Far Cry 6

newls1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
4,510
FC5 IMO was not a train wreck at all, thought it was the best out of all the FC series, and I still use the arcade side of the game daily. way better re-playability then any other FC. I had high hopes for FC6 and now that ive beat the game, I realized it is my least favorite. terrible on just about all accounts.
 

bigddybn

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
7,530
FC5 IMO was not a train wreck at all, thought it was the best out of all the FC series, and I still use the arcade side of the game daily. way better re-playability then any other FC. I had high hopes for FC6 and now that ive beat the game, I realized it is my least favorite. terrible on just about all accounts.
The campaign was horrible. The game mechanics themselves weren't bad but every time you started to get into a rhythm the game ripped you out and made you endure some pointless repetitive mini game. I can see why the parts that don't force this on you would be better but I just never stuck with it that far.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
28
FC5 IMO was not a train wreck at all, thought it was the best out of all the FC series, and I still use the arcade side of the game daily. way better re-playability then any other FC. I had high hopes for FC6 and now that ive beat the game, I realized it is my least favorite. terrible on just about all accounts.
FC5 was my introduction to the series. I played the hell out of it and then worked on playing the other games. By far my least favorites were the primal one and the one after 5 (not 6, new dawn).
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,717
Is it me or does the Vaas DLC forces you back into the beginning when you quit the game? I played it for at least 2 hours before quitting and so far I have lost most of my progress, though the weapons I acquired can still be accessed but you must have enough coins to access them, oh and the important quests I completed must be redone again.

Argh, WTF? Why no save feature in this DLC?
 

AceGoober

Live! Laug[H]! Overclock!
Joined
Jun 25, 2003
Messages
23,669
Always save in a safe zone. You'll keep all your gear and completed quest progress.
 

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,116
Is it me or does the Vaas DLC forces you back into the beginning when you quit the game? I played it for at least 2 hours before quitting and so far I have lost most of my progress, though the weapons I acquired can still be accessed but you must have enough coins to access them, oh and the important quests I completed must be redone again.

Argh, WTF? Why no save feature in this DLC?
It's a rogue-like. Even at "safe houses" the only things you can save are your current loadout and weapons.

While I do find it fun (and the voice acting is great until it gets repetitive), the objectives take enough time each run that it's kind of grating.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,717
I had no idea you could save your progress at the safe houses, how annoying is that, I assume the game itself had an autosave feature just like the base game.

Still, very poor implementation of Ubisoft, I wasted two hours for almost nothing and I need to grind again.
 

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,116
I had no idea you could save your progress at the safe houses, how annoying is that, I assume the game itself had an autosave feature just like the base game.

Still, very poor implementation of Ubisoft, I wasted two hours for almost nothing and I need to grind again.
Yeah the "level" they start you off with is terrible. I think I got to level 3 before just getting bored by the grind and having to spend at least an hour trying to make some semblance of progress.

The DLC could be fun with a proper save system. This feels like lazy console implementation- specifically you can just put the Playstation or Xbox to sleep and return to a session later.
 

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,116
Looks like there is a patch today.

https://www.ubisoft.com/en-gb/game/...3KQPJ5I/title-update-3-deploying-december-7th

The only interesting thing I see is perhaps addressing the HD texture pack blurriness, but also blaming people for using it with less than 12GB VRAM- first of all, the game doesn't check and secondly, I don't think anyone's ever hit usages that high. And yet, here we are- the devs claim to know users don't have enough VRAM and are enabling it anyway, and then say they are addressing issues. Incredible!
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,073
Developer comment: We have made some changes for the HD Texture Pack on PC that should decrease the blurriness that appeared for some players when using the HD Texture Pack. When looking into these reports, we are seeing players using graphics cards with less than 12 GB of VRAM available. When using the HD Texture Pack with less than the minimum required VRAM available, the performance and the look of the game can be worse than without the pack.

