Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master won't power on - (temporary) solution

Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
7
Okay, I've confirmed that my issue occurs EXACTLY every 30 days for me. Today is 30 days from when I updated my BIOS to F12G and lo and behold, the issue happened again. I'm done holding out any hope. Gigabyte isn't going to acknowledge this problem so there's little hope of them fixing it in my eyes. If I could go back in time and give my younger self two pieces of advice, the first would be to invest in Tesla Motors, and the second would be to never buy this horrible motherboard.

Side note, Corsair Vengeance RGB memory and an EVGA 850P2 PSU. The one thing we all have in common in this thread is the motherboard. Pretty sure we can rule memory and PSU brands out.
 

Psylor

n00b
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
15
Hi, you should move on to F20b which is now official and resolves lot of weirdos with F20a.
Also suggestion is to flash bios using EfiFlash utility (provided with the bios) from FreeDos and use /C command flag to ClearDMI data.
And report back afterwards please.
Cheers

I flashed the BIOS to F20b, but the freezes still happen. I observed that they occur when there are little fast boosts from idle (around 500-800 MHz) to 2 GHz and back in literally no time. I never changed any of the BIOS settings besides ErP and XMP, everything is on default. I don't know what is causing this strange behavior.
 

Hi2jack

n00b
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
17
I flashed the BIOS to F20b, but the freezes still happen. I observed that they occur when there are little fast boosts from idle (around 500-800 MHz) to 2 GHz and back in literally no time. I never changed any of the BIOS settings besides ErP and XMP, everything is on default. I don't know what is causing this strange behavior.
Are you talking about freezing......... or the issue no power (Nothing on the mobo, no fan’s, no lights) when pushing The power button because that’s the issue.....
 

Psylor

n00b
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
15
Are you talking about freezing......... or the issue no power (Nothing on the mobo, no fan’s, no lights) when pushing The power button because that’s the issue.....

Yes, it's a new issue which i have after the last no power-bug and flashing from F11 to F12g -> F20a and now F20b.
 

Morph3R

n00b
Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
54
Yes, it's a new issue which i have after the last no power-bug and flashing from F11 to F12g -> F20a and now F20b.
I see that you are on Windows 10 Pro 2004.
I had lots of similar issues (freezing, huge audio delays, etc) when forced update to 2004.
I would suggest going back to 1909.

On second thought, ALL of my issues started after update to 2004 (cold misboot as the most nauseating of them) but this could be just a coincidence.
 
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
7
Well, now my issue has gone from every 30 days to every single day. I just ordered an MSI MEG X570 Ace. Are we still trying to send one of these POS boards off to a tech personality to have them try to get on Gigabyte's case? Because if so I volunteer mine.
 

THUMPer

2[H]4U
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
3,481
Well, now my issue has gone from every 30 days to every single day. I just ordered an MSI MEG X570 Ace. Are we still trying to send one of these POS boards off to a tech personality to have them try to get on Gigabyte's case? Because if so I volunteer mine.
Being serious here. If you're in the US, I'd like to borrow the board.
 

Psylor

n00b
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
15
I see that you are on Windows 10 Pro 2004.
I had lots of similar issues (freezing, huge audio delays, etc) when forced update to 2004.
I would suggest going back to 1909.

On second thought, ALL of my issues started after update to 2004 (cold misboot as the most nauseating of them) but this could be just a coincidence.

The thing is, i upgraded to the Windows 2004 Build because of this new issue. I was previously on 1909. I thought Windows 2004 would probably fix this problem with the freezes.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2020
Messages
5
Hi, I've been following this thread for a while now and I have to say it makes me very nervous. Does anyone know if this is also affecting the Gygabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme (rev.1.1)? I'm also using a 3700x, G.Skilll Trident Z Neo DDR4-3600MHz CL16-19-19-39 1.35V 32GB (2x16GB), Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2 1TB and a Seasonic Prime Titanium 650W PSU (yes I know it's little unbalanced but I built it for my needs and it fits them perfectly).

