Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master won't power on - (temporary) solution

Illined

n00b
Joined
Sep 13, 2020
Messages
15
Has it definitely been established that it's DP cables that are causing this problem?
No, it hasn't. The point is that if we now get random people coming in here saying they replaced the DP cable and still have issues, without confirming which exact cable they bought, we'll never know if it is.

The poster I quoted for example said it is a high quality 8k cable. This is an 8k DP cable, it's not certified and thus cannot be used to check if this solves the issue. I haven't had any issues since replacing my cables with VESA certified ones, but it hasn't been long enough to say if this fixes anything.
 

BitFlip

n00b
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
22
No, it hasn't. The point is that if we now get random people coming in here saying they replaced the DP cable and still have issues, without confirming which exact cable they bought, we'll never know if it is.

The poster I quoted for example said it is a high quality 8k cable. This is an 8k DP cable, it's not certified and thus cannot be used to check if this solves the issue. I haven't had any issues since replacing my cables with VESA certified ones, but it hasn't been long enough to say if this fixes anything.
It has nothing to do with display port cables as I've had this issue twice now with HDMI.
 

freakin__

n00b
Joined
Sep 22, 2020
Messages
3
hey all, just an update from my end - im literally weeks from crashing, only thing I've changed is introducing a physical power switch (on/off) between the wall-plug and PC + monitor. No issues.
I also must say that I upgraded both BIOS' to the latest version that can be found online, which also seems to do the trick (at least until now).
 

Lepardi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
274
Just dropping in to say that I had the same exact issues with my Gigabyte Z97X after updating BIOS (which of course was an update that prevented going back to previous version lol).

Tried everything, and then I found the root cause - PCI-E 3.0 setting was broken. Turned it down to PCI-E 2.0 and all problems went away. If I turn it back to PCI-E 3.0 the problems come back immediately.

Another interesting note is that on the Z97X the CMOS-battery is also stupidly placed under the graphics card.
 
Last edited:

charpour

n00b
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
38
I would be down for joining a class action lawsuit. Hell, if there is only a handful of us and we sued for $1m +, we could make out like bandits. I wonder how many of us have lost time from work or other productivity because of this?
same here, I'm all in.

In the meantime, can we start posting this in blogs, reddit and other forums to make people aware of the issues before they commit their $$ to a GB motherboard. I've already started warning people in some local forums around potential issues with such mobos.
 

Turbo12R

n00b
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
4
Good morning everyone,

Sunday 25th. My card has been gone for approximately one month now. It arrived at the reseller on October 1st and after what seemed to be a quick check the reseller decided to send it to their supplier. After that, all went quiet.
I’m regularly checking this forum and the list of impacted Gigabyte customers seems to grow. And since Gigabyte is not responding in a way we customers would like I was wondering if we should start a petition and try to find more impacted customers. Once we have a reasonable amount of signatures we could confront Gigabyte directly and show them the magnitude of the problem. If they then still deny the problem I would suggest to hire a lawyer specialised in consumer rights to defend our case. The main goal would then be to go for a full refund.
All depends of course on how many signatures we would collect with the petition. Could be that we belong to a very small group of unfortunate customers. What’s your thought on this proposal?

I'm in. Just to be clear, I have two of these boards, and both have done the same thing. I've used the same GPU, and the same CPU, and the same Nvme drive in them. Different brand memory and different PSU.

For comparative sake to see if there is another common piece of hardware causing the issue, I have:

EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 GPU
AMD 3950X CPU
Seagate Firecuda 520
and of course Gigabyte Aorus Master X570 version 1.0
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2020
Messages
2
Hello all! What a joy to find I am not the only one having this issue. Thought I'd post my specs/thoughts to bulk up the info and see if there is any commonalities. My system did the cold-boot no lights nothing a couple of months ago after running for probably 6+ months and has subsequently happened another 3 times (feels like with increasing frequency) A pop out of the battery for 10 seconds fixes it for me.

