Glossy 1080p IPS that I can overclock to 120Hz safely and effectively

androsforever

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
112
Looking for a 1920by1080 or preferably 1920by1200 Glossy IPS screen that I can overclock to 120Hz (nvidia stereo 3d compatible?) safely and without great loss of image quality. Preferably around 23 inches.
Looking to use it mostly for gaming, not looking for one of those 1440p South Korean screens because my GPU can't handle that high of a resolution while gaming and not looking to upgrade GPU anytime soon. Let me know, thanks.
 

kevinsbane

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
269
Looking for a 1920by1080
Good start...
or preferably 1920by1200 Glossy IPS screen
Ok...

that I can overclock to 120Hz
Uh oh...

(nvidia stereo 3d compatible?)
Definitely not.
safely and without great loss of image quality. Preferably around 23 inches.
Good luck.
Looking to use it mostly for gaming, not looking for one of those 1440p South Korean screens because my GPU can't handle that high of a resolution while gaming and not looking to upgrade GPU anytime soon. Let me know, thanks.

Other than the 3D compatible (no overclock will allow for 3D compatibility), You just ruled out the only monitors in existance that do anything close to what you want. Try this screen for a non-IPS version.
 

androsforever

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
112
Haha, thanks for the informative and funny response :) good to know I won't be seeing stereo 3d on most IPS. I have found however that the Philips Gioco 3d offers it's own version of Stereo 3d. I will be trying it out soon as I just ordered it from amazon.it I bought it since it seems to fit most of the things I have listed above. 1080p, glossy ips, 23 inches, has it's own 3d with glasses included. 192 Euro. Can't wait to try it out tomorrow!

That Ezio is nice but at 542 Euro it's a bit too pricey for me right now :(
 
Last edited:

Vesqwi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
352
Hi androsforever,
Have you found what you were looking for ? I'm searching for a monitor with those specs too (quite hard ! even 2 year later)

Please let me know :)
 

Vesqwi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
352
Just wanted to let you know that I successfully OCed my Acer H236HL wich is exactly what you're looking for:
Gives a sublime Glossy 23" IPS 1080p display now at 76Hz (not 120hz, but still a noticable improvement !)
*Had to disable the DSR feature as requested by the NVidia Display uppon creating a custom resolution.

proof:
60Hz http://i.imgur.com/qvQ60Mi.jpg
76Hz http://i.imgur.com/TnCaTSJ.jpg

[Stock GPU]
-DVI-DVI <-- Fail
-DVI-DP <-- Fail (67Hz max + force color depth downgrade from 32 to 16bit)
-DVI-HDMI <-- Fail
-HDMI-HDMI <------ Successful @ 1920x1080 76hz
-HDMI-DP <-- Fail
-HDMI-DVI <-- Fail​

[OCed GPU]
-DVI-DVI <-- TDB
-DVI-DP <-- TDB
-DVI-HDMI <-- TDB
-HDMI-HDMI <-- TDB
-HDMI-DP <-- TDB
-HDMI-DVI <-- TDB

HP Compaq 8200 Elite CMT (http://bit.ly/1fnXsYP page 4)
========================
[CPU]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;QuadCore Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3.40 GHz (stock)
[GPU]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Superclocked 2GB GDDR5 (G-SYNC ready)
[PSU]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;320 Watt (HP-Proprietary) &#9658; can't replace, but can add more if needed
[MEM]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;16GB DDR3-1333
[MOBO]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;HP Compaq 8200 Elite CMT PC (Intel Sandy Bridge Cougar Point Q67)
[DRIVE]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;Samsung SSD 850 PRO
[MONITOR]
&#8194;&#8194;Acer H236HL [23" IPS 60Hz OC@76Hz]
 
Last edited:

iDShaDoW

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
192
Samsung S27A950D fits the bill, minus the IPS part. Reviews say it's very good for a TN though.

Still fetches a pretty penny for being such an old monitor and you'd have to buy used.

Sucks that all the 120/144hz monitors now are matte.
 

Vesqwi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
352
Samsung S27A950D fits the bill, minus the IPS part. Reviews say it's very good for a TN though.

Still fetches a pretty penny for being such an old monitor and you'd have to buy used.

Sucks that all the 120/144hz monitors now are matte.

See my above post, that Acer H236HL is pretty neat, 76Hz is a huge improvement to 60Hz ... I know someone selling the S27A950D if you're interested pm me... Fact that its an old TN is making me hesitant, but we all heard good from that monitor so you might give it a go.. Right now, im satisfied with my Acer
 

iDShaDoW

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
192
See my above post, that Acer H236HL is pretty neat, 76Hz is a huge improvement to 60Hz ... I know someone selling the S27A950D if you're interested pm me... Fact that its an old TN is making me hesitant, but we all heard good from that monitor so you might give it a go.. Right now, im satisfied with my Acer

I've actually got 1 already and am quite happy with it.