I've replaced every part on a computer over the years but this is my first complete build and with the custom Mountain Mods case I built and the 5 4TB HGST drives I just bought I'm up to about $3,500. I came into a little money to build this rig and if my very first complete build had problems that would be VERY discouraging.

I followed Ryzen 3000 and X570 even before launch and I know Gigabyte boards, MSI and maybe others had some growing pains in the beginning and posting issues but I waited until all that seemed to be resolved. No one ever figured out what the original posting issue was as far as I know, possibly related to RAM training or XMP?, but it all seemed to be resolved with BIOS and chipset driver updates.

It seems like history is repeating itself or the issues were never completely resolved.

According to the pictures on my phone I took a couple days to build my system and I first powered it on March 17. The only BIOS settings I've changed are enabling XMP and the recommended changes for 1usmus Power Plan and so far it's been solid as a rock. I've rebooted and shut it down many times in the course of building it but otherwise I leave my computers on 24/7/365.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
7
Hey uh... I just thought of something. Has anyone had this issue before 2020? It seems like it's all happened for us this year. Has anyone tried setting their system clock to a year ago?
 

ghp

n00b
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
10
Hey uh... I just thought of something. Has anyone had this issue before 2020? It seems like it's all happened for us this year. Has anyone tried setting their system clock to a year ago?
First time it happened to my X570 was 22/11/2019. Couldn't fix it, didn't find any similar case. Sent it back, got it back "repaired", but not a word about what was wrong, even after asking for feedback. This after less than four weeks, 16/12/2019. The second time, 12/2/2020, while preparing to remove the X570 I noticed the battery, which I hadn't payed attention to before. Removed and put it back. I felt a great relief, I wouldn't have to do without for another month. I also understood the silence that accompanied the first "repair". Ten days later, 22/2, bingo. By that time I'd found this thread, knew I wasn't alone. Then 9/5 and today. I don't believe there's any relation to PS or memory or GPU.
BTW, I'm one of those ... that bought a new PS because of this.
 
Last edited:

Nobu

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
4,879
First time it happened to my X570 was 22/11/2019. Couldn't fix it, didn't find any similar case. Sent it back, got it back "repaired", but not a word about what was wrong, even after asking for feedback. This after less than four weeks, 16/12/2019. The second time, 12/2/2020, while preparing to remove the X570 I noticed the battery, which I hadn't payed attention to before. Removed and put it back. I felt a great relief, I wouldn't have to do without for another month. I also understood the silence that accompanied the first "repair". Ten days later, 22/2, bingo. By that time I'd found this thread, knew I wasn't alone. Then 9/5 and today. I don't believe there's any relation to PS or memory or GPU.
Yeah, and the same thing was happening with some x370 boards when they were released, so I'm 99% sure it's unrelated to the date.
 

Morph3R

n00b
Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
54
Just to make o note...

Today flashed F20 bios, preferred way, and switched to SB (single bios) mode.

And counting begins ...
 

Hi2jack

n00b
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
17
They have so far denied the issue so surely they won’t mention it....... but hopefully they fixed it..
 

Morph3R

n00b
Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
54
Hoping they solved it but forgot to mention it?
They are NOT going to mention it anywhere since they're claiming that there are no known issues.
I'm afraid that if the percentage of us having the issue is within the normal RMA claim rate (5-9%) they are NOT going to bother dealing with it!
We can just hope that some of our RMA returned boards will be examined by a smart engineer who actually does care, and who would find and suggest the solution which will be then accepted/implemented and prepared/tested for inclusion in the future bios release.
 
Last edited:

ghp

n00b
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
10
prepared/tested for inclusion in the future bios release.
They may leave the testing to us. I remember my first bios upgrade with this MB. It left me without disks to boot from. Which reminds me, could our problem be linked to external USB devices that remain connected during poweroff? When I have eg. a card reader connected, booting becomes incredibly slow.
 

