Gigabyte Aorus X570 Master, bad luck or bad run?

JosiahBradley

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
1,787
I'm about to be on my third Gigabyte Aorus X570 Master. The first one died in 45 seconds. The second lasted long enough to test my 3950x. Now it just won't power on. It's not the PSU as I've tried 2 different Seasonics one being brand new. I've tried a 3800x and 3950x in this board. First the sound card died, all the analog ports produced nothing, but the optical did work. So probably just the DAC. Then I go to turn it on and it's completely dead. No LEDs or anything. Reading reviews all over, this seems extremely common for this board and across x570 from gigabyte this round. I'm not sure what to do but try a third one and hope it doesn't fail outside the return window. I'm kinda bummed as the feature set on this board was basically perfect.
 

mda

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
1,763
2 in quick succession. I'm guessing something else is killing your board unless you got a super early bad batch. I've heard that Gigabyte has cleaned up their game for the X570 series.

A case short? Bad PSU?
 

Travolta

Gawd
Joined
Sep 19, 2004
Messages
664
I just returned a Gigabyte AORUS X570 Pro WiFi board because it wouldn’t save any bios settings, wouldn’t boot, and when it did, Bluetooth and WiFi wouldn’t show in device manager. Tried flashing the bios, changing the battery, nothing worked. Sent it back and got an MSI MEG X570 ACE board and everything is great.
 

thecold

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Messages
407
I've had the x570 master for awhile. It works fine. I did have some issue's at first, it's super, super picky about memory timings.

some observations

One time it wouldn't turn on, had to reset the bios. Thought it died, hit the bios reset again and removed power.
A couple times it would boot loop (like memory training forever, ever, ever)
*note* It has an insanely long memory retraining

in the earlier bios's setting xmp wouldn't set the correct voltage (and obviously crash)

******************************************************************************

One of the times the bios had fixed the problem, but then the board randomly booted to the 2nd bios

******************************************************************************


That said I've had decent luck with 1.10 and 1.11. I updated both bios's to the same version. I also set static timings in the bios (known good ones) and haven't had a problem in awhile.
 

JosiahBradley

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
1,787
2 in quick succession. I'm guessing something else is killing your board unless you got a super early bad batch. I've heard that Gigabyte has cleaned up their game for the X570 series.

A case short? Bad PSU?
Like I've said I tried 2 different PSUs, 2 different CPUs and this was tested on an anti static bag before use.

If it's a case short that's pretty impressive as there really hasn't been time to get any dust or metal behind the Mobo. I gotta rip out everything anyhow to test so maybe it'll work again...

I've cleared the bios, tried all power tricks, unplugged everything I could. It just has no sign of life. No sound, no lights, just brick like.
 

JosiahBradley

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
1,787
Anti static bags can be conductive.
Well fuck. I'm going to just use my switch. All these years of building PCs has eaten away my soul. This was my greatest build ever and I can't do something as simple as get a working motherboard.
 

JosiahBradley

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
1,787
Try it on a piece of cardboard or a test bench.
I will be, after I tear down everything. Drain the loop etc. Sadly I messed up on the loop design as my top rad doesn't have a fill port so it's nearly impossible to drain.
 

thecold

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Messages
407
Well fuck. I'm going to just use my switch. All these years of building PCs has eaten away my soul. This was my greatest build ever and I can't do something as simple as get a working motherboard.

Sometimes I feel this way. lol.
 

JosiahBradley

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
1,787
Loop drained. Mobo on cardboard. Only plugged in 24pin 8pin CPU and one stick of RAM. Still no lights or power. Tried with both 8 pins, no 8pins, just 24pin. No ram, etc. Removed CMOS battery, reinstalled CMOS battery. Tried different PSU cables even. Tried second PSU. No combination works.

It's dead Jim!

Going for board 3. It's been almost 2 months without a PC with returning parts etc.
 

thecold

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Messages
407
Loop drained. Mobo on cardboard. Only plugged in 24pin 8pin CPU and one stick of RAM. Still no lights or power. Tried with both 8 pins, no 8pins, just 24pin. No ram, etc. Removed CMOS battery, reinstalled CMOS battery. Tried different PSU cables even. Tried second PSU. No combination works.

It's dead Jim!

Going for board 3. It's been almost 2 months without a PC with returning parts etc.

That sucks, was it an rma replacement or just new from retailer?
 

JosiahBradley

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
1,787
That sucks, was it an rma replacement or just new from retailer?
Both have been new in box. Using Amazon returns. It's just so odd it's the exact same issue for both even with completely different hardware otherwise.
 

§kynet

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
397
From what I've read this board has a very high failure rate something like 1 out of 5. Other X570 GigaByte boards have been flaky as well or outright die including one I had the Aorus Wifi it was okay at first except had a cold boot problem. After a few days the board wouldn't post at all. RMA'd and got the Asus ROG Strix E-Gaming, more than I wanted to spend on a board but it's been working great.

Sucks because I've always liked GigaByte boards but their X570 lineup is trouble I'd avoid.
 

JosiahBradley

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
1,787
Amazon decided not to send me another replacement and instead refunded me. I've decided to get the Asus crosshair VIII Hero. Now my rig will be very ROG lol.
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
5,796
Amazon decided not to send me another replacement and instead refunded me. I've decided to get the Asus crosshair VIII Hero. Now my rig will be very ROG lol.
You should have gotten the Strix-E. It has essentially same vrm as CH but w/o its issues and its loaded and cheap... er.
 

JosiahBradley

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
1,787
You should have gotten the Strix-E. It has essentially same vrm as CH but w/o its issues and its loaded and cheap... er.
Ah! I did not know this. I don't think I've ever run an Asus board honestly, so not familiar with the product segmentation here. Started with DFI, Abit, MSI, and Gigabyte over the years.

Well lets hope those extra 20A power stages on the SoC make the crosshair worth it lol. I do need to pump FCLK 1900 and high speed RAM so maybe it'll help 🤷‍♂️
 

thecold

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Messages
407
Ah! I did not know this. I don't think I've ever run an Asus board honestly, so not familiar with the product segmentation here. Started with DFI, Abit, MSI, and Gigabyte over the years.

Well lets hope those extra 20A power stages on the SoC make the crosshair worth it lol. I do need to pump FCLK 1900 and high speed RAM so maybe it'll help 🤷‍♂️

From a realistic standpoint, no. From (I love to pretend my x570 is the best) Certainly. :p
 
Top