I'd like to some day upgrade to like a 2560x1600 or something that is glossy and hits 120/144hz but manufacturers seem to love the matte displays for some reason.

I don't have much experience with IPS panels or am discerning enough to give a good comparison between the SA27950D's TN panel vs a quality IPS.
 

Vesqwi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
352
you need to take a photo with a camera capturing as many illuminated squares as possible, like this or this
76hz will give a nice little reduction in motion blur over 60hz and the mouse aiming feels better, but in the end it can't really compete with 144hz or even 100hz
- Ok I will post it tonight. Are those shots from an Acer H236HL too ?

- Also, yea the improvement is not yet close to my 120hz laptop monitor, but still smoother than 60hz, however I noticed a hit on color quality.. blue color has now some barely but still noticable thin vertical line on them... which made me switch back to 60hz..
I've actually got 1 already and am quite happy with it.

I'd like to some day upgrade to like a 2560x1600 or something that is glossy and hits 120/144hz but manufacturers seem to love the matte displays for some reason.

I don't have much experience with IPS panels or am discerning enough to give a good comparison between the SA27950D's TN panel vs a quality IPS.

You got yours overclocked ?
 
Last edited:

Vesqwi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
352
you need to take a photo with a camera capturing as many illuminated squares as possible, like this or this
76hz will give a nice little reduction in motion blur over 60hz and the mouse aiming feels better, but in the end it can't really compete with 144hz or even 100hz

Here they are:
60Hz http://i.imgur.com/qvQ60Mi.jpg
76Hz (OCed) http://i.imgur.com/fBpkAqr.jpg
Doesn't seems to have any Frame skipping here.. not sure why four frame is showing up on 76hz wile 3 only on 60hz ...
What could explain the blue color "issue" on 76Hz ?
 

Mokkat

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
1,165
Was there ever a 1080p monitor with the dual-dvi bypass board required to potentially overclock to 120hz? Yet alone a glossy one?
 

KazeoHin

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
8,204
Just wanted to let you know that I successfully OCed my Acer H236HL wich is exactly what you're looking for:
Gives a sublime Glossy 23" IPS 1080p display now at 76Hz (not 120hz, but still a noticable improvement !)
*Had to disable the DSR feature as requested by the NVidia Display uppon creating a custom resolution.

proof:
http://i.imgur.com/e24LgpF.png
http://i.imgur.com/SBRyyiY.png

[Stock GPU]
-DVI-DVI <-- TDB
-DVI-DP <-- TDB
-DVI-HDMI <-- TDB
-DP-DP <-- TDB
-DP-DVI <-- TDB
-DP-HDMI <-- TDB
-HDMI-HDMI <------ Successful @ 1920x1080 76hz
-HDMI-DP <-- TDB
-HDMI-DVI <-- TDB​

[OCed GPU]
-DVI-DVI <-- TDB
-DVI-DP <-- TDB
-DVI-HDMI <-- TDB
-DP-DP <-- TDB
-DP-DVI <-- TDB
-DP-HDMI <-- TDB
-HDMI-HDMI <-- TDB
-HDMI-DP <-- TDB
-HDMI-DVI <-- TDB

HP Compaq 8200 Elite CMT (http://bit.ly/1fnXsYP page 4)
========================
[CPU]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;QuadCore Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3.40 GHz (stock)
[GPU]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Superclocked 2GB GDDR5 (G-SYNC ready)
[PSU]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;320 Watt (HP-Proprietary) &#9658; can't replace, but can add more if needed
[MEM]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;16GB DDR3-1333
[MOBO]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;HP Compaq 8200 Elite CMT PC (Intel Sandy Bridge Cougar Point Q67)
[DRIVE]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;Samsung SSD 850 PRO
[MONITOR]
&#8194;&#8194;Acer H236HL [23" IPS 60Hz OC@76Hz]

Those are screen grabs, which are useless for this kind of data. Screen grabs are capturing the data sent to the monitor, it doesn't capture the monitor's output. You need to use your phone's camera or an external camera and snag a picture of the screen as the squares are moving.

&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;

= Your monitor isnt actually OC'd

----------------------------------------

&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;

= Your monitor IS actually OC'd



Edit: I saw that you've done exactly this. But the 76Hz image is missing from photobuckit.
 

Vesqwi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
352
Those are screen grabs, which are useless for this kind of data. Screen grabs are capturing the data sent to the monitor, it doesn't capture the monitor's output. You need to use your phone's camera or an external camera and snag a picture of the screen as the squares are moving.

&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;

= Your monitor isnt actually OC'd

----------------------------------------

&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;&#9608;

= Your monitor IS actually OC'd



Edit: I saw that you've done exactly this. But the 76Hz image is missing from photobuckit.