Gigabyte Aorus Master X570 version 1.0
AMD 3900X
EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo DDR4 3600MHz PC4-28800 CL16 RGB (running with XMP profile)
Soundblaster AE-5
EVGA Supernova 850w P2 PSU
2 x NVMe drives - Crucial MX
3 x SSDs

USB items plugged in:
Steelseries Apex Pro keyboard (uses 2 USB, 1 powered)
Focusrite Scarlett Solo (mic input, uses 48v phantom power)
Logitech webcam
Logitech G powerplay wireless charging mouse mat
One USB used to connect to monitor's USB hub

I have been on the F11 BIOS until last week when I updated to F22 (and it's done it on both)

On a more worrying note I had another issue last week (which I should probably post elsewhere) where after a reboot, 3 (yes 3!) of my SSD drives all became uninitialised at the same time. After nearly 24 hours of vomit inducing panic I did manage to recover the (MBR) partitions, but I now have a massive distrust of the board. I have seen this particular issue mentioned by another Master owner (not nearly as common as the coldboot though)

Not holding out much hope, but hope Gigabyte/we can find a solution as it's a great board when it's working! Thanks y'all.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2020
Messages
2
Here's an interesting thought - I've only ever used one of the 2 x 8-pin ATX 12V power connectors. I wonder if using both would make any difference?
 

AH87

n00b
Joined
Oct 27, 2020
Messages
1
I've had this issue twice now with 2 different Gigabyte X570 master boards. The first time it happened though I might have just got a naff board to sent it back to amazon and got a replacement. Now two months after the board replacement this has happened again with the new board. Paying 330 quid for a motherboard I don't expect to have to re-seat the cmos battery every so often.

Currently running

Aorus X570 AORUS MASTER
32GB G SKill 3600MHz
2 970 samsung evo M.2
Ryzen 3600
Corsair 1000w gold PSU.
1080 GPU

USB items plugged in at the time

Logitech G powerplay wireless charging mouse mat
Steelseries headset wireless adaptor
Logitech 910 keyboard
Oculus rift and 3 sensors (These 4 USB ports were not plugged in the second time this happened on the new board)

There is an issue with these board and i'm now in two minds if I should send this one back for a full refund and go else where or hope this doesn't happen again or the cause is found. however I had planned on using the third m.2 slot.
 

ctug85

n00b
Joined
Oct 10, 2020
Messages
3
FYI I spent two hours talking to Gigabyte on the phone. The first tech acknowledge this is a KNOWN issue. I asked there was a fix, she said "No". I asked if I could RMA the board and get a replacement board that wasn't the same model. She said "No" . I asked if I RMAed the board could I get back another board with the same issue. She said "yes that is possible". So currently they know about the issue don't have a fix. Luckily I got my local retailer to return the board after 1 Year and 3 Months of use and bought a MSI Meg ACE and have 0 Issues. I went from having the issue every 3 or 4 days to never having the issue with MSI board.
 
Last edited:

BitFlip

n00b
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
22
FYI I spent two hours talking to Gigabyte on the phone. The first tech acknowledge this is a KNOWN issue. I asked there was a fix, she said "No". I asked if I could RMA the board and get a replacement board that wasn't the same model. She said "No" . I asked if I RMAed the board could I get back another board with the same issue. She said "yes that is possible". So currently they know about the issue don't have a fix. Luckily I got my local retailer to return the board after 1 Year and 3 Months of use and bought a MSI Meg ACE and have 0 Issues. I went from having the issue every 3 or 4 days to never having the issue with MSI board.
Did you record the phone call by any chance? Their eSupport are in denial there is an issue which obviously conflicts with everyone's problem in this thread and also your phone call. If you do have a recording it can be used against them but if not then that is just "hearsay" as they say and is of no help.
 

ctug85

n00b
Joined
Oct 10, 2020
Messages
3
I didn't record. I should have to be honest. I spoke all the way up to the RMA manager no one seemed to have an answer. I would attempt to call many times and record in hopes of getting same information. At this point I knew my local retailer was willing to exchange it for me and force them to return it.
 

gon

n00b
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Messages
2
FYI I spent two hours talking to Gigabyte on the phone. The first tech acknowledge this is a KNOWN issue. I asked there was a fix, she said "No". I asked if I could RMA the board and get a replacement board that wasn't the same model. She said "No" . I asked if I RMAed the board could I get back another board with the same issue. She said "yes that is possible". So currently they know about the issue don't have a fix. Luckily I got my local retailer to return the board after 1 Year and 3 Months of use and bought a MSI Meg ACE and have 0 Issues. I went from having the issue every 3 or 4 days to never having the issue with MSI board.
Same as you but with a B550 Vision D. This board gave me this issue since day 1. I couldn't even boot it, it didn't power-up at all. I returned the MOBO to the retailer and they told me that it boots just fine. They send me back the MOBO but again: it didn't power-up. After a few tries, it worked. Until the debug code 05 (I don't even know what it is. The manual says nothing about 05)

Every time I powered off my PC and then powered-up, this code appears and suddenly, after a few seconds or a minute, the PC turns off and I have to remove the power cord for a minute or use the switch behind the PSU. Then it powers up, but the BIOS is reset.

