GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'nVidia Flavor' started by DPI, Mar 1, 2017.

  1. Supercharged_Z06

    Supercharged_Z06 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,516
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    AIO... Wut!? Come'on, this is [H]... you want those puppies in a full, custom loop! :D (Especially since they are SLI'ed!)

    +196 on my GPU and +400 on my VRAM is my 24/7 setting (Pascal Titan X Pascal though).

    Anyone with a 1080Ti have it waterblocked yet and holding a solid 2.1Ghz on the GPU yet? The OC numbers I'm seeing so far for most 1080Ti OCs tend to hover just below 2Ghz.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
    heatlesssun likes this.
  2. Syphon Filter

    Syphon Filter 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,588
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
  3. ghostwich

    ghostwich [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,291
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    The voltage trick works only with MSI Afterburner right?
     
  4. Etherton

    Etherton [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,843
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    For the Nvidia branded 1080Ti FE, what app are you guys running to overclock? One better than the other? The last several cycles I have ran EVGA and always used theirs.
     
  5. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,282
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    MSI Afterburner works with everything, even AMD cards.
     
    Armenius and Etherton like this.
  6. BroHamBone

    BroHamBone [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,017
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    I believe so.
     
    ghostwich likes this.
  7. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ardOCP Motherboard Editor

    Messages:
    50,922
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I found one review where the numbers were identical to what I'm seeing. Using the ultra-preset without touching anything I'm getting the following results:

    FPS:
    Average:
    59.47
    Min: 42.96
    Max: 68.18

    This is what I was getting a couple days ago. I'm not sure what changed. According to the benchmark reports the settings are the same. I suspect this is because my boost clocks probably weren't very good due to me running the fans at stock speeds. I've increased their speed somewhat in MSI Afterburner. I didn't verify this so I'm just guessing.

    FPS:
    Average:
    52.30
    Min: 35.82
    Max: 59.76

    Here is what I got with Turf turned off and FXAA instead of Temporal AA.

    FPS:
    Average:
    59.37
    Min: 43.78
    Max: 66.60

    There is almost no change. The CPU usage reports as 21.3% consistently. GPU usage fluctuates between 78% and 92%. RAM usage is around 4.5GB.

    Again, I'm seeing benchmarks online that are generally within the same performance range as what I'm seeing. The video in post #262 seems to indicate their test was in a different part of the game than where I'm at. I'm thinking this accounts for the difference. What's interesting to me is that they are using a non-OC'ed Core i7 7700K and DDR4 3200MHz RAM. That suggests in this particular case that Kaby Lake at higher RAM frequencies might be better than having more cores in this game despite it reaching into more than four. We've seen similar behavior out of other games so it isn't entirely unexpected.
     
    Savoy and heatlesssun like this.
  8. Prophecy

    Prophecy [H]Lite

    Messages:
    119
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    I think I mentioned earlier in this thread that even w/ the 1080ti Forza Horizon 3 can't maintain 60fps. Well... I turned off MSAA and downsampled from double my native resolution (5120x2880). The game now runs at a damn-near rock solid 60fps and looks way better than it did with multisampling. It drops a frame or two here and there in the jungle but it's imperceptible from a gameplay perspective.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2017
    Armenius, Savoy and Maddness like this.
  9. Maddness

    Maddness Gawd

    Messages:
    680
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Damn, that looks good
     
    Prophecy likes this.
  10. wyqtor

    wyqtor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    233
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Personally I wonder how much CPU bottleneck I would have with this and an i7-4770K at 4.4 GHz... My target would be 1080p (preferrably with some DSR) @ 144 Hz (or at the very least above 100 Hz). My 980 Ti is still pretty good for 60 Hz.
     
  11. Savoy

    Savoy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,400
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    At 1440p or 4k I say no. At 1080p it would not really matter what speed you ran at you would need CPU limited no matter what.
     
  12. Syphon Filter

    Syphon Filter 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,588
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Dan_D What sort of clocks are you able to achieve?
     
  13. KickAssCop

    KickAssCop [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,240
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    I can hit 2000 stable at 65 % fan speed but that noise is killing my ears. This temp card is such a POS.

    Need those Strix asap.
     
  14. Nirad9er

    Nirad9er 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,223
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    This is why I've been water-cooling video cards in my custom loop for the last 5+ years. You end up paying $50 premium for the AIB custom cards for improved noise however a $100 block on a founders edition for quietness is the way ago, assuming you already paid for your custom loop which is a big investment.
     
    ghostwich and Etherton like this.
  15. Etherton

    Etherton [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,843
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    You knew what you were getting yourself into... invest in a loop and be done with it. ;)
     
  16. polydiol

    polydiol [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    IMG_0912.JPG


    My old 295x2 compared to my new 1080ti - for science
     
    Sith'ari and Shogon like this.
  17. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ardOCP Motherboard Editor

    Messages:
    50,922
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I'm just now trying to see what I can get out of them.
     
  18. Syphon Filter

    Syphon Filter 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,588
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    I'll be interested to see what you can hit. I think I'm stuck on +125 / +400. Something is holding me there but I can't work out what. I'm seeing max temps around mid-70s. Maybe I just have shitty clockers.

    I was hoping for +200 / +500.
     
  19. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    46,384
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    I seem to be topping out at +125 / +400 as well. That's still about a solid 10% bump over stock. The only problem is the NOISE. The loudest cards by far since the GTX 480 I've had when overclocked at least.
     
  20. Syphon Filter

    Syphon Filter 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,588
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    According to Afterburner OSD monitoring, I'm hitting power and voltage limits. I guess that's that my lot.
     
