Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master won't power on - solution

cold_steel

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
487
Well guys, I've had a frustrating AF night. Thought I'd share just in case this can help someone else :)

So backstory - A few years ago (like, 2015 maybe) I had a Corsair AX860i power supply crap out in my i7 6700K / Gigabyte Z170 Gaming 7 build. System would power on for a few seconds, then shut off in a loop. RMA'd the PSU with Corsair, fixed the issue.

About a month ago, I revamped my system with a Ryzen 3900X / Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master combo. PSU Corsair sent me as a replacement in 2015 was still running strong, so I retained it.

Tonight when I came home from work I went to power on my system. Nothing. No fans, no lights. Fiddled around with things for a while and realized if I left my PSU unplugged for about 5 mins and then plugged it back in, the onboard power button on the motherboard would glow, but as soon as you touch it, it would go black again. Removed pretty much everything but RAM and CPU, cleared CMOS, still no response to power button. I'm thinking, there went my Corsair replacement PSU, and I go off to Microcenter to get something new. Ended up with an ASUS ROG Thor 850w PSU. Nice individually braided cables. I was pissed at Corsair PSUs at the moment so I didn't even consider them TBH.

Get home, rip PC apart and try out new PSU. &^^&* still not booting!

Did another Google search about that board and a no power on condition and this time found a thread on Reddit where a few folks had a similar situation and physically removed the CMOS battery for 15 seconds then reinserted - board resurrected.

Well guess what - tonight's frustration with Corsair was misguided - after trying the battery removal the system immediately booted on the next power button press, and is now running totally normally.

Hopefully this helps someone out in a similar situation. I checked and I do have the latest BIOS from Gigabyte as of this post - F11.

Will probably keep the new ASUS PSU as the AX860i is at least 5 years old - and now I have a good spare again for testing. Always learning with this hobby!
 

RazorWind

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 11, 2001
Messages
3,471
Worth noting:

This behavior where you get nothing when hitting the power button is often a sign that you have a dead short to ground through some part of the system - most likely the motherboard or graphics card. Checking for this with a multimeter would be a good idea if you're having this issue, before you just keep trying the power button and blasting the motherboard with (potentially) a gazillion amps of current draw.

It's fortunate that this wasn't the case for you, and you figured it out, but I could see a lot of users trying this repeatedly, and eventually damaging something more difficult to replace than the power supply.
 

deruberhanyok

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
1,479
I also have an x570 aorus master and it is a finicky board. I love the system I’ve put together but mine is doing that thing where it resets the bios to defaults any time the power is shut off (switch on psu or pulling the plug).

glad the cmos battery did the trick for you. Apparently gigabyte is aware of some “cold boot” issues and they’re looking into them for future bios releases.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
4
So, I found this forum because of this thread, and I want to say thank you to cold_steel for your post - you just saved me a night or more of grief!

I just built my new machine last weekend based around a Ryzen 3950x/Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master combo. To play it safe, I thought I'd buy a little more expensive power supply than I normally would (Seasonic Prime TX-750) - "it shouldn't have any issues now", I thought to myself...

My machine had been running great, until I went to switch it on today. I pressed the power button and nothing, no lights or anything. I turned the power supply off for a few minutes, turned it back on and saw the red power button on the motherboard light up; "Great" I thought, but as soon as I pressed it, the light went out and nothing. At that point my heart sank as I realised that I'd might have to spend a lot of time trying to figure out what was wrong and possibly have to deal with an RMA.

At that point, I decided to search the internet to see if anyone has had a similar issue and found your post. I just want to say thank you for being so thoughtful by documenting the problem and the fix you found! After reading your post, I popped the CMOS battery out for a few minutes, then popped it back in and my computer is alive again.

I really hope Gigabyte are able to release a fix for the issue soon.

Thanks once again!
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
16,805
So, I found this forum because of this thread, and I want to say thank you to cold_steel for your post - you just saved me a night or more of grief!

I just built my new machine last weekend based around a Ryzen 3950x/Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master combo. To play it safe, I thought I'd buy a little more expensive power supply than I normally would (Seasonic Prime TX-750) - "it shouldn't have any issues now", I thought to myself...

