Fastethernet enough for home network drive

Mccaula718

Gawd
So i currently have a HTPC that is being used as a media server as well. It currently has 4 hds in a relatively small case(2 hds are ziptied to fit). I have a nice desktop that is connected via Fastethernet(antec p182) that i would like to put 3 of the hard drives in and use as network drives for the htpc. My question is fastethernet enough for this? I personally believe it will be but would like to ask other users opinions.

Also I have a CCNA so i'm not an expert but do not treat me like an idiot and say i need 10GB connections for my needs. I obviously know that is overkill.

Well honestly.. Gigabit would be best, as it is pretty much the defacto standard now days. Plus it is cheap, unless you want managed switches, etc.

Fastethernet is enough for just about everything you'll probably be doing, however if you're streaming large video files, doing backup, or transferring data it could become cumbersome rather quickly. If at all possible it might be worth investing in a gigabit unmanaged switch + NIC's + proper cabling. All could be done fairly cheap and it would prevent the network l(dr)ag before it happens.

Fastethernet is enough for just about everything you'll probably be doing, however if you're streaming large video files, doing backup, or transferring data it could become cumbersome rather quickly. If at all possible it might be worth investing in a gigabit unmanaged switch + NIC's + proper cabling. All could be done fairly cheap and it would prevent the network l(dr)ag before it happens.

Agreed, for now it will be sufficient.

As people often plan for only streaming music or films to one HTPC at the beginning, it often goes to adding a second media center and more and more clients, streaming full HD videos, etc etc.

My advice is to go with gigabit wire, do whathever you want after. If you need to upgrade to gigabit someday, you will not have to re-wire all your setup.