For those that bit one the eBay Opty 8346HE's

sabregen

Fully [H]
I imagine the next few weeks for the few of us that bit will be filled with many delays in getting our parts, but I'd love to see what everyone ends up choosing for their builds. I can tell you right now mine's going in a Rocketfish full tower enclosure. Undecided on the board yet, as I may decide that I need PCI-E and PCI-X onboard. What are you guys planning? Undecided on the use for this build as well. I'm studying for the VCP, but after that's over (end of the month) I may just revert to Vista x64 on this machine, using the FC drives as SAN boot and encoding scratch space, throw a crapload of drives in the tower and run some VMs using VMWare Workstation. I know I'm going to make it transcode, just undecided on whether to do that in a VM, or just go with a Vista installation. Also, I've had (and am trying to fix...until this came along) a major disk space issue that was brought on by an HTPC project that involves the use of MyMovies, and it's become a beast that I cannot feed (data requirement) at the moment. I may consolidate all my storage drives inside the Rocketfish using 5 in 3 cages and just run Fibre all over my house (yes...fibre...fuck off ;)).

I too will be using RF case. I am somewhat undecided on the mobo. I think i will use xp pro for the OS. As for HDD's just some random Seagate 7200.10's I have laying around. Anybody want to recommand some RAM or some HSF's?

RAM (get two sets of these) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134312

HSF is a bit more difficult. If you go with a workstation or server board, you're going to need to check the mounting spacing. There's 3.5" and 4.1" for the Socket F coolers. Obviously, if you get the wrong one, they won't work. If you go with that Nforce 680a ASUS board, you can use any AM2 cooler on the market, which is a huge plus.