Getting 64% Packet Loss - What's causing this? (log file inside)

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by el bob, Jan 13, 2004.

  1. el bob

    el bob [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,178
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    PING 192.168.0.3 (192.168.0.3): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=0.5 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=3 ttl=128 time=0.2 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=4 ttl=128 time=0.3 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=7 ttl=128 time=0.3 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=13 ttl=128 time=0.5 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=14 ttl=128 time=0.5 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=15 ttl=128 time=0.2 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=17 ttl=128 time=0.4 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=18 ttl=128 time=0.5 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=19 ttl=128 time=0.2 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=20 ttl=128 time=0.2 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=25 ttl=128 time=0.5 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=27 ttl=128 time=0.2 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=28 ttl=128 time=0.3 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=29 ttl=128 time=0.4 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=30 ttl=128 time=0.1 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=46 ttl=128 time=0.4 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.0.3: icmp_seq=49 ttl=128 time=0.5 ms

    --- 192.168.0.3 ping statistics ---
    50 packets transmitted, 18 packets received, 64% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 0.1/0.3/0.5 ms

    I am getting this after doing a fresh install of Debian 3.0r2 on a computer with the following hardware:

    Pentium 3 500MHz
    2x 256MB PC133 RAM
    Asus P2B
    ATI RADEON 6500 VIVO
    Creative SoundBlaster Live!
    3Com 3C905-TX

    I've never had problems like this before.

    Could this be a bad cable?

    I think it's not the switch/port because I've tested that already.

    Could the NIC be dying?

    What's going on?

    TIA, el bob
     
  2. el bob

    el bob [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,178
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    TESTING RESULTS:

    I swapped cards with another known-working 3C905-TX and had the same problem.

    I changed PCI slots and had the same problem.

    I changed NIC to a Realtek 8139B based NIC and now have 0% packet loss.

    How much less reliable is the Realtek 8139B card than the 3C905?
     
  3. Zardoz

    Zardoz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,251
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Seems reltek more reliable in this case, but I bet this is some driver problem...
     
  4. FLECOM

    FLECOM Modder(ator) & [H]ardest Folder Evar Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,569
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    try manually configuring the speed/duplex on the 3com nic using the 3com configuration utility in dos

    this sounds like a duplex conflict
     
  5. skritch

    skritch 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,688
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2001
    You didn't happen to have more than one of the 3C905's in that machine did you? They're known to share (and step on) each other's memory space when you run more than one in a machine, causing all sorts of problems.
     
  6. TheOne&OnlyZeke

    TheOne&OnlyZeke 100% Irish

    Messages:
    10,191
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2000
    usually when you get that high a packet loss its either a faulty card or a duplex problem (thats if you have already ruled out your cable hub/switch etc..)

    since you've tried 2 3Com cards and both cause the same issue its prolly a duplex issue.
     
  7. Wrench00

    Wrench00 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,423
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    3C905-TX I hated those cards nothing but problems, even in windows they had probs. I prefer realtek 8139abc cards cause they work
     
  8. BakedA|aska

    BakedA|aska Gawd

    Messages:
    803
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Simplest things first.. Is this a cable you bought 'off the shelf', or made youself? And if it is the latter, what wiring scheme did you use? 568-A? 568-B? Not using the correct wiring scheme can cause mad packet loss when trying to run 100mbit full duplex connections. This has to do with the way the wires are twisted about each other in the jacketing.
     
  9. el bob

    el bob [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,178
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    I'm guessings it's a bootable DOS program? Thanks for the info, I'll look it up.

    I'm using a cable I made myself in accordance with 568-B.

    I never had more than one NIC in the machine at any time.

    Thanks for all the replies!!