Got my Westinghouse LVM-37W3 37" 1080p display today!

Discussion in 'Displays' started by 5150Joker, Aug 15, 2006.

  1. Nettwerk

    Nettwerk 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,513
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005

    :confused: I guess you might have talked to the warehouse station then.
     
  2. CbtEngr

    CbtEngr Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    198
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    I feel your pain....Basically the same thing happened to me. The unit arrived at their "local" warehouse (or whatever) I called them and they said they could deliver it 3 days later. But I don't know if I would trust any of the other mentioned above for this big of a delivery.....Hopefully you get it in time for the long weekend. In the end its worth the wait.
     
  3. Sucka

    Sucka Gawd

    Messages:
    536
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Well i guess anything is possible then. But good luck getting the minimum wage dude to cut the price out on the floor for you...

    Price matching i've heard of, but simply having them cut a price in a store like that because they wanted to hook it up?
     
  4. [Retaliation]

    [Retaliation] Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    505
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
  5. [Retaliation]

    [Retaliation] Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    505
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    your vid card has dual dvi output...just plug one display into one..the other in the other...then goto your display properties and tell it which one to use as primary...u can drag the pics to either side
     
  6. Rhyno

    Rhyno n00b

    Messages:
    45
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Skip the sales associates, work straight with the Sales Manager.
     
  7. PhillyB

    PhillyB n00b

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Ugggggggh my first real problem with this thing. I am fairly annoyed by this.

    When I open photochop and open a picture of some roses and apply a filter thats for pencil or something I get blue pixels and they are just out of place. Close the photoshop, no blue pixels. Sometimes when I first start up the monitor it randomly flashes a few of these up, but it goes away after a minute or two.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Well crap, i think i fixed it, 60hz not 59hz. friggin idiot. i love my monitor
     
  8. tygirwulf

    tygirwulf n00b

    Messages:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Thanks, but I meant the ways you can get this particular display to show two inputs, like this. I'm a bit behind the times in certain areas of TV and display tech, I wasn't previously aware that you could split the screen like in PBP mode. I like that this monitor is big enough for that to actually be useful. Can't wait to get it. :D
     
  9. [Retaliation]

    [Retaliation] Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    505
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    oh..once you get the W3 you just have to go into the screen menu options..and select what your primary and secondary sources are...for instance...my computer is on DVI 1 and my digital cable box is on DVI 2 so i have 1st source dvi1 and second dvi2(thats for pip) i hope that helps
     
  10. Nettwerk

    Nettwerk 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,513
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Just got mine setup, no dead pixels :)

    SCREEN IS HUUUGEEEE

    LOL

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Cri

    Cri n00b

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Hello, where did you buy it? I´m looking any dealer that distributes/delivers Westy´s within Europe.

    Many thanks
    Regards and enjoy Xmas!
     
  12. Qarl

    Qarl n00b

    Messages:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    What's with the big wad of cash sitting there? [​IMG]
     
  13. Nettwerk

    Nettwerk 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,513
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    its all i got left :(
     
  14. revenant

    revenant [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,175
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    that's the daily take from all his bitches.. lol ;)
     
  15. onetouch40

    onetouch40 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,608
    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Let me know if any one in the Houston area is looking for this monitor. I have an extra 1 that I've ordered from Buy.com few days ago.
     
  16. Kherozene

    Kherozene Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    does anyone know the wattage this screen needs? the reason i ask is that i will need a voltage transformer in order to use this LCD in Australia.
     
  17. reductant

    reductant Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    305
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Hey, I finally fixed the image being shifted on DVI2. In ATI Catalyst, under Digital Panel Properties -> Attributes -> DVI Settings, unselect "Reduce DVI Frequency on high-resolution displays".
     
  18. Zorachus

    Zorachus [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,731
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006

    Which game is that ? Look's really cool, like a Joint Op's 2 or something cooler than BetaField2 ?
     
  19. Teecee

    Teecee Gawd

    Messages:
    928
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    I think the screen is TOO big. I have it on my desk and MAN, its freakin huge.
     
  20. anonuser

    anonuser [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,084
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    How far is your face from the screen? Is your face level with the middle of it?
     
  21. Nettwerk

    Nettwerk 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,513
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    armed assault
     
  22. Zorachus

    Zorachus [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,731
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    What's the story with game ? online like JoinOp's or BetaField ? Graphics look cool from this screen shot
     
  23. onetouch40

    onetouch40 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,608
    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
  24. Teecee

    Teecee Gawd

    Messages:
    928
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005

    3-4 feet and yes it is level.
     
  25. tygirwulf

    tygirwulf n00b

    Messages:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    To those who have this monitor, how long do you think it will last you before you'll want to buy something else?

    I figure if the monitor is too big for me, it will still do well as a gaming TV, especially since I'm still playing my consoles on a 22" Panasonic standard def tv.
     
