GIGABYTE AORUS FV43U 43 inch 4k 144 HDR1000 QLED monitor

Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
680
I don't believe the display port 1.4 connection has any perceivable loss or lossy compression. At least not to my eyes. I would just go displayport 1.4 with dsc @ 144hz and not worry about a thing, which is what I did.
Technically DSC is a lossy form of compression. VESA claims it is "visually lossless". I certainly can't really notice any compression artifacts. During static images and probably low framerate content, there should be no compression artifacts. In high framerate content where frame to frame changes are significant, there is potential for compression artifacts. But it's going to be hard to notice. Especially on LCD displays where response times are slow enough to hide some of the frame to frame variation. Even on unnamed faster displays, it's probably going to be hard to notice without BFI. Even with BFI, it'll take a keener eye than most of us have.

This explains a good bit about how it works: https://www.quantumdata.com/assets/displayport_dsc_protocols_webinar.pdf

Now in the case of the Gigabyte / Aorus monitors, the HDMI port is limited to 24gbps, so no matter what input you're using, you need DSC to get the high frame rates and bit depth. A full bandwidth HDMI2.1 port can transmit an uncompressed 4k120 signal at 12-bit (but not 4k144). And DisplayPort 2.0 should be capable of the same. But there's going to be continued demand for higher resolutions and refresh rates. The bandwidth required for uncompressed signals is pushing the limits of what we can do with copper, so DSC type technologies are here to stay.
 
Last edited:

xDiVolatilX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
340
I'll accept that if you also concede that trying to say it's perfect and amazing and the best thing since sliced tiger bread over and over is equally as annoying.
Haha fair enough It's just that I have waited YEARS for a 144hz DSC Gsync HDR 2160p large display It's literally a dream come true for me xD

Wait what's tiger bread? Am I missing out? Lol
 
Last edited:

xDiVolatilX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
340
Technically DSC is a lossy form of compression. VESA claims it is "visually lossless". I certainly can't really notice any compression artifacts. During static images and probably low framerate content, there should be no compression artifacts. In high framerate content where frame to frame changes are significant, there is potential for compression artifacts. But it's going to be hard to notice. Especially on LCD displays where response times are slow enough to hide some of the frame to frame variation. Even on unnamed faster displays, it's probably going to be hard to notice without BFI. Even with BFI, it'll take a keener eye than most of us have.

This explains a good bit about how it works: https://www.quantumdata.com/assets/displayport_dsc_protocols_webinar.pdf

Now in the case of the Gigabyte / Aorus monitors, the HDMI port is limited to 24gbps, so no matter what input you're using, you need DSC to get the high frame rates and bit depth. A full bandwidth HDMI2.1 port can transmit an uncompressed 4k120 signal at 12-bit (but not 4k144). And DisplayPort 2.0 should be capable of the same. But there's going to be continued demand for higher resolutions and refresh rates. The bandwidth required for uncompressed signals is pushing the limits of what we can do with copper, so DSC type technologies are here to stay.
I waited years for DSC. So glad It is here. It is literally the reason I bought the Aorus [along with Its other features] because without DSC i would have passed.
 

Wiz33

Gawd
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
753
If it gives other current and potential users of this thing the real performance levels and issues then I'd say every vent is worth it, especially if the issue is universal.

I for one wish I had known a lot more about the FV43U before purchasing - I would have waited a little more.

Things is. With most thing online being worth a grain of salt. Reading about all the potential issues is worthless as usually most happy user don't bother to post on forums except those of us into the latest gadgets so it's natural to see more negative reviews than positive. Also. Only you can judge if a potential issue is something you can live with. So as long as you can buy it from a retailer with a reasonable return policy. Just buy one and try it out.
 

xDiVolatilX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
340
Experimenting with different settings I'm saving to "SAVE 1" (you can save 3 different settings combinations in OSD) in OSD feel free to try it. Looks awesome very vibrant and visibility of the lights & darks are wonderful.

HDR GAME press ----> *right* on remote or joystick on monitor for additional "picture" options
Brightness10
Contrast 50
Sharpness 5
Black Equalizer 10
Color Vibrance 10
Gamma st2084 (or gamma 3 in sidekick)
Color temp NORMAL (in sidekick)
HDR ON in OSD & Windows 10 with HDR video content ON also.
Adaptive Sync ON
Display Mode FULL
Dashboard ON
Overdrive BALANCE
OSD ON
OSD Transparency 20%
OSD Location BOTTOM RIGHT
LED Indicator ON
Dark Enhance ON
Color Enhance 2
Light Enhance 1
Local Dimming ON
RGB autodetect ON
Overscan OFF
Low Blue Light 0
Super Resolution 0
Aim Stabilzer OFF
Freesync ON (in sidekick)
Corsshair OFF
Game Counter OFF
Refresh Rate OFF
Gaming Timer OFF
Bios Firmware Version F04


Now try these exact settings using this demo as a tester & notice how you can see ALL the detail in both the highlights & in the darks. These settings are amazing for HDR content.
 