My machine had been running great, until I went to switch it on today. I pressed the power button and nothing, no lights or anything. I turned the power supply off for a few minutes, turned it back on and saw the red power button on the motherboard light up; "Great" I thought, but as soon as I pressed it, the light went out and nothing. At that point my heart sank as I realised that I'd might have to spend a lot of time trying to figure out what was wrong and possibly have to deal with an RMA.

At that point, I decided to search the internet to see if anyone has had a similar issue and found your post. I just want to say thank you for being so thoughtful by documenting the problem and the fix you found! After reading your post, I popped the CMOS battery out for a few minutes, then popped it back in and my computer is alive again.

I really hope Gigabyte are able to release a fix for the issue soon.

Thanks once again!
welcome to [H]!
 

cold_steel

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
487
Awesome! Really glad this post saved someone the headache of ripping their machine apart just to find out the PSU wasn’t really the problem!! :)
Also agreed- hoping Gigabyte releases a BIOS fix soon- we can’t be the only ones that have got this problem. I’m sure many needless RMAs have happened.

For an update, my machine hasn’t repeated the problem (yet) and it’s been a month now. Luckily not a constant annoyance.

have a good one and stay away from the ‘rona :)
 
Last edited:

NeckBeard

n00b
Joined
Mar 24, 2020
Messages
1
I just built a new box using this board over the weekend and had the same issue with it refusing to power on. It happened to coincide with me futzing with fans and airflow and I thought a had a short or my new PSU was dead.

Thanks for posting this and saving me further frustration.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
16,805
I just built a new box using this board over the weekend and had the same issue with it refusing to power on. It happened to coincide with me futzing with fans and airflow and I thought a had a short or my new PSU was dead.

Thanks for posting this and saving me further frustration.
welcome to [H]!!
 

cold_steel

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
487
Update all - I actually just had this issue recur on my board. (It's been a little over a month since the first time.) Exact same symptoms.

I'm up and running again, but wanted to update my findings.

This time I killed power to my PSU, removed my vidcard, pulled batt for a few, reinstalled everything, no joy.

So I killed power, pulled vid card again, this time also cleared CMOS - this time she booted up when everything was back in.

The thing of note this time is that I seemed to need to clear CMOS along with removing the battery.

I had cleared CMOS on go 'round #1 in the course of troubleshooting, but things didn't work until I yanked the battery - in this instance it looks like CMOS definitely needed to be cleared as well.

I hope Gigabyte corrects this BIOS - will be super fun to need to yank my vidcard on a monthly basis :)
 
Last edited:

Spartacus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
1,973
Not bashing Gigabyte, but will just mention this....

Had to be almost 20 years ago, bought a Gigabyte mobo and it had chronic cold boot problems.
Same kind of thing you are talking about here.

Did an exchange for a new one with the vendor and that one had the same problem.

Replaced it with another brand (probably Abit or Supermicro at the time) and no more problems.

Haven't bought a Gigabyte mobo since then.

.
 

cold_steel

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
487
Not bashing Gigabyte, but will just mention this....

Had to be almost 20 years ago, bought a Gigabyte mobo and it had chronic cold boot problems.
Same kind of thing you are talking about here.

Did an exchange for a new one with the vendor and that one had the same problem.

Replaced it with another brand (probably Abit or Supermicro at the time) and no more problems.

Haven't bought a Gigabyte mobo since then.

.
I was originally an Abit fan, then they went out of business. Switched to DFI, they went out of business. Then switched to Gigabyte- and I’ve honestly had great luck with their boards (this is my 5th or 6th one) until this fun.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
4
Ok, so it happened again to me this morning. Had to unplug the power, take the GPU out again and take that battery out for 10 minutes. That means that so far for me it is happening once per week and the solution isn't exactly practical if my wife needs to use the computer when I'm out and it won't start. It looks like there are loads of people having similar issues:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/e652k3 https://www.reddit.com/r/gigabyte/comments/evtgnk https://www.reddit.com/r/gigabyte/comments/focj54
My problem with it is that it has happened twice in two weeks - clearly there is an issue with the board (I wouldn't mind so much if it was a one off occurrence). Also some of the people in the above posts are saying that taking the battery out doesn't work for them and the board is dead, but the symptoms aside from that are the same. I'm guessing that if the root cause is the same in all cases then taking the battery out might only work a finite amount of times before the board dies entirely.