Hi2jack

n00b
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
17
They may leave the testing to us. I remember my first bios upgrade with this MB. It left me without disks to boot from. Which reminds me, could our problem be linked to external USB devices that remain connected during poweroff? When I have eg. a card reader connected, booting becomes incredibly slow.
There is surely an USB problem, I had to bup a powered internal USB 2.0 hub to get Corsair ICUE working. Without it I constantly had a USB-connection loss. The issue of not powering up happened with me when I left a headphone to charge...... Of corse i can’t say it’s related but......... maybe it is. Ammunition for the technicians for solving this issue😀 if GB acknowledge the issue.......
 

Luca9751

n00b
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
8
There is surely an USB problem, I had to bup a powered internal USB 2.0 hub to get Corsair ICUE working. Without it I constantly had a USB-connection loss. The issue of not powering up happened with me when I left a headphone to charge...... Of corse i can’t say it’s related but......... maybe it is. Ammunition for the technicians for solving this issue😀 if GB acknowledge the issue.......

That's also something I thought about. Was wondering if me leaving my external DAC/Amp connected while the PC is off could be the issue. But sadly I haven't kept track off whats connected when the PC doesn't Power on.

Also starting to doubt that dual Bios is the Problem since you can already predict that the PC won't turn on if the Power LED isn't glowing on the Mainboard. The question is does the LED turn of right after shutting down or later. I assume Dual Bios only does it's thing start up?
 

Morph3R

n00b
Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
54
Also starting to doubt that dual Bios is the Problem since you can already predict that the PC won't turn on if the Power LED isn't glowing on the Mainboard. The question is does the LED turn of right after shutting down or later. I assume Dual Bios only does it's thing start up?

Nothing is "glowing" when you have ErP mode enabled after shutdown.

And if you look at this video, you can see that the board isn't powering on even when the power led is lit.
 
Last edited:

Psylor

n00b
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
15
Exactly, i can confirm since F12g or at least F20a nothing is glowing anymore with ErP enabled, neither my keyboard/mouse nor the button on the mainboard. That's the thing which has changed for me. Also, i never had USB-problems. I use 5 usb-ports and two internal ones for a commander pro and a lightning node.
 

Luca9751

n00b
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
8
Nothing is "glowing" when you have ErP mode enabled after shutdown.

And if you look at this video, you can see that the board isn't powering on even when the power led is lit.

After switching the PSU off and on again it also starts glowing again for me and then turns off when trying to power it on. But I got used to checking the LED every time before powering on and when its off that means it wont power on. Haven't changed the ErP Setting since this Thread seems to comfirm that it doesn't fix anything. So unless it's enabled by default which i doubt i don't have it. Also still on F11 so maybe that's why.
 

THUMPer

2[H]4U
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
3,481
Are we sure this isnt just a fundamental hardware issue? Nothing software will fix? hah
 

Morph3R

n00b
Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
54
Are we sure this isnt just a fundamental hardware issue? Nothing software will fix? hah
Sadly, probability is very high that this IS the case.
But we will not give up until all the options are exhausted. 💪
And if we do to no avail, we will probably all play the lottery and RMA our boards.
Maybe revision 1.2 is our solution after all.
 

cold_steel

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
539
Nothing is "glowing" when you have ErP mode enabled after shutdown.

And if you look at this video, you can see that the board isn't powering on even when the power led is lit.
This video looks exactly like the behavior I’ve seen the 2 times this has happened to me. You can leave the PSU off for a few mins, and the internal power button LED will glow again when you power the PSU on. However when the soft brick conduit is happening, the LED will turn off and stay off after pressing it or the normal case power button.

the thought about the issue being related to USB storage being connected is interesting - I haven’t messed with my GoPro memory cards via usb reader in a few months... and it’s been a few months since I’ve seen this. I’ll plug a reader and sd card in to see if I can trigger the issue to recur over the coming week.
 

USAF46270

n00b
Joined
Apr 11, 2020
Messages
49
This video looks exactly like the behavior I’ve seen the 2 times this has happened to me. You can leave the PSU off for a few mins, and the internal power button LED will glow again when you power the PSU on. However when the soft brick conduit is happening, the LED will turn off and stay off after pressing it or the normal case power button.

the thought about the issue being related to USB storage being connected is interesting - I haven’t messed with my GoPro memory cards via usb reader in a few months... and it’s been a few months since I’ve seen this. I’ll plug a reader and sd card in to see if I can trigger the issue to recur over the coming week.
I don't have any USB storage and it happened to me, so not sure if that is a potential issue or not.
 