I talked to the retailer again to return it. I have an MSI Ace that has a faulty USB3 front panel connector (MSI says is not enough to RMA) but at least everything else works (though I hate Dragon center). I was going to do this yesterday. Do you know what's funny? The B550 is booting as it should now. Not a single issue. Unlike the Ace, this board is perfect for my setup. But I'm reading more and more that this issue comes and goes from time to time, so I don't know that to do.
 
Last edited:

mda

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
1,916
Know someone with a Gigabyte Z270 who also gets odd non-boot issues every now and then... Will be suggesting this just to see if I can contribute to this thread as well. What an odd issue...
 

Cogger

n00b
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
3
Well after a few weeks running on Bios F30 after my 1st time with this problem I just had it happen again. had to remove battery again. Like everyone else I contacted Gigabyte only to be told to contact the retailer.
I WILL NEVER BUY GIGABYTE AGAIN! Horrible the way this is going considering so many people with the issue. Sign me up for the class action.
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
30,227
I had considered buying this board before I saw this thread. Yikes. Sorry guys, I hope it gets fixed.
 

Morph3R

n00b
Joined
Jun 8, 2020
Messages
54
I'm considering Dark Hero once it's out.
At least has some improvement compared to Master: no chipset fan!

... wait, there's more: 32 MB of much more stable and polished BIOS
 
Last edited:

Illined

n00b
Joined
Sep 13, 2020
Messages
15
Had the issue again just now. New this time is that my BIOS wasn't reset after popping out the battery. Weird.

Using certified DP-cables so that definitely doesn't help.

In agreement with the above poster I have set a price-alert for the Dark Hero and am purchasing that board as soon as it is out. This will have been the last Gigabyte product I have purchased. It's too much of a hassle as it stands.
 

USAF46270

n00b
Joined
Apr 11, 2020
Messages
49
Had the issue again just now. New this time is that my BIOS wasn't reset after popping out the battery. Weird.

Using certified DP-cables so that definitely doesn't help.

In agreement with the above poster I have set a price-alert for the Dark Hero and am purchasing that board as soon as it is out. This will have been the last Gigabyte product I have purchased. It's too much of a hassle as it stands.
I had the issue today after almost 6 months of not happening. I agree with the DP cable, didn't help. My BIOS did reset after popping the battery out, I am currently on F30.
 

Illined

n00b
Joined
Sep 13, 2020
Messages
15
I went ahead and ordered an X570 Tomahawk. Requested an RMA for the Master. I am now officially done. Most stupid purchase I have ever made.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2020
Messages
11
I had the issue again today as well. Strangely, my bios settings didn't get reset. I only took out the battery for a few seconds though.
 

BitFlip

n00b
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
22
Wonder what Gigabyte would do if we organised a date and time and all sent a e-support ticket at exactly the same time about this issue.

There must be hundreds if not thousands of people that are suffering from this issue and maybe trying the above method may force their hand and make them admit there is an issue with the boards.

I've been a fan of Gigabyte for years but sadly their handling and lying about this issue has hurt their credibility at least to me anyway.

Sure the board works 99% of the time but damn this issue is stupid indeed and has to be a design flaw if not a bios bug.
 

cold_steel

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
539
Wonder what Gigabyte would do if we organised a date and time and all sent a e-support ticket at exactly the same time about this issue.

There must be hundreds if not thousands of people that are suffering from this issue and maybe trying the above method may force their hand and make them admit there is an issue with the boards.

I've been a fan of Gigabyte for years but sadly their handling and lying about this issue has hurt their credibility at least to me anyway.

Sure the board works 99% of the time but damn this issue is stupid indeed and has to be a design flaw if not a bios bug.
I’m certainly down for that.
 

