Good extension cords for PC and monitor?

nanobeast

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
348
The outlet where my desktop sits has gone bad and I need to use the outlet across the room.

My Cyrberpower UPS is connected to the good outlet so I need to run extension cords from my PSU and monitor to the UPS.

Can I use extension cords for my desktop PC and monitor and if so which one?

My system:

Cooler Master V850 PSU
i7-4770k
32GB Ram
A pair of 780 SC in SLI
2TB HDD
1TB SSD

LG 34UM95
 

nanobeast

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
348
How about something like this?

Rated for 16awg? Not good enough?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FVFMJO4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A33IWA3Q1K9YUP

Or is this one better? 18awg? Higher the number the better? (sorry I am not an electric power engineer)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002J1KSA/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

or

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002J1KS0/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Does it matter whether I get 6 foot or 10 foot? I am assuming additional 4 foot shouldn't increase the resistance enough to drop the voltage??
 
Last edited:

Tom_S

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
323
If you really need to, then use a minimum 15 amp rated cord, make it as short as possible and plug the cord into the wall and the UPS into it.
 

nanobeast

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
348
If you really need to, then use a minimum 15 amp rated cord, make it as short as possible and plug the cord into the wall and the UPS into it.

But my UPS manual says to plug the UPS directly into a wall outlet?? If I dont, and if something goes wrong, I am assuming that will void the UPS warranty?
 

Tom_S

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
323
If you are going to use a separate cord for each device that you plug in to your UPS then you can do it the way you proposed. I don't think the UPS manufacturer will be looking in you window, but you never know.

Edit: you need 12 awg! 18 awg is way to light and 14 awg would be marginal. Higher number AWG is smaller wire/ less current carrying capacity.
 
Last edited:

JTY

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 4, 2002
Messages
2,291
Instead of buying an extension cord, simply buy longer power cords. Places like Monoprice stock a variety in various links.
 

nanobeast

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
348

nanobeast

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
348
Edit: you need 12 awg! 18 awg is way to light and 14 awg would be marginal. Higher number AWG is smaller wire/ less current carrying capacity.


Thanks! Like I said, I am not very good at this electric stuff.

I found these two....

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0012EI6KE/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

and this....

http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-P0...=1404705229&sr=8-1&keywords=12+awg+power+cord

The 12AWG is rated for 20 Amp.

Does this mean it is rated for UPTO 20 amp? So if less current than that flows then it should be ok? Correct?

The 15AWG has lots of reviews but 12 awg one does not. but I am assuming 12 awg one should be just as good since its made by same company?
 
Last edited:

Tom_S

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
323
A 12 AWG would good for the PSU but that one has 20 amp plugs ends on it, the lighter one (14AWG) would be fine for the monitor.

Try to find a 12 AWG cord rated for 15 amp for the PSU. If you have to use the 14 AWG for the PSU just check it for awhile under heavy load to make sure the wire is not getting warm to the touch.

Yes it means rated up to 20 amps.
 
Last edited:

techtechie

Gawd
Joined
Oct 7, 2013
Messages
571
or just get the outlet fixed.....is it the receptical thats bad or some sort of bad wiring or something?
 

Skripka

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
10,792
just make sure you have cut the power to that outlet at the circuit breaker

Hell if an outlet went "bad", I'd have the household wiring checked like...now. Unless the op is a fan of electrical fires. Further often all the outlets in a room are on the same circuit anyway

Don't fart around with extension cords.
 

techtechie

Gawd
Joined
Oct 7, 2013
Messages
571
are you sure the receptacle just didnt go bad those can be picked up at home depot or menards for <$20
 

nanobeast

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
348
are you sure the receptacle just didnt go bad those can be picked up at home depot or menards for <$20

Sometimes I get power in that outlet and sometimes I dont.

When I plug in my Cyberpower 1350 UPS into that outlet, it goes straight into battery mode. Not with the other good one in the room.
 

Skripka

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
10,792
Sometimes I get power in that outlet and sometimes I dont.

When I plug in my Cyberpower 1350 UPS into that outlet, it goes straight into battery mode. Not with the other good one in the room.

Hoss. Call an electrician.
 

me4get

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
102
For a good extension card buy appliance extension cords almost every one is 14AWG rated for 15amps.
 
Top