Sorry here's the 76Hz shot: http://i.imgur.com/TnCaTSJ.jpg
so from my understanding, it Oced ? But the overall color quality has been effected I think..
 

Vesqwi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
352
Yup! That's a successful OC!

I wonder what made the color quality decrease .. its a kill that forces me to stay on 60Hz even thought its barely noticable... Color quality has great value to me, hence why I went IPS..

Do you think I have any chances of getting different results trying with those other setting combine : ?


[Stock GPU]
-DVI-DVI <-- TDB
-DVI-DP <-- TDB
-DVI-HDMI <-- TDB
-DP-DP <-- TDB
-DP-DVI <-- TDB
-DP-HDMI <-- TDB
-HDMI-HDMI <------ Successful @ 1920x1080 76hz
-HDMI-DP <-- TDB
-HDMI-DVI <-- TDB​

[OCed GPU]
-DVI-DVI <-- TDB
-DVI-DP <-- TDB
-DVI-HDMI <-- TDB
-DP-DP <-- TDB
-DP-DVI <-- TDB
-DP-HDMI <-- TDB
-HDMI-HDMI <-- TDB
-HDMI-DP <-- TDB
-HDMI-DVI <-- TDB
 

KazeoHin

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
8,204
I wonder what made the color quality decrease .. its a kill that forces me to stay on 60Hz even thought its barely noticable... Color quality has great value to me, hence why I went IPS..

Do you think I have any chances of getting different results trying with those other setting combine : ?


[Stock GPU]
-DVI-DVI <-- TDB
-DVI-DP <-- TDB
-DVI-HDMI <-- TDB
-DP-DP <-- TDB
-DP-DVI <-- TDB
-DP-HDMI <-- TDB
-HDMI-HDMI <------ Successful @ 1920x1080 76hz
-HDMI-DP <-- TDB
-HDMI-DVI <-- TDB​

[OCed GPU]
-DVI-DVI <-- TDB
-DVI-DP <-- TDB
-DVI-HDMI <-- TDB
-DP-DP <-- TDB
-DP-DVI <-- TDB
-DP-HDMI <-- TDB
-HDMI-HDMI <-- TDB
-HDMI-DP <-- TDB
-HDMI-DVI <-- TDB

I think for OCing, you want to stick with DVI only. If you have a dual-link cable, use that. DVI carries a verry similar signal to HDMI, but it is preferred because of its greater bandwidth. In Theory, a DL-DVI cable should be able to crank 4k@60hz, as it can output 1440p@144hz, which is about the same amount of data.
 

igluk

Gawd
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
718
DP is best suited for OCing but many budget monitors lack that port (one exception would be the P2414H)
I'm using a DL-DVI cable but it still somehow constrains me to timings below the 165mhz pixel clock limit (and 167mhz with pixel clock patcher) so in theory my settings should also work with a single-link DVI. (its a different monitor thats not glossy)
Apparently it is not uncommon that some monitors exhibit a change in gamma when overclocked (mine doesn't), maybe you can get your colors back by adjusting gamma slider in graphics driver or OSD.
Otherwise you could try a lower refresh like 72hz or try DVI instead of HDMI like suggested.
 

Vesqwi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
352
my monitor has: DVI-D, HDMI, VGA
my GPU has: DVI-I, HDMI, DP, VGA


Ok I Will get a couple DVI cables (in couple different input-output flavors) today and try some more combination
Problem is, DVI on my GPU is a DVI-I, not DVI-D as on my display.. I wonder if should pose a problem.. I have to try with different cables too I guess.. [DVI-I,DVI-I], [DVI-I,DVI-D] or [DVI-D,DVI-D] ... Will start with a [DVI-D,DVI-D]

However, this let me think that my GPU's DVI-I won't be an issue. (BUT, I remember reading on some of these korean displays seller, that a DVI-I was not OC compatble, while a DVI-D was...)
" A DVI-D connector on a graphics card sends out a digital signal only, while a DVI-I connector, which carries both an analog and digital signal, can send out a digital signal (for digital displays such as flat panel LCD monitors) as well as analog signal (for older displays such as a CRT monitor). "
source: nvidia

HP Compaq 8200 Elite CMT (http://bit.ly/1fnXsYP page 4)
========================
[CPU]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;QuadCore Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3.40 GHz (stock)
[GPU]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Superclocked 2GB GDDR5 (G-SYNC ready)
[PSU]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;320 Watt (HP-Proprietary) &#9658; can't replace, but can add more if needed
[MEM]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;16GB DDR3-1333
[MOBO]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;HP Compaq 8200 Elite CMT PC (Intel Sandy Bridge Cougar Point Q67)
[DRIVE]
&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;&#8194;Samsung SSD 850 PRO
[MONITOR]
&#8194;&#8194;Acer H236HL [23" IPS 60Hz]
 
Last edited:
Top