FYI if your looking at getting a Q9550 from Newegg

Joined
Sep 24, 2001
Messages
696
It looks like they are still shipping the C1 chips.

I may have just been unlucky but my order was shipped from their RMA center so most likely someone else ordered this chip and noticed it was a C1 and either refused the shipment or got newegg to RMA it and now I ended up getting stuck with it lol.
 

drescherjm

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
14,937
Hmm, I thought they had to tell you if it was an RMA saying that it was an open box item.

BTW, a C1 stepping may not be bad. Mine is not with idle vid of 1.05 and full load at 1.15 or less. Some E0 steppings have higher VIDs.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2001
Messages
696
Ahh cool. Either way it should be a nice improvement over my OC'd e2160 lol. I was just disappointed that it came from their RMA center so I most likely never had a chance of getting an E0 chip.

It doesn't look like it was ever opened but it did ship from their RMA center though.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
30,220
Ahh cool. Either way it should be a nice improvement over my OC'd e2160 lol. I was just disappointed that it came from their RMA center so I most likely never had a chance of getting an E0 chip.

It doesn't look like it was ever opened but it did ship from their RMA center though.

Probably a return from someone looking for an E0. I have an E0 and my VID isn't as low as the guy above (although I'm not sure what the official VID is if you check it in CoreTemp or whatever). Mine runs at 1.15V under load according to CPU-Z, but the VID is 1.2375V in CoreTemp.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
30,220
Probably a return from someone looking for an E0. I have an E0 and my VID isn't as low as the guy above (although I'm not sure what the official VID is if you check it in CoreTemp or whatever). Mine runs at 1.15V under load according to CPU-Z, but the VID is 1.2375V in CoreTemp.

Of course, I say that and then I pushed my Q9550 a little higher to see what it would do and it will Prime all day long at 3.825Ghz (8.5x450) with 1.275V and will be "Windows stable" at 4Ghz but not Prime stable at that voltage. Maybe the E0 is better.
 
Last edited:
D

Deleted member 184142

Guest
If this was an RMA or open box I would call up newegg and tell them I want a new one. Also, when it comes to OCing, it's not about the chips VID, wile a low VID sometimes means better chance of OCing well, the E0 is better than the C1 in the OCing department.
 

SonDa5

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
7,430
I have tried out C1 and E0 in my RIG and the E0 is much better for over clocking. Less voltage and heat to go faster.
 

Soggy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
1,297
A friend of mine just got a Q9550 from newegg and it won't budge an inch over clock speeds with any sort of stability. I think Intel is probably making a 2nd pass through the bins to find more chips to sell for profit and were starting to get the crap that didn't make the cut the first time.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
30,220
A friend of mine just got a Q9550 from newegg and it won't budge an inch over clock speeds with any sort of stability. I think Intel is probably making a 2nd pass through the bins to find more chips to sell for profit and were starting to get the crap that didn't make the cut the first time.

Could have been the board/memory/settings. I haven't seen too many that wouldn't OC a couple hundred mhz.
 

Soggy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
1,297
Could have been the board/memory/settings. I haven't seen too many that wouldn't OC a couple hundred mhz.

normally that would be the case but the board overclocked a E8400 just fine and my friend has been messing with computers for a long time and knows how to overclock, te chips simply won't budge, he's now trying to get it to show signs of instability so he can send it in for a replacement.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
30,220
normally that would be the case but the board overclocked a E8400 just fine and my friend has been messing with computers for a long time and knows how to overclock, te chips simply won't budge, he's now trying to get it to show signs of instability so he can send it in for a replacement.

I'd just sell it and grab a different one. What board is it?
 

Soggy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
1,297
I'd just sell it and grab a different one. What board is it?

Selling it is more trouble than it's worth to him. especially when there is no guarantee the next one will do any better ( he has terrible luck with buying poor overclocking chips) I'm not sure which board he has. the model that comes to mend is an asus p5n32 sli deluxe but looking it up it's a nforce 4 board and his is 680i.
 