I'm going to try to take the RMA route, perhaps change to a crosshair or something - saying that really upsets me because I really like the board aside from this issue.
 

cold_steel

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
487
Ok, so it happened again to me this morning. Had to unplug the power, take the GPU out again and take that battery out for 10 minutes. That means that so far for me it is happening once per week and the solution isn't exactly practical if my wife needs to use the computer when I'm out and it won't start. It looks like there are loads of people having similar issues:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/e652k3 https://www.reddit.com/r/gigabyte/comments/evtgnk https://www.reddit.com/r/gigabyte/comments/focj54
My problem with it is that it has happened twice in two weeks - clearly there is an issue with the board (I wouldn't mind so much if it was a one off occurrence). Also some of the people in the above posts are saying that taking the battery out doesn't work for them and the board is dead, but the symptoms aside from that are the same. I'm guessing that if the root cause is the same in all cases then taking the battery out might only work a finite amount of times before the board dies entirely.

I'm going to try to take the RMA route, perhaps change to a crosshair or something - saying that really upsets me because I really like the board aside from this issue.
I wonder if they are also clearing cmos- that was the missing piece for me the other day when removing batt didn’t work. Luckily I bought an extended replacement plan with Microcenter in case this gets worse.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
4
I wonder if they are also clearing cmos- that was the missing piece for me the other day when removing batt didn’t work. Luckily I bought an extended replacement plan with Microcenter in case this gets worse.
Yeah, I forgot to mention, I pressed the reset CMOS button on the back before taking the battery out, because I wondered whether pressing and holding the reset CMOS battery button for a minute or so would fix it without having to take the battery out, but it didn't work, so I took the battery out. I tried putting the power switch on a couple of minutes later (to see if the red power light lit up), but the board was still dead, so I left the power off on it for a good 10 minutes before popping the battery back in and trying again, the second time it worked though.

I must admit, I am concerned that they haven't been able to fix the issue so far via a BIOS patch. The other thing is, all of the cases that I have found where people have reported the specs of their machines, the CPU has always been either a 3900x or 3950x. Perhaps I've missed some other cases, but I'm wondering if despite the good VRM's, there is a power issue (or some other issue) with CPU's that have more than 8 cores? It's just speculation for now, but, to help test the theory and rule out any other hardware related correlation, anyone that is having the same issue, please can you report your full hardware specs here? I'll provide mine now.

CPU: Ryzen 9 3950x
Cooler: Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360 AIO (don't expect the cooler is an issue via the CPU cooler PWM header, but thought I'd mention just in case)
MB: Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
RAM: 32GB (16GB x 2) Corsair Vengence RGB Pro CMW32GX4M2C3200C16
GPU: MSI RTX 2080 Duke
PSU: Seasonic Prime TX-750
Case: Fractal Define 7 XL - all front ports plugged in to headers (don't expect the case ports are an issue, but thought I'd list the case anyway, just in case)
SSD's: Samsung 850 EVO (250GB), 2 x PNY 240GB CS900 - need to get bigger storage lol

I've just got an RMA number, so over the next couple of days, I expect I'll end up sending my MB back, I'll let you know what happens.
 
Last edited:

cold_steel

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
487
Yeah, I forgot to mention, I pressed the reset CMOS button on the back before taking the battery out, because I wondered whether pressing and holding the reset CMOS battery button for a minute or so would fix it without having to take the battery out, but it didn't work, so I took the battery out. I tried putting the power switch on a couple of minutes later (to see if the red power light lit up), but the board was still dead, so I left the power off on it for a good 10 minutes before popping the battery back in and trying again, the second time it worked though.

