Gigabit options?

kevinzak

Limp Gawd
I have an Alltel Huawei EC228 modem connected to a Cradlepoint MBR-1000 Mobile Broadband Modem. It is an awesome router and really simplifies using cellular broadband as a home internet source. I am a bit new to networking, so I have a question. I am in the process of turning a computer I recently replaced into a file/media server. Primarily I will be doing backups to it and streaming media (some of which is HD, the majority is not. but still, I would like to be future-proof to some extent) from it to three computers and eventually to a Slingbox on my TV.

The MBR-1000 has Wireless-N, but does not have Gigabit ethernet. What are my options as far as this goes? It will be entirely over LAN (and WLAN for the laptop, I guess, although laptop is not essential at the moment) so would a Gigabit switch thrown into the mix allow me to stream with Gigabit speeds (assuming I have Gigabit NICs in my PCs)? If so, where in the network do I put it?

Easy, just put the gigabit switch between the server and all the computers you want to stream to. Hook up the MBR-1000 to the switch as well. That should take care of everything.

Alright, good deal. One more wrench to throw in the works, for you, though.

My router has to remain in my upstairs office. It cannot be moved. There is also a computer in the office. I currently have a ~50ft ethernet cable running from my upstairs office to the office in my basement, where my computer is. I would like to have the server in the downstairs office, as well. I only have one ethernet cable running from the upstairs to the downstairs. Anyway to set this up so both of those computers get gigabit without running a second cable to the basement?