fried my hard drives, bought same hard drive, tried chip board on old hard drive, but no luck

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by multi-tasking_guy, Aug 27, 2018.

  1. multi-tasking_guy

    multi-tasking_guy [H]Lite

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Here's what happened, I fried my hard drives, which were about 6 months old.
    I used a cable from another psu and it fried my hard drives.

    I didn't know i'm not supposed to use cables from other psu's

    Well it's too late and my hard drive fried and they smell like smoke. And they don't spin.

    So i had no choice to go out and buy a couple new hard drives. I bought the exact same ones i bought 6 months ago.

    I wanted to do a test and i took off the chip board from the new hard drive and put it on the old drive.

    And it starting spinning! I tried reformatting it but it always gave me a:

    initialize disk request cannot be performed because of an I/O device


    I tried to reformat it on Linux as well but no luck, So i can see the drive but i can't reformat it.

    I thought it was a good test to try. Even if it worked i still wouldn't be able to save them since i can only use one board. Luckily i had an off-line backup.


    But my question is why won't it work? When i fried it, it fried the chip board. Since it's mechanical inside i don't think it would matter.

    im guessing maybe the firmware is newer?


    the chip board looks like this on both,
    Seagate-1TB-Desktop-HDD-Internal-Hard-Disk-Drive-7200-RPM-SATA-6Gb-s-64MB-Cache-3.jpg



    advice?
     
  2. Welsper

    Welsper Gawd

    Messages:
    650
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Pretty sure board swaps haven't been a thing you can reliably do for a while.
     
    Ocellaris likes this.
  3. cyclone3d

    cyclone3d [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,403
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    You might have fried the coil for the head actuator arm in the old hard drive.
     
    ChoGGi, auntjemima and dvsman like this.
  4. ZeqOBpf6

    ZeqOBpf6 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    451
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Linus just did a video about this. Give it a look
     
    The Mad Atheist and mnewxcv like this.
  5. Mega6

    Mega6 Gawd

    Messages:
    936
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
  6. mnewxcv

    mnewxcv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,000
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    yeah linus JUST did a video about this. You need the same board revision number, but there is also an 8 pin chip on the board that would need to be transferred over from the old, broken board, to the new replacement, which contains specific information pertaining to the calibration of that particular drive.
     
    The Mad Atheist likes this.
  7. sram

    sram [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,284
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    I don't understand. Why would you want to resurrect the old drives since you already bought exact new ones? One would do this for the sake of the data, but I see that you have been trying to format the thing multiple times, which gives an indication that you really don't care about the data. Or are you still hopping to recover some data after formatting using either windows or linux?
     
  8. Nenu

    Nenu PM Kyle for the TItle You Pick.

    Messages:
    18,002
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    He bought new drives and thought he may be able to use them to work out what went wrong on his old one.
    For the fun of it.
    He would like to understand more about why it didnt work.
     
  9. AlienTech

    AlienTech Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    286
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Mostly I think the protection circuit would short and you can remove the 2 chips for the 2 volatges 5V and 12V and get them working again. These would be the 2 large chips close to the power connector. Just clip the leads so they dont short out the power supply. You can check it with a meter to see if the cips are shorting or not as well. But this is the first thing that goes with any power spike and is very common. You can also use the meter and trace the power line to the chips. They just short out the 5V and 12V to ground when activated.

    We were talking about this on the seagate forum and they did not like it and banned the subject.

    To swap circuit boards you have to flash the drive geometry to the new board and there are companies they do this specifically as its soldered onto the board. They remove it from the old board and solder it to the new one. The defects are mapped and flashed onto the chip at the factory. I think they also have formatting info on them as well since with new drives we have no such option about low level formatting the drives and is done only once at the factory. Due to defects this formatting changes drastically from drive to drive with all the reallocatiosn and such..
     
  10. N4CR

    N4CR 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,729
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    WTF?
    I've ran dual PSUs and mixed and matched HDD power, board power, even cross-powered a GPU from both PSUs without issue. No different to when companies sell dedicated 12V PSUs.
    Is your set up grounded properly? I'd be looking into that first before doing anything further.

    And yes as someone has mentioned maybe something killed the coil inside or something in the power section. Some HDDs have additional circuitry inside so could also be that too.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2018
  11. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,915
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    You can fry your equipment if you use a cable from a modular power supply that has the same connectors but different assignment of the pins on the power supply side.
     
    Chuklr likes this.
  12. auntjemima

    auntjemima Hand Jobs Legend

    Messages:
    4,203
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    I am using two power supplies right now lol.. I think maybe they plugged the drives in while the PSU was on? Otherwise, I can't see it frying anything unless those sata cables are screwed on the power supply.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2018
  13. Nenu

    Nenu PM Kyle for the TItle You Pick.

    Messages:
    18,002
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    He used a PSU cable from another PSU which had its pins wired differently.
    It killed his hard drives.
    This one isnt tricky guys, he gave the clues in the first paragraph.

    drescherjm got it too :)
     
    Chuklr likes this.