  21. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    46,384
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    This is still a solid 10% boost from my observation and that's pretty good. It's the damned noise from the overclock that I have a problem with. What's your take on that?
     
  22. brentsg

    brentsg [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,179
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    At what speeds does the noise become an issue for you? Edit.. not very clear but referring to fan speed.
     
  23. KickAssCop

    KickAssCop [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,240
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    For me anything beyond 55% is unbearable and makes me want to pull out the card and smash it with a cricket bat.
     
    Shogon and Nenu like this.
  24. Nenu

    Nenu Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    17,284
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Not quite as extreme, I've limited mine to 50% fan at +120/300 overclock.
    This gives approx 1911MHz once heated up fully.
    I'm getting an Accelero Xtreme IV cooler some time soon, gotta make sure it has no issues first.
     
  25. Syphon Filter

    Syphon Filter 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,588
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Nenu What have you set your power and temp limits to?
     
  26. Nenu

    Nenu Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    17,284
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Max.
    I could probably manage +125 and a bit less than +350 memory but it failed at 130/350 so didnt test further.
    Often the GPU clock is over 1920 but under high stress after heating up it is most often at 1911MHz.

    I'm not a fan of over 80C, it sometimes reaches 86C.
    But I'm testing it before losing my warranty and would rather it failed now from any basic problems.
     
    AceGoober likes this.
  27. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ardOCP Motherboard Editor

    Messages:
    50,922
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Right now I've got my cards running at +150MHz core clock and +350MHz on the memory.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2017
  28. B2BigAl

    B2BigAl 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,059
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    I managed +145 on the GPU and +450 on the ram. I've only played FO4 with it (just a short term heaven test) and the card runs nice and quiet. Never seen the fan spin up over 50%, and I'm seeing boost speeds right around 2k. Clock speeds are pretty erratic, they jump between 2k and ~1400 when gaming, but FO4 seems to be really inconsistent as far as GPU load. Solid 60fps @3440x1440, it's not really taxing the card too much.
     
  29. Nenu

    Nenu Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    17,284
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Other games that push the gpu might not be stable without at least ramping the fan up.
    Try with vsync off to get some idea.
     
  30. KickAssCop

    KickAssCop [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,240
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    If you want to try out some games that put 100% load on the card, some good examples of that are:

    Witcher 3
    Call of Doody Infinite Warfare
    Mad Max
    Ass Creed Syndicate

    Try those with 50% fan speed and 2000 MHz. Your card will blow up or run at 90C.
     
    elvn likes this.
  31. nwkrep82

    nwkrep82 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    139
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    1080 Ti SLI currently under water. So far, I've managed +160 / +500 (shunt mod on both cards) with clocks as high as 2063MHz...still testing.

    [​IMG]
     
    Armenius and Shintai like this.
  32. Syphon Filter

    Syphon Filter 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,588
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Shunt mod? Is that software or hardware?

    Also, those running stock (i.e. blower) FEs, are you using custom fan profiles or just the automatic?
     
  33. trandoanhung1991

    trandoanhung1991 Gawd

    Messages:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    I think that's a hardware mod. Basically applying liquid metal TIM over resistors to change their reading, allowing for more power.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  34. Nirad9er

    Nirad9er 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,223
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Looks like you never touched the voltage slider and your already at 2063. Is that correct? Your voltage is already higher with your mod. Now what if you raise it further?
     
  35. Syphon Filter

    Syphon Filter 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,588
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    What are load temps under water???
     
  36. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,761
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    I agree and am personally more interested in the frame rate differences in stable real world stressful game sessions stock boost vs stable overclock at 2560x1440 and 4k.

    The stressed by game temps stock boost vs AiO default boost vs manual overclock without volt mod would be interesting to me too.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2017
  37. nwkrep82

    nwkrep82 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    139
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    These are FE cards with EK blocks and backplates.

    Yes, that is correct. This hardware mod tricks the card into calculating a lower power limit.

    So far I haven't seen temps above the mid 40s overclocked. I still have more tests and games to run.

    Yes 2063MHz with no voltage adjustments is correct. This mod does not increase/unlock voltage or voltage limits. It effectively raises the power limit. The major benefit to this is (and better cooling), is it allows more consistent and stable clock speeds. Raising the voltage may/may not help as there are still limits with the silicon itself and the max voltage allowed. Also, chips will hit that silicon lottery wall no matter what you do.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2017
    Armenius likes this.
  38. Etherton

    Etherton [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,843
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    So, playing Titanfall 2 single-player (highly underrated game IMO) and the system froze. No crash, nothing. Just locked up. The 1080Ti and RAM are the only recent changes. Ran 3DMark, Time Spy, ect... no issues. It stayed like that for a minute or two until I hard rebooted the system. The only OC was on the CPU @ 4.6ghz and now I have dropped it back to 4.4ghz. Temps looked ok but I will say this 6700k runs hotter than my old 4770k by about 10-20 degrees. CPU and GPU on same loop. Time to separate them? When I rebooted I got the following error?

    IMG_20170319_125109.jpg
     
  39. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,204
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Good luck with that.. hard to read the writting in the pic.

    Take it back down to basics.. keep cpu at default and mem if overclocking.. do the same for the 1080ti.

    Start over with cpu overlcock.. find the stable overclock first.. thats with testing it on different programs on games.. then move on to overclock your card testing that in different tests as well.. just cause one is fine dont mean that one program put a good strain on your hardware.

    Walk before you run with overclocking.

    And yes test the ram as well to make sure its good.. test it with the cpu stock.
     
  40. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,204
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Also no need to seperate the loops.. much cheaper to just add more rads of possable.