Last edited:

Wiz33

Gawd
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
753
It's relative. Someone could be in the position for spend $1k on a luxury as long as it's something that works well and they can expect to get a reasonable amount of life from. Doesn't mean they'd be willing to spend another $1k if something better came out next month. And I don't think it's unreasonable to expect a $1k monitor (which outside of professional displays is fairly high end in the current market) to not have many issues.

I'm pretty comfortable financially, but certainly still expect some level of quality control when I'm paying hard earned money on what's billed as a high-end device. And I certainly understand the frustration with monitors being available today just not being *that* much better than what you could get 15-20 years ago. Hell, in some ways I still feel my old NEC 20WMGX2 is better than some modern monitors.

And I'll say that barring getting a unit with major defects. it's a very nice monitor except for people that only play fast FPS games. The fact that it performs better than the ASUS and Acer 43" and cost 30% less is kinda a surprise for Gigabyte's initial foray into the monitor market too.

In a way, LCD manufacturing core tech have not really change. They have improved a lot but no real breakthrough (well VA and Quantum Dot may qualify depending on how you look at it) but the same problems like banding and DSE still persist but you can say that there's been no breakthrough about that other technology also. It is kinda discouraging. Why do you think one of the most active thread here is people hanging on the last CRT (FW900) for their dear life.
 
Last edited:

Wiz33

Gawd
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
753
Experimenting with different settings I'm saving to "SAVE 1" (you can save 3 different settings combinations in OSD) in OSD feel free to try it. Looks awesome very vibrant and visibility of the lights & darks are wonderful.

HDR GAME press ----> *right* on remote or joystick on monitor for additional "picture" options
Brightness10
Contrast 50
Sharpness 5
Black Equalizer 10
Color Vibrance 10
Gamma st2084 (or gamma 3 in sidekick)
Color temp NORMAL (in sidekick)
HDR ON in OSD & Windows 10 with HDR video content ON also.
Adaptive Sync ON
Display Mode FULL
Dashboard ON
Overdrive BALANCE
OSD ON
OSD Transparency 20%
OSD Location BOTTOM RIGHT
LED Indicator ON
Dark Enhance ON
Color Enhance 2
Light Enhance 1
Local Dimming ON
RGB autodetect ON
Overscan OFF
Low Blue Light 0
Super Resolution 0
Aim Stabilzer OFF
Freesync ON (in sidekick)
Corsshair OFF
Game Counter OFF
Refresh Rate OFF
Gaming Timer OFF
Bios Firmware Version F04


Now try these exact settings using this demo as a tester & notice how you can see ALL the detail in both the highlights & in the darks. These settings are amazing for HDR content.


It's kinda funny that you choose a Demo from the manufacturer of that other technology 😁. If you want dark details. I would use this one instead. You'll see a bit of black crush on the horse that's not present on my Q90T but that just means it really push the FV's default settings. Play with your setting and see if you reduce the black crush.





You'll also notice that demo from for that other technology generally are darker environment, in door and very little natural sunlight and they're very careful to keep the bright highlights in the 10%-25% range while ones for QLED like these 2 shows a lot more outdoor footage with much brighter highlights over a larger area even in the evening shots.

 
Last edited:

Maty

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2021
Messages
15
Have you used a DSC connection before? If not I would not worry about it. I honestly do not see any difference on picture quality on my 3080 between DP 1.4 @144 , DP 1.4@120 and HDMI 2.1 @120.
Until now I didn't have a DSC as I only had 60Hz 4k monitors.
But I'm used to the very good image quality from IPS (LG 43UD79).
I'm curious what the VA panel will be like.
 

KRiSX

n00b
Joined
Apr 25, 2012
Messages
18
What volume level do you have the FV set at? Looks like it unless both cable is being route through something that generate a lot of EM noise.
My optical cable arrived today, swapped my solo 5c's for my edifier r2000db's and my audio problems are solved. I can have the display speakers set to 0 (unlike when using analogue output) and I'm not getting any weirdness, even when using analogue audio out I would notice some weird distortion before sound came out clearly for a split second (easy to reproduce navigating the series x dash), now it's absolutely perfect with optical out 😁
 

Maty

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2021
Messages
15
The monitor itself has indeed no optical output right?
If the normal line out outputs not used, the KVM only works without sounds :(
 

asilva54

n00b
Joined
Jun 9, 2021
Messages
2
Does anyone have the issue where if you try to play a video, such as just a random stream like espn or twitch via browser, but you start playing it on a SECOND monitor, the Aorus goes black, and your computer sort of retects it? its driving me crazy.