Soggy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
1,297
they hadd a bios 45nm bois update and his E8400 OCd to 3.4 something
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
30,220
they hadd a bios 45nm bois update and his E8400 OCd to 3.4 something

The dual cores will OC, but not the quads. If you get a P45 board or something, you should get a better OC (if it's worth it to you).
 

Soggy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
1,297
he found it to be unstable even at stock speeds under load so he's RMAing it.
 

haadij404

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 3, 2006
Messages
2,280
he found it to be unstable even at stock speeds under load so he's RMAing it.

dude you can rma it 100x but its always gonna have issues with the 680i. i also leanred this lesson the hardway. my 650i didn't support the new 45nm quads so i ditched it for i7. couldn't be happier.
 
D

Deleted member 184142

Guest
dude you can rma it 100x but its always gonna have issues with the 680i. i also leanred this lesson the hardway. my 650i didn't support the new 45nm quads so i ditched it for i7. couldn't be happier.

Lol, I don't think he is listening to you man...

Here is a link to nvidia in pdf showing the nForce 6 series does not work with 45nm quads.
 

vanilla_guerilla

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
5,895
he found it to be unstable even at stock speeds under load so he's RMAing it.

i sell new in box cpus on the fs/ft forum here. i have sold maybe 200 e8500, q9550, e8400, q8400, etc, all 45nm quads and dualies in the last year. there has never once been one that was doa, or one that would not run stable at default. look elsewhere for the problem, probably the 680i. iirc, it had a bios update for quads like q6600, q6700, but never for 45nm quads.

re c1 q9550. they have warehouses like anywhere else, occasionally they get to the very rear of a bin, where there might be some old cpus from last year, and you end up with a c1. i dont get what you mean by "rma center". did you rma a previous q9550 and get that one? they just sent you whatever they had, didnrt purposely send you an older stepping, just because you rma'd one.
 

Karndog

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
179
I may have just been unlucky but my order was shipped from their RMA center so most likely someone else ordered this chip and noticed it was a C1 and either refused the shipment or got newegg to RMA it and now I ended up getting stuck with it lol.

That's gay. I hope that Newegg charges shipping both ways and a re-stocking fee to people who do that. Kind of reminds me of a spoiled kid at a department store who stamps his foot and pouts because he wants the more expensive toy instead of the one his mum is happy to buy. Just accept what you get or specify which stepping you want before ordering instead of refusing a delivery when it gets to your door and waste everyone's time/money.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
30,220
i sell new in box cpus on the fs/ft forum here. i have sold maybe 200 e8500, q9550, e8400, q8400, etc, all 45nm quads and dualies in the last year. there has never once been one that was doa, or one that would not run stable at default. look elsewhere for the problem, probably the 680i. iirc, it had a bios update for quads like q6600, q6700, but never for 45nm quads.

I can attest to this...I have one of his CPU's :). Humming along at 3.8Ghz ;).
 

vanilla_guerilla

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
5,895
how is it going with that? was it a good one? i guess thats a good speed for a q9550, but i have never had one of my own.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
30,220
how is it going with that? was it a good one? i guess thats a good speed for a q9550, but i have never had one of my own.

Yeah, I think so. I had a Q9300 before that that would get around 3.4Ghz, so I'm happy. Good temps and lower voltage. I think I could get over 4Ghz easy with extra voltage, but I haven't really felt like I needed to put extra voltage in it to squeeze out 300mhz or so. Great bang for the buck since I already had a P45 board and DDR2 memory.
 

Soggy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
1,297
K I think I have the picture now. the 680i will support the 45nm C2D wolfsdale but not the 45nm C2Q yorkfields. I thought the bios patch fixed it for all 45nm. alright I'll see if I can talk him into selling it and getting a Q6600.
 

darkvenge

n00b
Joined
Mar 3, 2009
Messages
29
Whats a good price for a q9550? Somewhere under 200 like 170-180ish? Ive been thinking about buying one but the cheapest Ive seen from newegg is 200 after the hardocp coupon if newegg has it at 210 which its now back to 220. I would get one from microcenter but the nearest one is almost 5 hours away in Georgia. Im also interested in getting the E0 version but from what Ive read most places should have those now?
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
30,220
K I think I have the picture now. the 680i will support the 45nm C2D wolfsdale but not the 45nm C2Q yorkfields. I thought the bios patch fixed it for all 45nm. alright I'll see if I can talk him into selling it and getting a Q6600.

