FTW3 Ultra 3090 constant crashing!

Slade

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
2,665
The pics of the vision 3090 still use that weird break out box for connectors. I would still do a quick inspect of the pins to be sure.
 

shadow2761

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2016
Messages
229
Strange, games are crashing constantly again only when I enable XMP profiles for memory (Trident Z DDR4 3600 C14 2x8GB)

But the crashing stops if I disable the XMP profiles.

Anyone know why this is?
 

erek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
6,976
Strange, games are crashing constantly again only when I enable XMP profiles for memory (Trident Z DDR4 3600 C14 2x8GB)

But the crashing stops if I disable the XMP profiles.

Anyone know why this is?
have you tried MemTest?
 

SineDave

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
378
Strange, games are crashing constantly again only when I enable XMP profiles for memory (Trident Z DDR4 3600 C14 2x8GB)

But the crashing stops if I disable the XMP profiles.

Anyone know why this is?
I have seen a few XMP profiles that didn't hold up in use. Try bumping up your memory voltage by 0.1-0.2 volts.
 

shadow2761

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2016
Messages
229
Yes I tried Memtest. Ran for 2.5 hrs, 0 errors out of 4 passes.

Ok, I can try bumping the voltage up.

But I thought the point of XMP profiles was that it is stable from factory on those settings?
 

mnewxcv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
7,622
Yes I tried Memtest. Ran for 2.5 hrs, 0 errors out of 4 passes.

Ok, I can try bumping the voltage up.

But I thought the point of XMP profiles was that it is stable from factory on those settings?
That should be the case IF your particular ram kit is also on the qvl list for your motherboard. If not, some tweaking is often needed.
 

Krenum

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
16,440
Disable XMP profile and just run spec clocks for your RAM. XMP is shit, I've always had stability issues with it.
 

shadow2761

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2016
Messages
229
Disable XMP profile and just run spec clocks for your RAM. XMP is shit, I've always had stability issues with it.
By 'spec clocks' do you mean manually setting the rated speeds and timings etc in the BIOS?
 

Krenum

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
16,440
By 'spec clocks' do you mean manually setting the rated speeds and timings etc in the BIOS?
Yes. Set your memory to whatever the manufacturer's spec is, in the BIOS.


Also, I don't know if this is still a thing, but if youre running an Intel CPU and it has a setting called "Ring Ratio" keep that at the default settings. I have my CPU overclocked to 4.5ghz, but if I set the Ring Ratio to 4.5, I have stability issues.
 

III_Slyflyer_III

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2019
Messages
164
Forget XMP, but use those speeds, timing and voltages manually. If on intel, there are a few other voltages past VRAM that you may have to boost to get advertised speeds. Not sure how well built the IMC's are on newer Intel's; but anything over 2933Mhz has technically not been a guarantee for the last few generations.

I had similar issues on my system back when I got my 2080Ti originally as the card was pushing the system harder. For me, I required more SA voltage as I guess I had passed memtest and played games on my 1080's for awhile, but the 2080Ti was enough to stress test the RAM enough in games to make it show instability. Memtest is only good for verify the RAM is OK IMO, not so much as a stability test.
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x3
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
1,687
The ram monster strikes again. So many threads with issues that boil down to problems with XMP. Glad to hear you got the crashing fixed, nothing more infuriating then spending a ton of money on a new toy and it doesn't work.
 

shadow2761

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2016
Messages
229
The ram monster strikes again. So many threads with issues that boil down to problems with XMP. Glad to hear you got the crashing fixed, nothing more infuriating then spending a ton of money on a new toy and it doesn't work.
100%
I was devo'd thinking my 3090 is toast on arrival.
So glad its all sorted now.

Thanks all!
 

shadow2761

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2016
Messages
229
So weird, after the latest windows updates today the games are starting to constantly crash yet once again and I didn't change any settings for RAM, CPU or the GPU at all.

So I decided to drop the RAM frequency from 3600 to 3200 for now as a test, and that once again seems to stop the crashing.

But I am starting to get baffled by this issue now because I gamed for about 8hrs over 2 days with the RAM speed @ 3600 just a few days ago without a single crash then it just started crashing again, mostly after the windows update.
 

5150Joker

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 1, 2005
Messages
4,539
So weird, after the latest windows updates today the games are starting to constantly crash yet once again and I didn't change any settings for RAM, CPU or the GPU at all.

So I decided to drop the RAM frequency from 3600 to 3200 for now as a test, and that once again seems to stop the crashing.

But I am starting to get baffled by this issue now because I gamed for about 8hrs over 2 days with the RAM speed @ 3600 just a few days ago without a single crash then it just started crashing again, mostly after the windows update.

Up the voltage like others suggested, your issues are clearly the ram. FWIW my 3080 is rock solid in every single game I throw at it and it OCs like mad.
 
Top