- 3080 TI - has just the aorus and another 4k monitor
- spare 1050ti - has the 3rd monitor and yamaha avr for 5.1

I have tried just reducing it down to 2 monitors on the 3080 ti and always get the issue. Using DP cable. I got one of the 8k hdmi cables on order to see if that helps.
 

Wiz33

Gawd
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
753
The monitor itself has indeed no optical output right?
If the normal line out outputs not used, the KVM only works without sounds :(

The line out port also support optical cable connection. read the post above yours. The headphone out is analog
 
Last edited:

Roen

n00b
Joined
Aug 7, 2021
Messages
45
Does anyone have the issue where if you try to play a video, such as just a random stream like espn or twitch via browser, but you start playing it on a SECOND monitor, the Aorus goes black, and your computer sort of retects it? its driving me crazy.
Is G-sync set to both windowed and fullscreen? If so, set G-sync to fullscreen only.

If it's not that, what comes to mind is: I launched a game on my primary QHD (144Hz) monitor, a game that likes to determine what refresh rate is used, causing the secondary (60Hz) monitor to go blank for a second "mode changing" into the mode it was already in: 1080p60. Suggesting something on your 2nd monitor is causing a mode change / re-setting of the current mode for some reason. Which makes little sense for a video in a browser to do, but ... my 2ct.
 
Last edited:

Senn

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
176
A full bandwidth HDMI2.1 port can transmit an uncompressed 4k120 signal at 12-bit (but not 4k144).
I have a personal preference for 120Hz anyway as videos of 24, 30, 60 and the rare 120fps can all go in without judder. With 144 your typical 30fps YouTube video will have judder and once seen it's as annoying as 24 into 60.
 

Wiz33

Gawd
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
753
Until now I didn't have a DSC as I only had 60Hz 4k monitors.
But I'm used to the very good image quality from IPS (LG 43UD79).
I'm curious what the VA panel will be like.

I came from a Acer B326HK IPS to the Acer CG437K then to the FV43U and the FV is superior in pretty all aspect except for the VA color shift at the edge if your viewing distance is under 36" and the corner is a bit dimmer than the rest of the screen. I have no problem with text at 100% and I actually do a bit of work on it. About the only thing this needs is a set of ambient LED lights on the back to reduce eye strain and I got me a set of this:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07W4FWP5Z/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1
 

Maty

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2021
Messages
15
Oh, is it really that bad with the VA color shifts because of the viewing angle?
And sit quite close to it. approx 20 - 30'' (ips).
Then VA is probably a bad idea ... :(
 

xDiVolatilX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
340
Oh, is it really that bad with the VA color shifts because of the viewing angle?
And sit quite close to it. approx 20 - 30'' (ips).
Then VA is probably a bad idea ... :(
Lol no dude It's nothing to worry about at all. I don't notice anything, never have never will. Only if you're obsessive and go looking for things only then will you find them. I use my monitor for 4k gaming 4k HDR videos & movies & I never notice anything. You're all gravy baby :)
 

Wiz33

Gawd
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
753
Oh, is it really that bad with the VA color shifts because of the viewing angle?
And sit quite close to it. approx 20 - 30'' (ips).
Then VA is probably a bad idea ... :(

Just being honest. It's there if you look for it. But not to the degree of distraction. It's already better than the CG437K which came out only 1 year ago.
 
Last edited:

Wiz33

Gawd
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
753
oH... MY.... GAWD! The Las Vegas demo is mind blowing! Fantastic! my favorite demo so far in 2160p HDR the colors are mesmerizing!

Although the FV only does a bit over 1000 cd/m2 but this video still shows why having a much wider brightness range still matters and why I may pickup a 50" QN90A if I can re-arrange my desk to make it fit.

 

Maty

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2021
Messages
15
ah this calms me :)
... was already thinking about canceling the order.
And no - I don't want to look for it.
In addition to gaming and films, I also want to use it to do video and photo editing.
Well, as soon as it is finally there, I'll test it.
 

asilva54

n00b
Joined
Jun 9, 2021
Messages
2
Is G-sync set to both windowed and fullscreen? If so, set G-sync to fullscreen only.

