Experiencing extremely annoying micro-stutter with single-gpu - driving me nuts!

Dark12

[H]ard|Gawd
Hey everyone.
I have had an issue with my computer for a long time. I believe micro-stutter is something people often complain about with their multi-gpu configurations, but I am experiencing with my single 6950.
At first I thought it was just World of Warcraft that had the problem. I always just assumed the stutter was from loading the environment on-the-fly. But today I started playing some counter-strike 1.6 and I am noticing the exact same type of stutter in that game. cs1.6 is based off the original half-life engine so it should put a trivial load on my system.

The micro-stutter I am referring to happens at seemingly random times. My computer seems to hang on a frame for maybe a tenth of a second. It becomes extremely annoying in any multiplayer game. It is almost unplayable even though it only happens once every 10-30 seconds. It gives me headaches and the anticipation of the game skipping during an intense firefight is enough to drive someone insane.

I am running Windows 7 x64 with all of windows updates. I have formatted many times in an attempt to resolve this issue. I have tried to run my games off one of my SSDs or my HDD. I have installed countless IDE drivers and video card drivers to no avail. I have flashed firmware on my card. I have overclocked. I have underclocked. I have fiddled with AA, AF, v-sync, and triple buffering. I have tried turning hyper-threading on and off.
What am I missing?!

I am guessing there is some patch out there for some component in my system that I am overlooking. Since this problem happens with all of my games I believe it may have to do with the CPU side of my PC.
If anyone has any comments or advice regarding this issue I would be extremely grateful.

Some ideas:
Antivirus
Bad usb device, try changing your mouse/keyboard and remove any non-essential devices.