I must admit, I am concerned that they haven't been able to fix the issue so far via a BIOS patch. The other thing is, all of the cases that I have found where people have reported the specs of their machines, the CPU has always been either a 3900x or 3950x. Perhaps I've missed some other cases, but I'm wondering if despite the good VRM's, there is a power issue (or some other issue) with CPU's that have more than 8 cores? It's just speculation for now, but, to help test the theory and rule out any other hardware related correlation, anyone that is having the same issue, please can you report your full hardware specs here? I'll provide mine now.

CPU: Ryzen 9 3950x
Cooler: Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360 AIO (don't expect the cooler is an issue via the CPU cooler PWM header, but thought I'd mention just in case)
MB: Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
RAM: 32GB (16GB x 2) Corsair Vengence RGB Pro CMW32GX4M2C3200C16
GPU: MSI RTX 2080 Duke
PSU: Seasonic Prime TX-750
Case: Fractal Define 7 XL - all front ports plugged in to headers (don't expect the case ports are an issue, but thought I'd list the case anyway, just in case)
SSD's: Samsung 850 EVO (250GB), 2 x PNY 240GB CS900 - need to get bigger storage lol

I've just got an RMA number, so over the next couple of days, I expect I'll end up sending my MB back, I'll let you know what happens.
Good luck with the new board! I honestly wonder if the Coronavirus shutdowns have slowed efforts from the Chinese Gigabyte dev teams to come up with a BIOS fix.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2020
Messages
4
Good luck with the new board! I honestly wonder if the Coronavirus shutdowns have slowed efforts from the Chinese Gigabyte dev teams to come up with a BIOS fix.
Thanks - I still haven't quite decided what to do, whether to stick with an Aorus Master, or go to Asus or MSI or something. I'd love to stick with the Master, but thinking that if it is batch related, I'm probably better switching to something else - I'll see what the options are. Yeah, that's definitely very possible with respect to the Gigabyte dev teams.
 

Niner21

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 26, 2018
Messages
184
I was originally an Abit fan, then they went out of business. Switched to DFI, they went out of business. Then switched to Gigabyte- and I’ve honestly had great luck with their boards (this is my 5th or 6th one) until this fun.
This is the same path I took. Gigabyte boards have been solid for me since DFI went out.
 

illaghee

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
428
This same crap happens on the X570 Aorus Ultra as well, on mine its probably once a week, go to press the power, everything spins up, all lights all fans full blast but no vga...

whats happening on mine is since there are no dip switches to decide on what bios to use, its driving itself crazy auto picking one and another and so forth. so it never boots. just stays on full blast.

i had to use that no vga bios update feature, and upgrade both bios to the same version, once u upgrade one and not the other, goes buck crazy again.

once you have both bios same version, if u turn the power on and its starts its finicky shit, shut power off a few secs then re plug back in and boots back to normal, untill sometime next week, when it looses its shit again.

i hate this fucking board.. wish id kept the gaming 7 before this one.. that shit was rock solid..

rma right now is a hoop dream..
 

cold_steel

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
487
This same crap happens on the X570 Aorus Ultra as well, on mine its probably once a week, go to press the power, everything spins up, all lights all fans full blast but no vga...

whats happening on mine is since there are no dip switches to decide on what bios to use, its driving itself crazy auto picking one and another and so forth. so it never boots. just stays on full blast.

i had to use that no vga bios update feature, and upgrade both bios to the same version, once u upgrade one and not the other, goes buck crazy again.

once you have both bios same version, if u turn the power on and its starts its finicky shit, shut power off a few secs then re plug back in and boots back to normal, untill sometime next week, when it looses its shit again.

i hate this fucking board.. wish id kept the gaming 7 before this one.. that shit was rock solid..

rma right now is a hoop dream..
So this sounds like slightly different (but still crappy) behavior - in the cases I’ve looked at there is no indication power is on at all- no fans and the power light on the onboard power button goes dark as well. In these cases it looks like a cmos reset and pulling the battery is needed - pulling just power doesn’t help at all.
 
Top