If it's not that, what comes to mind is: I launched a game on my primary QHD (144Hz) monitor, a game that likes to determine what refresh rate is used, causing the secondary (60Hz) monitor to go blank for a second "mode changing" into the mode it was already in: 1080p60. Suggesting something on your 2nd monitor is causing a mode change / re-setting of the current mode for some reason. Which makes little sense for a video in a browser to do, but ... my 2ct.
great call - gonna turn it to full screen only. Bummer because i love borderless window for the alt-tab goodness, gonna test it now.
 

Aludan

n00b
Joined
Jun 22, 2021
Messages
18
Got my FV43U today :)
Compared to my old 32" 4K VA 60 Hz it's day and night.
Sharpness isn't as good as my old one even when i moved FV43 20 cm more to the end of desk but overall i like it :)
HDR 1000 is also very nice on it but i didn't have opportunity to see HDR od LG OLED (maybe better won't try it now :p)

Mine is from Mar 2021 and came with F2 firmware. I didn't have any problems upgrading it to F4.
It's also perfectly fine (pixels, build quality) so maybe Gigabyte fixed quality problems or i have luck :)
Btw i didn't see anyone mension it but stands are metal (heavy and cold) which feels very nice.
Remote control and sidekick are also great - this should be standard for all bigger monitors :)

HzD* on PS4 Pro looks great with HDR on :)

*i can't type upper case "z" (don't know why - even when copying from notepad++)
 

Attachments

  • HZD_FV43U.jpg
    HZD_FV43U.jpg
    137.2 KB · Views: 0
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
680
I have a personal preference for 120Hz anyway as videos of 24, 30, 60 and the rare 120fps can all go in without judder. With 144 your typical 30fps YouTube video will have judder and once seen it's as annoying as 24 into 60.
Yeah in theory VRR can solve that, but that doesn’t seem to be implemented for non-3D content. My monitor is 120hz anyway and I can’t say I notice a big difference between 120 and 144. Not really sure why 144 became the de facto “standard” in the pc market.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Senn
like this
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
680
Got my FV43U today :)
Compared to my old 32" 4K VA 60 Hz it's day and night.
Sharpness isn't as good as my old one even when i moved FV43 20 cm more to the end of desk but overall i like it :)
HDR 1000 is also very nice on it but i didn't have opportunity to see HDR od LG OLED (maybe better won't try it now :p)

Mine is from Mar 2021 and came with F2 firmware. I didn't have any problems upgrading it to F4.
It's also perfectly fine (pixels, build quality) so maybe Gigabyte fixed quality problems or i have luck :)
Btw i didn't see anyone mension it but stands are metal (heavy and cold) which feels very nice.
Remote control and sidekick are also great - this should be standard for all bigger monitors :)

HzD* on PS4 Pro looks great with HDR on :)

*i can't type upper case "z" (don't know why - even when copying from notepad++)

if you have a high end PC, you should try HZD on PC. 4k with all the settings maxed out at 80-100 fps is simply gorgeous with that game.
 

Senn

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
176
Yeah in theory VRR can solve that, but that doesn’t seem to be implemented for non-3D content. My monitor is 120hz anyway and I can’t say I notice a big difference between 120 and 144. Not really sure why 144 became the de facto “standard” in the pc market.
At a guess it came about through overclocking 120Hz panels, picking a refresh that still allows 24Hz content in without judder. Otherwise, not sure.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2021
Messages
31
ah this calms me :)
... was already thinking about canceling the order.
And no - I don't want to look for it.
In addition to gaming and films, I also want to use it to do video and photo editing.
Well, as soon as it is finally there, I'll test it.
You should be fine, if you are mostly gaming and content consumption, its hell of a screen. It gets really bright and if you are also in a bright room, it is brilliant. Viewing angles are nice too.

I noticed the dimness on the corners especially on one side but again it wasnt too bothersome unless it was white background, it caused the white uniformity to be bad, sort of like a vignette. I had issue as I use it for work and web browsing 50% (almost always white background, excel word etc..) of the time and the other 50% gaming, couldnt live with it but thank god for 14days return policy :)
 

xDiVolatilX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
340
Got my FV43U today :)
Compared to my old 32" 4K VA 60 Hz it's day and night.
Sharpness isn't as good as my old one even when i moved FV43 20 cm more to the end of desk but overall i like it :)
HDR 1000 is also very nice on it but i didn't have opportunity to see HDR od LG OLED (maybe better won't try it now :p)

Mine is from Mar 2021 and came with F2 firmware. I didn't have any problems upgrading it to F4.
It's also perfectly fine (pixels, build quality) so maybe Gigabyte fixed quality problems or i have luck :)
Btw i didn't see anyone mension it but stands are metal (heavy and cold) which feels very nice.
Remote control and sidekick are also great - this should be standard for all bigger monitors :)

HzD* on PS4 Pro looks great with HDR on :)

*i can't type upper case "z" (don't know why - even when copying from notepad++)
Congrats, contrast looks beautiful on it in that game wow.
 

