just can't find it, nor remember what he said he did. Anyone have any clue what I'm talking about? This isn't really important for now, since the only thing I have in 1080i is Gran Turismo 4. I just can't believe how bad 1080i looks, it's almost worse than 480i.
 

tygirwulf

n00b
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
39
For anyone who hasn't got one of these things yet, I must stress that you should run, not walk, to the nearest e-tailer to get one. ;) I almost wish I'd put my money down on this monitor first instead of my Conroe gaming rig. I haven't seen a picture yet that really does this monitor justice. Picture quality is outstanding, and running a PC on it is slightly insane, but boy, does it make games fun to play! This is also my first widescreen monitor, and now my Sony monitor seems so...square. I can't wait to pass it off to my boyfriend and get the Westy on my desk where it belongs. ;)

Only drawbacks are fair black performance, I'd say about on par with the Sony HS95P monitor I've been using for the last 2 years, and slight ghosting, which for me is only noticeable with scrolling text, and even then it's not hard to read the text. I haven't calibrated it yet, though, but my boyfriend keeps messing with my settings, so why bother right now?

Got some more pics taken last night. As I said, I haven't seen a picture yet that really shows this display off, mine included. Colors are much more vibrant and the picture is as sharp as your source will allow. Playing games on this thing is a dream. Pardon the ghetto setup I have atm. ;)





 

drthpichu

n00b
Joined
Jun 19, 2005
Messages
14
Hi,

Not sure if this is the correct thread but I had a few questions about this display. Is there a headphone-out jack on it? Can I plug in headphones?

Also I am reading that the Westy doesn't have a TV tuner built in. I only subscribe through basic cable and don't have a set-top cable box. On my current TV, I just plug in a cable into the RF jack and auto-program it from the TV menu. What type of device would I need to watch standard TV on the Westy?

Thanks.
 
Top