Far Cry 5 Video Card Image Quality Review @ [H]

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by Kyle_Bennett, May 7, 2018.

  1. Kyle_Bennett

    Kyle_Bennett El Chingón Staff Member

    Messages:
    51,151
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    Far Cry 5 Video Card Image Quality Review

    We will be comparing Far Cry 5's Overall Quality, Shadows, Volumetric Fog, and Anti-Aliasing image quality. In addition, we will find out if we can improve IQ in the game by adding Anisotropic Filtering and forcing AA from the control panel. We’ve even have a video put together showing you many IQ issues we found in Far Cry 5, and those are plentiful.
     
    revenant, IKV1476, rgMekanic and 6 others like this.
  2. NukeDukem

    NukeDukem 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,082
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Nice write-up, very thorough and informative. The game indeed could benefit from other AA options. While I agree with your assessment that TAA handles aliasing much better than SMAA, I find it introduces a "vaseline smear" effect to the entire image that I personally can't stand.
     
    AceGoober likes this.
  3. Brent_Justice

    Brent_Justice [H] Video Card Managing Editor Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,724
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    In my analysis TAA is adding a sharpening filter, thus textures are actually sharper with TAA vs. SMAA or No AA.

    SMAA, in my analysis adds texture blurring, or the "Vaseline smear" on textures.
     
  4. DejaWiz

    DejaWiz Oracle of Unfortunate Truths

    Messages:
    18,723
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Very nice article, thank you! I just started my second run-through of FC5 yesterday.

    With my system (in my sig), I'm able to pull an avg of 90 fps at 1080p with adaptive Vsync at Ultra settings and Motion Blur turned off. The optimizing of this game is rather amazing, imo.

    I'm looking forward to running through FC3, 4, and 5 again after my Mobo, CPU, and RAM overhaul and moving to a 1440p high-refresh HDR capable display.
     
  5. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,009
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    in static movement yes, TAA may look better, however the issue begins as soon as there's movement in camera.. fallout 4 also suffered from that issue even with sharpening from ReShade..
     
    NukeDukem likes this.
  6. NukeDukem

    NukeDukem 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,082
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    I just went in-game to double check my settings and compare/contrast, to me TAA just looks way more blurred, especially the foliage and especially in movement. Which is a shame, because it is definitely superior at killing those jaggies.
     
  7. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,512
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    when did SMAA become so blurry?...I thought that mainly applied to FXAA?...I remember SMAA looking great in Crysis 3
     
  8. Bankie

    Bankie [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,412
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    What about the water? IIRC FC5 was supposed to have ultra-realistic water because of RPM.
     
  9. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,512
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    the article states that forcing AF through the driver control panel delivers the best image quality...I always have it enabled in every game through my driver even if there's an in-game option...what happens if you have both settings enabled, does the forced driver AF disable the in-game AF or do they work together?
     
    Meeho likes this.
  10. Darkswordz

    Darkswordz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    434
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Can you force FXAA while still using TAA at the same time?
     
  11. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,009
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Control panel override ingame options..
     
  12. R_Type

    R_Type n00bie

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Nice article guys.

    Ultra settings and those trees look garbage for 2018. It's like crysis never happened.
     
    ghostwich and Kyle_Bennett like this.
  13. ghostwich

    ghostwich [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    I think I noticed this in FC: Primal, and it continues in FC5. I'm glad someone finally went and did this kind of analysis to confirm it. FC4's performance (and Dunia 2) does not suddenly get "optimized," and other reviews claiming how "well" the game runs are all missing the point.

    FPS is one thing, image quality (aggressive LOD cutoffs, textures, pre-baked lighting) is another.
     
    R_Type likes this.
  14. N4CR

    N4CR 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,377
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Interesting, I look forward to picking this up in future. Hopefully a high res texture pack out by then.
    When I first saw article I expected you'd test graphical difference between a few cards also, e.g. check for any ultra texture differences between high end card manufacturers. I remmember this was a thing in decades past but don't see it on hardocp these days. I guess each manufacturer realised blatant cheating never is worth it and it's not worth your time.
     