Maty

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2021
Messages
15
The line out port also support optical cable connection. read the post above yours. The headphone out is analog

but according to the fv43u-description at gigabyte is the 3.5 audio connector, there fits none of my optical Toslink cable. Or are there optical 3.5 jack cables?
 
Last edited:

Maty

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2021
Messages
15
You should be fine, if you are mostly gaming and content consumption, its hell of a screen. It gets really bright and if you are also in a bright room, it is brilliant. Viewing angles are nice too.

I noticed the dimness on the corners especially on one side but again it wasnt too bothersome unless it was white background, it caused the white uniformity to be bad, sort of like a vignette. I had issue as I use it for work and web browsing 50% (almost always white background, excel word etc..) of the time and the other 50% gaming, couldnt live with it but thank god for 14days return policy :)

Perhaps the active local dimming or another setting is causing the uneven lighting a. vignette?

(amazon is really slow, ordered on saturday and still not shipped the aourus ... 🙄)
 
Last edited:

Wiz33

Gawd
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
753
but according to the fv43u-description at gigabyte is the 3.5 audio connector, there fits none of my optical Toslink cable. Or are there optical 3.5 jack cables?

The line out on the FV43U is an optical combo port. You'll need a 3.5mm to toshlink optical cable.

https://www.amazon.com/FosPower-Tos...ywords=3.5mm+to+toslink&qid=1630422338&sr=8-4

Read this posts. It's already working.

https://hardforum.com/threads/gigab...-hdr1000-qled-monitor.2009247/post-1045122281
 
Last edited:

Maty

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2021
Messages
15
Ah ok, a Toslink mini combo port.

Gigabyte didn't have an optical sound output in its Monitor features list 🙄 or I didn't see ...
 
Last edited:

Wiz33

Gawd
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
753
Perhaps the active local dimming or another setting is causing the uneven lighting a. vignette?

(amazon is really slow, ordered on saturday and still not shipped the aourus ... 🙄)

With a native contrast ratio of 5000:1 without local dimming. I actually turned local dimming off on mine since that is already better than pretty much all the IPS & TN panel on the market. The small number of zones is just not worth the trouble as the unit already have very deep black.

May want to check your order again. Did you get a arrival date estimate as the unit does not come up on search so they may have ran out. Newegg does have it in stock for $999 with a copy of Outriders.
 
Last edited:

Senn

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
176
I actually turned local dimming off on mine since that is already better than pretty much all the IPS & TN panel on the market.
When I set a Discord window to one half of the screen and the local dimming decides to slap an awful gradient of light to dark over it, it's pretty useless for desktop use anyway.
 

Maty

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2021
Messages
15
With a native contrast ratio of 5000:1 without local dimming. I actually turned local dimming off on mine since that is already better than pretty much all the IPS & TN panel on the market. The small number of zones is just not worth the trouble as the unit already have very deep black.

May want to check your order again. Did you get a arrival date estimate as the unit does not come up on search so they may have ran out. Newegg does have it in stock for $999 with a copy of Outriders.

yes the date is there: delivery Aug 31 - Sep 1🤔
well hope that you send it out today.
it's amazon.de - Just think that the monitor is very popular and it delays therefore ;)

What does the black equalizer do, can it be set to 0 for even better black values?
 

Aludan

n00b
Joined
Jun 22, 2021
Messages
18
Hmmm have anyone tried to connect a laptop to USB-C port in FV43U?
I have HP Elitebook 840 G6 + HP Thunderbolt Dock G2 which have many ports including USB-C with DP mode.
I've connected the dock using USB-C <> USB-C cable to the FV43U and it works for mouse and keyboard but not the display - i don't have this way any new monitor in Win10.
As far as i've read it should just work - no need to change anything ... but i never used USB-C with DP connection so i don't know if it's the monitor, laptop/dock or cable problem?

Ps. I'm trying to do it this way because my PC is connected over normal DP to the FV43U and this HP Dock doesn't have any HDMI output so for now i'm using converter from DP to HDMI and then to the FV43U + USB-C for M&K but it should all work over one USB-C cable :/
 
Top