Get a different board. The CPU is fine. You can get a P45 board for $90 or so.
 

unclewebb

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2006
Messages
1,807
Put some of those dud Quad CPUs in a Gigabyte UD3P or UD3R board and you might see something like this out of it.

q9550.jpg


I think Zucker2k over on XS is just breaking this new chip in on air before he cools it down with water to see what it can really do.

It's amazing how every time you hear about a bad CPU you ask what motherboard are you using and most of the time the answer is Nvidia. P45 boards are dirt cheap so if you're not running SLI, dump what you've got on EBay and upgrade your board. $115 on Newegg after rebates is a steal for this kind of performance.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
30,220
See...that's pretty gool for air cooling, but I'm just not comfortable putting an extra .125V into it (right now...maybe in 3 or 4 months I'll reconsider).
 

atrance5

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
2,919
Yeah Newegg was kind swinging with c1 and e0 on q9550 all the time, I guess it comes down to the warehouse
 

arcanus

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
84
The Q9550 I just received from Newegg is an E0 revision, VID of 1.1v. Right now, it's doing 4ghz (471x8.5) at 1.25v, rock solid. I'm very happy with it.
 

SonDa5

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
7,430
I think Zucker2k over on XS is just breaking this new chip in on air before he cools it down with water to see what it can really do.

It's more than just the MB. He has a "Golden" Q9550. Very lucky. Not all Q9550s will run that fast at those voltages. I can run a 4.4GHZ but I have to pump my Q9550 up to 1.5+ volts core and with all that voltage comes heat and instability.

I do think the P45+Q9550 is currently the best bang for buck in performance. :cool:
 

SonDa5

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
7,430
The Q9550 I just received from Newegg is an E0 revision, VID of 1.1v. Right now, it's doing 4ghz (471x8.5) at 1.25v, rock solid. I'm very happy with it.

Lucky you. Sounds like you got a "Golden" Q9550 E0,
 

PGHammer

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 8, 2002
Messages
3,315
It looks like they are still shipping the C1 chips.

I may have just been unlucky but my order was shipped from their RMA center so most likely someone else ordered this chip and noticed it was a C1 and either refused the shipment or got newegg to RMA it and now I ended up getting stuck with it lol.

The Egg sells both standard Q9400/9550 and the S models of both (interestingly, the S is either at the same price, or, in the case of the Q9550S, cheaper than the non-S model). Best way to avoid getting old stock is to, apparently, order up an S model instead.
 

PGHammer

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 8, 2002
Messages
3,315
Whats a good price for a q9550? Somewhere under 200 like 170-180ish? Ive been thinking about buying one but the cheapest Ive seen from newegg is 200 after the hardocp coupon if newegg has it at 210 which its now back to 220. I would get one from microcenter but the nearest one is almost 5 hours away in Georgia. Im also interested in getting the E0 version but from what Ive read most places should have those now?

MC is selling the Q9550 for $170 before tax, which makes it an interesting alternative to i5 *or* i7 if your existing motherboard can swallow it.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
30,220
MC is selling the Q9550 for $170 before tax, which makes it an interesting alternative to i5 *or* i7 if your existing motherboard can swallow it.

That's exactly what I did. I didn't really feel the need to upgrade the whole system, so I dropped in one of those.
 

lodingi

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 24, 2003
Messages
2,199
It's more than just the MB. He has a "Golden" Q9550. Very lucky. Not all Q9550s will run that fast at those voltages. I can run a 4.4GHZ but I have to pump my Q9550 up to 1.5+ volts core and with all that voltage comes heat and instability.

I do think the P45+Q9550 is currently the best bang for buck in performance. :cool:

I think you need to play with you ram / north bridge settings. You should be able to achieve your o/c at less voltage.
 
Top