USAF46270

n00b
Joined
Apr 11, 2020
Messages
49
After switching the PSU off and on again it also starts glowing again for me and then turns off when trying to power it on. But I got used to checking the LED every time before powering on and when its off that means it wont power on. Haven't changed the ErP Setting since this Thread seems to comfirm that it doesn't fix anything. So unless it's enabled by default which i doubt i don't have it. Also still on F11 so maybe that's why.
Every since I have enabled ERP in the BIOS, I haven't had any issues. It's been over 2 months since I had the soft brick issue (probably just jinxed myself).
 

kmtyko

n00b
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
1
Hey guys, been following this thread for the last week and wanted to add my case-

X570 Aorus Master
3900X Ryzen
G.Skill Neo 3200C14D 16gbx2
EVGA FTW3 2080 Super
EVGA 750W P2

Had the same issue pop up twice in the last month where I can't power anything on after shutting down the PC the night before. LED Power On button on MB is lit before pressing the power button and instantly turns off after pressing power on. Nothing powers on (fans, etc.).
Issue only resolved when pulling CMOS battery out for a few minutes and putting it back in.
Other symptom includes coil whine/vibration noise that sounds like its coming from around the audio shield/IO shield but also maybe the x570 chipset. LED on audio shield also flickers on/off before pressing power button.

To add to the possible theories, prior to first incident I had-
Single BIOS mode only (first switch on position 2) since I first got this 1.0 board back in July 2019 (power on issue started 11 months after rock-solid performance)
Running F11 BIOS since that vers first came out
ERP was disabled
Idle Power Current @ Typical
AMD Cool n Quiet = Disabled
Did not touch Spread Spectrum, or any other CPU OC settings

I've since flashed F20 with efiflash clearing DMI data as well as-
ERP Enabled
Idle Power Current @ Low
CPU LLC @ Low (instead of Auto)
AMD Cool n Quiet = Enabled

On F20b I had stuttering and random crashes mid-game and cores were getting high voltages @ 1.5v. Haven't noticed stuttering and random crashes since updating to F20 and also getting more comfortable core voltages now.

I'm on Windows 10 build 1909, haven't updated to build 2004 yet.

I just ordered an ASUS mb, thinking about switching back even tho seems like all mobo makers have issues with their X570 boards so far.
 

Morph3R

n00b
Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
54
To add to the possible theories, prior to first incident I had-
Single BIOS mode only (first switch on position 2) since I first got this 1.0 board back in July 2019 (power on issue started 11 months after rock-solid performance)
Does this mean we should check off the DualBIOS too?

Guys, we are running out of options here...
 

Morph3R

n00b
Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
54
Since we opt out the DualBios as the culprit, it is clear now that the issue always happens on shutdown process (during or immediately after).

hypothesis: during the shutdown process for some reason motherboard powers down before HDD's fully spin down their plates.
While plates are still rotating (spinning down) electric motor rotation is producing electricity, this electricity could then backfire running
into the motherboards electric circuit and eventually triggering some internal circuit protection (ESD, anti-power-surge, name it...)
which as a consequence doesn't allow motherboard to power up ...

So I was wondering if everyone of us have spinning hard drives in the system.
I personally have 2 of them: 14TB Toshiba N300 and 500GB WD VelociRaptor (the real dinosaur, I know)

Just trying to be imaginative here :)

EDIT: this theory could also apply to EXTERNAL USB enclosures with spinning HDDs.
 
Last edited:

Hi2jack

n00b
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
17
Since we opt out the DualBios as the culprit, it is clear now that the issue always happens on shutdown process (during or immediately after).

hypothesis: during the shutdown process for some reason motherboard powers down before HDD's fully spin down they'r plates.
While plates are still rotating (spinning down) electric motor rotation is producing electricity, this electricity could then backfire running
into the motherboards electric circuit and eventually triggering some internal circuit protection (ESD, anti-power-surge, name it...)
which as a consequence doesn't allow motherboard to power up ...