///AMG

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
3,438
Oh well, I just picked one up from Microcenter today for my second build. Wonder what other board I should buy.
 

johnnysd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
200
I was originally an Abit fan, then they went out of business. Switched to DFI, they went out of business. Then switched to Gigabyte- and I’ve honestly had great luck with their boards (this is my 5th or 6th one) until this fun.
I work for DFI we definitely did not got out of business we just switched over to be become an industrial an embedded computing company but the Lan party enthusiasm for our products remains
 

cold_steel

Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
539
I work for DFI we definitely did not got out of business we just switched over to be become an industrial an embedded computing company but the Lan party enthusiasm for our products remains
I really miss your consumer products man. Good to hear they didn’t totally die off.
 

Lepardi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
274
I work for DFI we definitely did not got out of business we just switched over to be become an industrial an embedded computing company but the Lan party enthusiasm for our products remains
Now that Gigabyte is making itself go bankrupt, you can hop back in the business :D
 

johnnysd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
200
Now that Gigabyte is making itself go bankrupt, you can hop back in the business :D

I have actually suggested it. With PCIe 4.0 more and more boards will move towards 8 layer design, a space we could likely compete in. Would require a significant investment in addition R&D and manufacturing capability that makes it pretty unlikely. Still, we might have some products that would have niche applications in the prosumer market such as the next generations of our 1.8" boards (Tom's Hardware actually covered these). Glad to hear that DFI is not forgotten.
 

jimmer

n00b
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
5
Mine's just done it again this morning (about 4 weeks since last time and the 3rd time it's given me a coronary when I went to switch it on)

Gigabyte obviously know about this issue. They've had many bios releases to address it since they first became aware of it, so clearly, it's a design fault that they are not able to fix in a bios update. The issue also looks common enough that exchanging the mobo for the same model is likely to result in the same problem.

I'm going to buy a different make / model and try to get a refund for this from Amazon as not fit for purpose. What do people think of Asus / Dark Hero?


///AMG: I'd return it ASAP and go for something else - there are lots of these boards with this issue and you really don't want the hassle.
 

alderon87

n00b
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
9
I still have some classic DFI boards (Socket 7 especially)
I have actually suggested it. With PCIe 4.0 more and more boards will move towards 8 layer design, a space we could likely compete in. Would require a significant investment in addition R&D and manufacturing capability that makes it pretty unlikely. Still, we might have some products that would have niche applications in the prosumer market such as the next generations of our 1.8" boards (Tom's Hardware actually covered these). Glad to hear that DFI is not forgotten.
I still have some classic DFI boards from the Pentium (and later) era, my favorite is the DFI P5BV3+.

jimmer
I'd probably have a closer look at Asus, ASRock and MSI.
 

BitFlip

n00b
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
22
Someone in the Gigabyte AORUS Facebook group has suggested that something seems to be tripping the over volt / under volt protection circuit which has made me think of a fire hazard...

From now I will be pulling the plug on this thing when I'm not about.


Edit

Did anyone see how close part of the backplate is to a solder joint on the board before fitting it? I'm wondering now if this solder point could build up enough static charge to jump the gap so to speak (like a spark plug) and trip the protection circuit?
 

luckyguy40

n00b
Joined
Aug 30, 2020
Messages
32
Someone in the Gigabyte AORUS Facebook group has suggested that something seems to be tripping the over volt / under volt protection circuit which has made me think of a fire hazard...
Fire hazard? That sounds too extreme to me, though I'm only an ignorant about these topics. Guess Gigabyte woudn't allow this issue, right?
 

neenjapt

n00b
Joined
Nov 9, 2020
Messages
2
Hi,

I own a Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master Rev 1.0 and have been searching for a weird issue which happened randomly and that caused the computer to run sluggish because the GPU wasn't able to withdraw the power required from the PSU (when this issue happens, HWInfo reports only 150-170W as the max GPU power drawn by my RTX 2080).

5 or 6 weeks ago, the computer started to randomly shutdown during CPU and GPU load, which could either take a couple hours or a couple minutes to happen but I believe I've found a temporary workaround to fix both of my issue without removing the CMOS battery.

Before turning on the computer, I drain the power from the system by flipping the PSU switch and by keeping the power button pressed for something close to 10 segs until it is noticeable the system has been drained.

Since I started doing this, I haven't seen any of the power related issues.

I live in Portugal and contacted a popular local shop but they said they haven't received any complaints from other customers using the Gigabyte X570 series so I think my RMA will be a bit complicated.

Cheers
 
Top