Anyone with a graphic card with less than 12GB of VRAM want to test that? Does it look better without the HD textures with the new patch?
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,951
Looks like there is a patch today.

https://www.ubisoft.com/en-gb/game/...3KQPJ5I/title-update-3-deploying-december-7th

The only interesting thing I see is perhaps addressing the HD texture pack blurriness, but also blaming people for using it with less than 12GB VRAM- first of all, the game doesn't check and secondly, I don't think anyone's ever hit usages that high. And yet, here we are- the devs claim to know users don't have enough VRAM and are enabling it anyway, and then say they are addressing issues. Incredible!
I had the blurry texture issue on a 3080ti, and I saw reports of the same from 3090 users. Yes, I believe some people didn't have enough VRAM, but the game also had issues. It's lame of them to try to blame people like this.

Of course, I guess technically even a 3080ti has 'less then 12GB of VRAM available' since some is used by Windows. However, the fact that they set it at 12GB seems somewhat suspicious and they were intentionally trying to gimp most Nvidia cards.
 

evhvis

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2021
Messages
246
Anyone with a graphic card with less than 12GB of VRAM want to test that? Does it look better without the HD textures with the new patch?
It doesn't look better, at least not at 1440p on a 3080. Tbh. I feel the game doesn't look all that great, especially considering how resource hungry it is. Basically feels like an outdated engine that has been pushed beyond the limits. The raytracing effects feel like they wanted to check a marketing box rather than have a meaningful implementation like Control, Cyberpunk 2077, Metro Exodus Enhanced Edition etc.

The gameplay is OK but not great and feels like more of the same. Basically follows the formula of every ubisoft open world game and after a few games it gets old. My key was handed out by AMD so I didn't pay for the game but I would probably have been disappointed if I paid full price for it. Would give the game a 6.5 out of 10.
 

InaDaise

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
95
The HD textures in 4k are noticeably better with today's patch, on my Titan Rtx with a i7 7700. It appears they did more than fixing the blurry HD textures of many of the complaints. Meaning it looks like most of the HD textures are now more detailed. Or it could be that most HD textures suffered from slight to more serious blurriness before this patch. Maybe in the next day or two more 3090 and Titan users can verify this.
 
Last edited:

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
31,233
I'll have to boot up the game again and check. I do remember the 4K textures looking a lot better... when they worked...
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
21,043
according to the patch notes: "When using the HD Texture Pack with less than the minimum required VRAM available, the performance and the look of the game can be worse than without the pack"

?? why?...sounds like they screwed something up on their end or are purposely trying to bork Nvidia cards
 

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,431
according to the patch notes: "When using the HD Texture Pack with less than the minimum required VRAM available, the performance and the look of the game can be worse than without the pack"

?? why?...sounds like they screwed something up on their end or are purposely trying to bork Nvidia cards

I gave up on it and never looked back. The game looks pretty darned good as is.
 

evhvis

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2021
Messages
246
according to the patch notes: "When using the HD Texture Pack with less than the minimum required VRAM available, the performance and the look of the game can be worse than without the pack"

?? why?...sounds like they screwed something up on their end or are purposely trying to bork Nvidia cards
My guess is that it is an AMD sponsored title and a console port which hasn't been optimized. The game uses ridiculous amounts of VRAM especially compared to the graphics quality. Essentially you can run the HD texture pack on a 3080 at 1440p with little or no issues, but 4k is off the table. Without the HD-texture pack the hills in the distance look like something out of a game made 10 years ago and close up textures look like running textures at medium in games with very good graphics. The texture pack is definitely a must IMO, but I expected more detail and better shaders at the current system requirements.
 

Newbie_52

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
192
For me even at 1080p its showing over 9gb of vram in use according to afterburn with HD textures, can that be right? But other games that look better dont use nearly as much, seems odd.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,951
It's an old ass engine at this point, and they don't seem to do a good job with how it streams textures in. There is no reason the game should be having the issues that it is. It reminds me of running HD texture mods on Skyrim. The engine doesn't handle it good, and you've got to have the VRAM to load EVERYTHING in.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
21,043
Far Cry 6 Free Danny Trejo DLC and Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon Classic Edition Available Now

 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,765
Is this game anything like Ghost Recon Wildlands with hunting out the mini bosses and underbosses?
 

mgty23

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,356
Hey guys. Which is better for performance ubisoft launcher or connect?
 
