Gigabyte EasyTune ok to OC with?

sugosugita

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,971
As far as I can tell it's a somewhat playskool way of OCing without wading into the BIOS and messing with stuff manually.

What's the general opinion? good? bad? ok?
 

Boyo

Gawd
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
626
Don't have a gigabyte, but I generally would recommend overclocking in the BIOS.
 

Mickey21

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
442
Easytune is ok and in saying that it is just "okay". It is better sure if you know how to and want to go through the trouble of researching how to do it properly, but many dont have the time or the will or the knowledge to do it right. Good on Gigabyte to make an application to make it easy, but if you do have the knowledge or patience to do it yourself, you will virtually always come out with a better overclock if you tweak it yourself.
 

jiminator

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Messages
11,607
ya, you can try the 3 presets, and if that is all you want, and they work and are stable, then you are gold. If however you are not stable, then I would go to the bios, reset it and start from there. Overall the tool seems to have conservative settings and the memory voltages may be lower than what is necessary.
 

sugosugita

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,971
and by stable you mean pass an 8-ish hour prime95 test or something similar?
 

sn0man

Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
609
It's more of an aid in making small adjustments and testing while within Windows, rather than having to restart every time.

For final overclocks, I'd suggest always using BIOS settings.
 

MISMCSA

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 6, 2001
Messages
2,173
It's more of an aid in making small adjustments and testing while within Windows, rather than having to restart every time.

For final overclocks, I'd suggest always using BIOS settings.

+1 This is how I've used it in the past. Ideally it could save you some time on getting started.
 
Top