Fujitsu Plans 1Gbps Fiber Optic Network for Rural Britain

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by MajorDomo, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. MajorDomo

    MajorDomo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    73,980
    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Living in a smaller, or shall we say a more compact country, can have its perks when it comes to high speed internet connections. Google is wiring up cities in the US, so Fujitsu plays the one-upmanship card and wires up a country. Rural Britain is about to be wired with 1Gps fiber optic broadband right out of the gate.

     
  2. jctess87

    jctess87 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    420
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
  3. MajorDomo

    MajorDomo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    73,980
    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Yes, I hear it's very nice out in the countryside in England, time for a move :D
     
  4. Tephnos

    Tephnos Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    489
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    I bet it's only rural England that gets this, not Scotland. Bah.
     
  5. nerdydesi

    nerdydesi [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,080
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    1st question, what are the caps?
    2nd question, what's the cost?

    :)
     
  6. jctess87

    jctess87 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    420
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    I'm with you on that we can be neighbors! :D
     
  7. DD_nVidia

    DD_nVidia Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    177
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    I'm going to PRAY that this isn't BS.

    I've have Up To 8Mbit on a BT line (with Sky, my mums choice not mine unfortunately) but get 0.5Mbit during the day if we're lucky, and 6Mbit at night.

    We've been waiting just to get upgraded to ADSL2+ for the pat 6 or 7 years, or hell, even just get our exchange unbundled!

    Luckily I'm living in Dundee for university and I'm getting decent internet here atm (25Mbit fibre in student halls) and next year it'll be 24Mbit ADSL2+ between 5 .
     
  8. niconx

    niconx 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,945
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    ... and the cap will be 10GB :D
     
  9. sfsuphysics

    sfsuphysics I don't get it

    Messages:
    13,676
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Nah... 15GB at least!

    That said, I don't find it the size of these countries that are the issue, nothing says the whole US needs to have fiber to every door. We have concentrations of cities just like other parts of the world, if they really wanted to lay down 1Gbps lines then could, but that would be too non-greedy
     
  10. Untitledone

    Untitledone [H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2012

    Messages:
    1,486
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Man how I would loves me some fiber! Have to live with some 6mbps/512k DSL probably for the next 5 years.
     
  11. infin@

    infin@ Gawd

    Messages:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    *wipes drool from face*
     
  12. INFINITE

    INFINITE Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    186
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    /waits patiently for another two decades before this happen in the United States :rolleyes:
     
  13. dali71

    dali71 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    167
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    We've had symmetrical 1Gbps fiber available here in Chattanooga for over 6 months :D
     
  14. Elf_Boy

    Elf_Boy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,293
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    My your optimistic.
     
  15. Rossi~

    Rossi~ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,479
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Shame it's only rural, which ok is a large percentage of the UK lol but i want it damn it.
     
  16. Savi

    Savi Gawd

    Messages:
    652
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    man i would love it if fiber was all over the US, so far it seems to be in only the realy big cities :(
     
  17. Rossi~

    Rossi~ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,479
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Shame it's only rural, which ok is a large percentage of the UK lol but i want it damn it.
    Also, like every other broadband line in the UK (including current fibre) i expect there to be a few pricing options for capped + usage, capped speed only and one for unlimited.
     
  18. Rossi~

    Rossi~ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,479
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    I'm with Sky at the moment ADSL 2+ and get 16-18 down 1 up. I do live in a large town however (Stevenage) and the exchange is in sprinting distance lol.
     
  19. Raxiel

    Raxiel Gawd

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Yeah, Sky Connect is just BT's shitty, heavily shaped product with Sky branding, if and when Sky do get a presence in your exchange I think youd be hapy with them. Full (for your line) speed 24/7, no caps, and if you do have a problem, their tech support is pretty good too.

    As for caps on this new proposed network, I live in a fairly big town and we still can't get Virgin, but I had a friend who was on their FTTC service in Birmingham and he couldn't sing its praises high enough, they never once complained about the significant amount of 'linux' he downloaded, and in fact were one of the few ISP's who told ACS Law (The speculative invoicing firm who got ddosed to oblivion by anonymous) to go to hell.
     