Last edited:

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,239
This game worth 29.00 on Epic? It looks good at parts then it gets too weird.

That's 1/2 price, so it's a solid deal if you liked the other games. There's a lot to see and do, but it's 100% more of the same compared to the other Far Cry games. If you like anything from FC3 onward, you'll like this one. If not, you'll dislike this one equally. There's also the option of Ubisoft+ for $15 each month. If you don't like FC6, you can just uninstall it and play something else instead.
 

evhvis

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 12, 2021
Messages
246
This game worth 29.00 on Epic? It looks good at parts then it gets too weird.
If you want more far cry then it is a good deal. Personally I've kind of tired of the Ubisoft formula so I didn't have as much fun in this one as I did in the earlier games. I don't think the game is necessarily any worse than the previous far cry games, but the formula has been used so many times that it feels like a repeat of other Ubisoft games. If you still love the formula then you will most likely have a lot of fun in this game.
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
31,233
It was worth the price I paid...which was nothing.

In all honesty, if you liked FC3/4/5 and want more of that, it's probably worth $20 or so.
 

FearTheCow

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 2, 2006
Messages
5,894
If you want Far Cry with a healthy dose of anti America and some sjw BS, it's worth buying.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,239
Pretty sure anyone complaining about SJW in this game also thinks "Let's Go Brandon" is clever.
 

termite

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
5,664
I must have missed all that in the game.
Overt SJW stuff is pretty much non existent, or at least no more than any other game at this point.

The "anti american" themes are there, the primarily theme being the blame for the Yarans (i.e. the Cubans) plight and reason they are "frozen in time" being the US embargo/sanctions; not becuase they are a communist/dictatorship. It is just a nonsensical representation of reality, given that Cuba exports/imports goods from countries to include Canada and China, and has for decades.

There are then comments from story NPCs for instance "Sure, yanquis might pay you to park their cars or pick their fruit, but you'll never be one of them. The American Dream doesn’t come in our color.”. But honestly that would be expected given the setting and the game coming from UBI Montréal.

It frankly fits the general game narrative and what would be expected rhetoric from Yaran (Cuban) Guerrillas.

The game itself is just another Far Cry game. If you are not bored with the franchise by now and like the prior games then Far Cry 6 is ok.
 

Vegas P11

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
1,447
Overt SJW stuff is pretty much non existent, or at least no more than any other game at this point.

The "anti american" themes are there, the primarily theme being the blame for the Yarans (i.e. the Cubans) plight and reason they are "frozen in time" being the US embargo/sanctions; not becuase they are a communist/dictatorship. It is just a nonsensical representation of reality, given that Cuba exports/imports goods from countries to include Canada and China, and has for decades.

There are then comments from story NPCs for instance "Sure, yanquis might pay you to park their cars or pick their fruit, but you'll never be one of them. The American Dream doesn’t come in our color.”. But honestly that would be expected given the setting and the game coming from UBI Montréal.

It frankly fits the general game narrative and what would be expected rhetoric from Yaran (Cuban) Guerrillas.

The game itself is just another Far Cry game. If you are not bored with the franchise by now and like the prior games then Far Cry 6 is ok.
OK, so there was no SJW or ant-America stuff in the game.. thanks you.
 

FearTheCow

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 2, 2006
Messages
5,894
Don't forget to kill the American capitalistic pig causing all their problems either! And you know, fight the good fight because only the "trans" character truly knows what it's like to fight oppression!
 

scojer

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
8,146
Gonna leave these here:

He played more and had a change of heart


I haven't played it myself yet, I'm waiting until it's dirt cheap, as in, I can get it from goodwill for $2.
 
Top