So I was wondering if everyone of us have spinning hard drives in the system.
I personally have 2 of them: 14TB Toshiba N300 and 500GB WD VelociRaptor (the real dinosaur, I know)

Just trying to be imaginative here :)

EDIT: this theory could also apply to EXTERNAL USB enclosures with spinning HDDs.
I have a WD green 4TB running.......
btw my mobo is still in RMA for 4 week’s now
 

cold_steel

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
539
Since we opt out the DualBios as the culprit, it is clear now that the issue always happens on shutdown process (during or immediately after).

hypothesis: during the shutdown process for some reason motherboard powers down before HDD's fully spin down they'r plates.
While plates are still rotating (spinning down) electric motor rotation is producing electricity, this electricity could then backfire running
into the motherboards electric circuit and eventually triggering some internal circuit protection (ESD, anti-power-surge, name it...)
which as a consequence doesn't allow motherboard to power up ...

So I was wondering if everyone of us have spinning hard drives in the system.
I personally have 2 of them: 14TB Toshiba N300 and 500GB WD VelociRaptor (the real dinosaur, I know)

Just trying to be imaginative here :)

EDIT: this theory could also apply to EXTERNAL USB enclosures with spinning HDDs.
I have a 2TB spinning drive.
 

USAF46270

n00b
Joined
Apr 11, 2020
Messages
49
Since we opt out the DualBios as the culprit, it is clear now that the issue always happens on shutdown process (during or immediately after).

hypothesis: during the shutdown process for some reason motherboard powers down before HDD's fully spin down they'r plates.
While plates are still rotating (spinning down) electric motor rotation is producing electricity, this electricity could then backfire running
into the motherboards electric circuit and eventually triggering some internal circuit protection (ESD, anti-power-surge, name it...)
which as a consequence doesn't allow motherboard to power up ...

So I was wondering if everyone of us have spinning hard drives in the system.
I personally have 2 of them: 14TB Toshiba N300 and 500GB WD VelociRaptor (the real dinosaur, I know)

Just trying to be imaginative here :)

EDIT: this theory could also apply to EXTERNAL USB enclosures with spinning HDDs.
1TB Western Digital Black here.
 

Psylor

n00b
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
15
Since we opt out the DualBios as the culprit, it is clear now that the issue always happens on shutdown process (during or immediately after).

hypothesis: during the shutdown process for some reason motherboard powers down before HDD's fully spin down their plates.
While plates are still rotating (spinning down) electric motor rotation is producing electricity, this electricity could then backfire running
into the motherboards electric circuit and eventually triggering some internal circuit protection (ESD, anti-power-surge, name it...)
which as a consequence doesn't allow motherboard to power up ...

So I was wondering if everyone of us have spinning hard drives in the system.
I personally have 2 of them: 14TB Toshiba N300 and 500GB WD VelociRaptor (the real dinosaur, I know)

Just trying to be imaginative here :)

EDIT: this theory could also apply to EXTERNAL USB enclosures with spinning HDDs.

No HDDs or other (optical) drives and never had an external connected. There is only the M.2 SSD in the system.
 

mrplt

n00b
Joined
Jul 16, 2020
Messages
3
Hi!
I am having the same problem with my Aorus Master. I have a Ryzen 7 3800X. It happened for the first time the other day out of the blue, and I thought it was a Power Supply issue. I actually got a new PSU and found this page when a new PSU didn't solve my issue. I am on BIOS version F20.
Removing the CMOS battery did the trick for me and it worked for around 2 days; but I started having the same issue again. One thing that immediately solves the problem for me is to remove the 24 pin motherboard connector and put it back on, it's certainly better than having to remove the GPU every single time.
I also opened an RMA request but I first need to find another computer I can use for work.
For me, the red power button LED goes off as soon as the computer turns off.

PS: I have one NVM.e SSD, one SATA SSD, and 2 3.5" SATA HDDs connected.
 
Top