Google Publishes List of Chrome OS Systems Supporting Android Apps

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
For some time now we have been talking about the melding of Chrome OS and Android. Google has now published a list of which systems will be supporting Android applications, and while I'm no expert on Chromebooks, that looks like damned near all of them to me.

I don't own any Chrome OS devices, but I imagine having the added flexibility of running Android apps could be rather useful. What Android applications would you use on your Chrome OS device?

Android apps are now available on:
- Asus Chromebook Flip.
- Acer Chromebook R11 / C738T
- Google Chromebook Pixel (2015)

All Chromebooks launching in 2017 and after as well as the Chromebooks listed below will work with Android apps at a time to be announced in the future*:

Acer C720 is not on that list and it was one of the first Chromebooks to really take off. Had the honest to god Intel processor. A lot of schools also bought those things.

I was annoyed when I first got my Chromebook that it couldn't run Android apps.....since it seemed like a given to me going in. But it's not a big deal. I found a use for the Chromebook and it's fine for what I use it for. A chromebook is like the 3rd world country of the computer world.....it's not great livin', but it's livin' none the less.

Acer C720 is not on that list and it was one of the first Chromebooks to really take off. Had the honest to god Intel processor. A lot of schools also bought those things.

I was annoyed when I first got my Chromebook that it couldn't run Android apps.....since it seemed like a given to me going in. But it's not a big deal. I found a use for the Chromebook and it's fine for what I use it for. A chromebook is like the 3rd world country of the computer world.....it's not great livin', but it's livin' none the less.

Yep, that's the first thing I thought when I saw the list.