get this 6200??

Discussion in 'nVidia Flavor' started by slunge, Feb 22, 2006.

  1. slunge

    slunge Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    216
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    hi all

    a quick question relating to a nvidia 6200...

    im looking for one to put in my media pc - preferably one that has at least the possibility of unlocking the extra pipelines...

    from what ive read, i need a 128bit memory'd card, and have the possibility of getting one of these:

    http://www.xpertvision.com.tw/en/products/nvvga_6200agp.html

    could anyone tell me if they think this is appropriate... only problem i have is the possibility of the thing being noisey in my media pc : X

    thanks for any input.

    S
     
  2. Borgschulze

    Borgschulze 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,560
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Depends what core it has...

    If it has a failed 6600 core then it should unlock...

    But it might have the native 6200 core and you would be screwed.
     
  3. slunge

    slunge Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    216
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    i did the same with my old 6800 agp vanilla before i went to pcie, thing is im not sure on this if it stands a chance as i know some dont stand a chance as they are built of nv44 chips, i was thinking the 128bit ddr2 ones were the ones that did stand a chance though?
     
  4. pxc

    pxc [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    33,064
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    Yep, rev A3 and older NV43-based 6200s can be unlocked to 8 pipelines. One quad comes disabled.

    NV44A (native AGP) 6200 cards cannot be unlocked. The NV44A only has 2x2 native pipelines with nothing to unlock.

    If you can't see a separate heatsink for the bridge chip, the card is most likely uses NV44A.

    an example of each type...
    NV43 6200: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130226
    NV44A 6200: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814133151

    Despite what you may read, all NV44A cards have a 64-bit memory bus. If you can verify with certainty that a 6200 AGP has 128-bit memory, you will know that card uses the NV43 core.
     
  5. slunge

    slunge Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    216
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    nice post,

    thanks for your help... the one im looking at has ddr2 onboard and im fairly sure it has the 128bit bus, only reason im on the case is it costs the same as the nv44 versions so i figure its worth the gamble really ;)
     
  6. slunge

    slunge Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    216
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
  7. slunge

    slunge Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    216
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
  8. pxc

    pxc [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    33,064
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
  9. THRaKaTTaK

    THRaKaTTaK n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    I am new to this forum.

    I have been searching posts for awhile looking for a budget video card upgrade.

    My current system is quite dated. It is an AMD Athlon XP 2100+(1.73Ghz), 1GB PC2100 DDR and I am using an NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200.

    From what I have read, it seems that the older NV43 GPU Geforce 6200 would be a good choice because I can unlock the additional pipelines for increased performance.

    I searched newegg.com for the 6200 and found this. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814190010

    I just want to know if this is the unlockable NV43 GPU and if this would be a good upgrade for my current setup. It's not the usual "gamer" application, but I am trying to get better playability from EverQuest2.

    Thanks,
    Jacob
     
  10. Peach

    Peach Gawd

    Messages:
    994
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    That probably wont unlock as it doesnt have the older 6200 core. You want to find one with a bridge chip on it.
     
  11. ServerKing

    ServerKing [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    slunge abd ttak chk ur pms sent you some info....