    Kyle_Bennett likes this.
  15. Nima84

    Nima84 n00bie

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Farcry 5 looks really dated. the game world is so dead that I can't get immersed in it and even performance is not that good for me. Farcry 4 looks much better and runs much better on my PC even with all the gameworks enabled.
     
  16. Brent_Justice

    Brent_Justice [H] Video Card Managing Editor Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,724
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    Forcing AF from the driver control panel will always override the in-game filtering. So no matter what the in-game filtering is set at, the game will run the forced AF from the control panel. If you put it on Application, then the in-game AF will take over.

    The methods are completely different, when you let the game decide AF it uses the filtering programmed by the developers, they can select what mip-map levels receive AF. However, when you force AF from the control panel it is a different AF, it's AF programmed from NVIDIA, and it always renders on every mip-map level, even if you don't need it. That is why sometimes control panel AF is a lot slower than in-game AF.
     
    N4CR and polonyc2 like this.
  17. Brent_Justice

    Brent_Justice [H] Video Card Managing Editor Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,724
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    It is really all the same now, not really a thing anymore, especially if you are just using in-game controls. It is when you use outside methods like AA or AF from the control panel that there can be differences. But even then, it's pretty much all moot these days. Filtering is the same, each one has optimizations but you can disable them for un-filtered, uh, filtering, heh. IN terms of AA, it doesn't work from the control panel in this game anyway, so you are just stuck with SMAA or TAA, or FXAA from NV control panel (a shader based method.)
     
    N4CR likes this.
  18. Brent_Justice

    Brent_Justice [H] Video Card Managing Editor Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,724
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    Water looks very good, definitely a plus.
     
  19. Brent_Justice

    Brent_Justice [H] Video Card Managing Editor Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,724
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    Different implementations. Remember also developers can mess with texture sharpening when introducing features like this, and that can make things look normal, or worse etc...

    There are many different versions of SMAA, FXAA, TAA, TXAA, which ones the developer chooses has a great impact on image quality, some are better or worse than others. They don't always use the best and latest versions of these technologies available, or implement it well.
     
    DrezKill likes this.
  20. Johnx64

    Johnx64 My poof SuX

    Messages:
    6,180
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Depends on the driver setting. In radeon settings default is to use application settings. Then an enhanced setting and finally an override application setting.
     
  21. harmattan

    harmattan 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,958
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Great focus piece here. There are far too few articles out there looking at IQ these days, it's good to be able to quantify what different options are doing and compare relative to other games (and predecessor games).

    It's really a shame FC5 takes a step back in many ways from FC4. I (and others) "felt" this was the case and this article does a good job mapping out that de-evolution. To be fair, I do feel it's a "damned if you do/don't" situation for the devs: either put in advanced IQ and have people whining how their 4 year-old GPU can't handle; add them out and have others complain about lack of advance.
     
    ghostwich likes this.
  22. Gottfried Leibnizzle

    Gottfried Leibnizzle Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    139
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    At 4:20 I also experience weird ground effects.
     
  23. Azphira

    Azphira [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,550
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003

    Attached Files:

    Orphan Crippler likes this.
  24. Chikia12187

    Chikia12187 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    105
    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Does this game require a really good pc?
     
  25. Simplex

    Simplex Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    261
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    FC5 - low res textures https://imgur.com/a/i2Rm1

    Texture quality in the game is horrible. Watch dogs 2 which is older and tpp (so textures are further away from camera) has much better textures. Hell, some. Far Cry 2 textures are better.

    Compare:
    uFhGaG7.jpg

    LnswPu8.jpg
     
    Orphan Crippler likes this.
  26. noko

    noko 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,658
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    I do not have a TAA setting for AA, just SMAA or OFF. Is TAA only applicable for NVidia or single card? Cfx two Vega FEs is what is running.
     
  27. Shadowed

    Shadowed [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    TAA looks terrible. I think this game looks awful at 1080p. I am completely CPU limited past 100fps so I play on a 4k display. 4k definitely the way to go for this game.

    On another note, CPU core clockspeed scales linealy with FPS in this game for me.
     
  28. Orphan Crippler

    Orphan Crippler n00bie

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018