  20. Shwick

    Shwick Ad Blocker - Banned

    Messages:
    129
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    I'm all for improved internet infrastructure but why start out at 1gbps? Doesn't that remove a lot of margin that you can play around with?

    Why not say, 100mbps? Then you can slow increase it over time. Unless I'm missing something.
     
  21. piscian18

    piscian18 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,021
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Now what I wants is the hector two roof lights, with the discover cushions and the matching side stripe caravan.
     
  22. daglesj

    daglesj [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,030
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    The annoying thing is masses of fiber was layed nationally in the UK over 15 years ago. A massive fast network to take us into the 21st century.

    It was a huge operation. But at the last minute the final part of the deal fell through and it was all abandonded and forgotten. All probably at the tax payers expense.

    Most of us have been stuck with copper (or even worse aluminium) ever since.
     
  23. griff30

    griff30 I Lower the Boom!

    Messages:
    5,313
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    "1Gbps symmetrical bandwidth"
    Wow!
    It's going to be nice having seeders across the pond.for our Linux distros... :)
     
  24. polive

    polive [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,283
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    I'd be fine with a 10 Mbit line here! I'm on 1.5... :(
    Stupid rural bs.
     
  25. Rossi~

    Rossi~ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,479
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    That was just NTL being shit, i don't think we payed anything for it. Apart from that there isn't really any fibre network out there until BT infinity which is FTTC i do believe.
     
  26. INFINITE

    INFINITE Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    186
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Well I've lived relatively in the same area for 30 years. It was only about 8 years ago Verizon (now Frontier) CO added CALLER ID! Frontier FINALLY put new copper in and now offers DSL - which I'll be trying the 21st (only at a whopping 3mb/1mb). They spent all that time and money for directional boring just to put copper in vs fiber.

    Oh btw 2 miles away Cable has been in the ground for about 18 years - would Comcast extend service - NO because they want 20 homes per mile before they'll do so. Well where I live there is legislation regarding minimum property size to preserve rural areas - you must have 5 acres minimum. So essentially this area will NEVER meet Comcast's requirement.

    Frontier wouldn't have even put in new copper if it wasn't for stimulus money they received from the government.

    And no I don't live in the backwoods or mountains I'm an hour outside of Detroit. For those of you who have Fiber - congrats to you. BTW I don't consider Chattanooga rural.

    I'm a pessimist because of all the money this country has pissed away time and time again on stupid $hit vs improving our infrastructures. Best country in the world (thought by a lot of foreigners) yet here's your dialup internet LOL. F#ck where's my rotary phone to call the president!?
     
  27. Ricky302

    Ricky302 n00b

    Messages:
    26
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    100mbps has been available for a while on Virgin Media.
     
  28. rapid

    rapid Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    178
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Sweet. I live in rural Britain, and have been struggling on 2Mbit for too damn long! Now I'll finally be able to broadcast a live stream of the local pig farms :ccol:
     
  29. rapid

    rapid Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    178
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    err make that :cool:
     
  30. Solstice

    Solstice Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    327
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Reading this made me want Ireland to rejoin the Union.
     
  31. krotch

    krotch [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,509
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    2 meg, damn. I had freaking 10 meg with NTL in Burwell. Course maybe it was the proximity to Cambridge that helped.
     
  32. Raxiel

    Raxiel Gawd

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Thats nothing, when I was at my gf's parents over Christmas, their 'BT Total Broadband (up to 8mb)' was getting 300k down, 350 up. :eek:

    This is just 2.5 miles from the exchange.
     
  33. krotch

    krotch [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,509
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    That was back in 2003 though. I haven't been back to England since then, so haven't a clue how much better their infrastructure is.
     
  34. daglesj

    daglesj [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,030
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    A lot of folks moan about their ADSL speeds but I see many folks that have done the following -

    Run the router off of two lots of ADSL filters and a phone socket splitter.

    Run the router through to the study from the hallway phone socket using two 50ft phone extension cords.

    Still had their bellwire attached.

    Generally pull all that out and re-site the router running ethernet to the PC and that 1.5Mbps connection jumps to a 3-4Mbps one.

    Every little helps.

    Currently have a 18.5Mbps connection in rural city Norwich.