Firmware upgrade question...

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Gibby82, May 29, 2007.

  1. Gibby82

    Gibby82 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    294
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    I recently purchased this switch:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16833124129
    It'll do what I need, but I was originally going to purchase an open box item at the same price, but someone beat me too it (this is the same one at the normal price): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124046

    My question is simple. These two products seem very similiar, I'm wondering if there is a way to upgrade the firmware and get more switch out of it? Thanks for any info!
     
  2. Gibby82

    Gibby82 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    294
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
  3. LANm0nk3y

    LANm0nk3y Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    448
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007

    Hmmm. not quite too sure if I'm really understand what you mean by "get more switch" out of it. You could always talk to Linksys tech support if there's such a firmware.
     
  4. Gibby82

    Gibby82 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    294
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    The more expensive one has VLAN, Webview and a few other nice options. I'm wondering if it's possible to upgrade from the cheaper firmware to the nicer firmware with all the options. Get more for the money...
     
  5. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,330
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Different hardware under the hood. The one with the black face is a newer line. You show the unmanaged one..the managed version of that switch is the srw224g4..which runs about 215 bucks.

    I highly doubt it that they made it that easy to purchase an unmanaged switch..and trick it with a firmware flash into a managed one.
     
  6. Gibby82

    Gibby82 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    294
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    You're probably right. I was just hoping to see if anyone had heard of it. I have read about and currently use a DD-WRT flashed Linksys router, I was hoping maybe the switches had some options as well.