  26. revenant

    revenant [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,175
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    I am going to buy one of these when I get my year end expense report check.. which totals a grand.. that + xmas funds should cover everything to my door.. color me excited! :)
     
  27. dsr1205

    dsr1205 n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    does this monitor have 1:1 pixel mapping?
     
  28. claudione314

    claudione314 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    264
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
  29. Ricey

    Ricey Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    371
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    i curse bestbuy from delaying my tv. was supposed to get it on the 22nd but they delayed it till the 9th. BOOOOOO I WANT IT ALREADY and all you people posting pictures isnt making me feel much better :p
     
  30. BPini

    BPini n00b

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    I don't have one but from what I read this screen isn't able to do 1:1. It does ratio scalling, but not 1:1 pixel mapping. ie a a resolution under 1920 x 1080 is shown with black around it and is shown exactly 1 to 1 pixel of the signal. But it can take a 4:3 aspect ratio signal and still show it as a box instead of stretching its width.

    This of course isn't a problem for most people like it is on the 24 inch monitors because most hi def material is 16:9, which this tv/monitor is and not 16:10 like most widescreen computer monitors are. It does mean though that it will scale a 720p signal over the 1080 res of the tv and make it look not as crisp.
     
  31. dsr1205

    dsr1205 n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    what about xbox 360? wont it upscale the dvd content to 1080p and make it look good enough?
     
  32. Korialstrasza

    Korialstrasza Gawd

    Messages:
    561
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Just got it.

    All I have to say is: Good God

    Pics coming later
     
  33. [Retaliation]

    [Retaliation] Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    505
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    I was just in the process of cleaning both of my monitors..when it came to me..."I wonder if people know the correct way to clean their lcd screens"...well here goes,
    under no circumstances should you EVER clean your screen with paper towels and "windex" type cleaners...the paper towels(no matter how soft you think they are) will leave scratches on the screen...and over time...those scrathes build up and then its to late...2nd,some people may not be aware of the fact that your lcd screen isnt made of glass...its a plastic film...and windex turns the plastic grey over time...you need to buy a special cleaner and cloth specifically made for cleaning lcd's.
    http://www.radioshack.com/product/i...r&kw=monster+screen+cleaner&parentPage=search
    its 20$ but well worth the price...it can be found at most major retailers....hope this helps at least one person out :D
     
  34. reductant

    reductant Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    305
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    No, it does 1:1 scaling, meaning everything is displayed unstretched but is enlarged.
     
  35. dsr1205

    dsr1205 n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    enlarged would be streched thou right?
     
  36. claudione314

    claudione314 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    264
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
  37. BPini

    BPini n00b

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Well, no, in that the proportions would be correct. Circles will look like circles and not ovals and people won't be fat or skinny. But the tv will scale it, meaning kind of fake the extra pixels, to make it cover the native resolution of the screen and not be a tiny picture surrounded by alot of black
     
  38. Korialstrasza

    Korialstrasza Gawd

    Messages:
    561
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    for PC use, you guys are using DVI right? I have HDMI and VGA cables but I dont know which to use. DVI seems to be working great.
     
  39. u8myrice

    u8myrice 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,155
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    I have it hooked up to DVI through an X800XL. It looks great. I wanna upgrade my video card to something better. Probably a X1900 series for the superb IQ.
     
  40. jdwarne

    jdwarne n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    I just purchased the 42" Westy, along with a new receiver, speakers and a DVD player to bring my home theater setup up to date. I was wondering if anyone could please review my setup below, and tell me if I'm doing anything retarded. I read a lot on this stuff but I'm still pretty clueless!!

    Receiver: Onkyo TX-SR674 Link

    Speakers: Infinity Primus Theater Link

    DVD Player: Sony DVP-NS75H Link

    I also have a Velodyne 10" powered sub, DirecTV H10 set top box, an Xbox 360 and a PC w/ a 6600GT.

    I'm going to run the DVD player and the DirecTV box to the reciever using HDMI. The receiver has 2 HDMI inputs, and 1 HDMI out. I'd run the XBox 360 to the reciever via component. The PC would connect directly to the Westy via DVI. The goal here is that everything except the PC would connect to the receiver, then I'd have 1 HDMI cable going from the receiver to the TV. This will primarily be my home theater setup for TV, movies and Xbox, with the PC for occasional surfing, Jukebox and World of Warcraft. I'll be sitting about 7 feet away.

    Questions:

    - Am I losing anything by running the two devices to the reciever first, then to the TV?
    - Do I get 1080p from the XBox 360 over component?
    - Do I even need the DVD Player? I just want my standard DVD's to look as good as they can and this Sony does upconversion. Does the 360 HD-DVD do the same thing? Maybe It would be better to just get that instead.
    - Do I need to connect audio from the DVD player and DirecTV box to the reciever, or will the HDMI connection take care of this?

    Anything else I should know with this setup? Any recommendations from anyone? Thanks!!!!!