Exchange and ActiveSync

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Mabrito, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. Mabrito

    Mabrito [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,014
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    I have a copy of Exchange 03 Entreprise (I almost postive its Entreprise) and a Windows Mobile 6.0 device. I think I know I found the answer on google/Microsoft Technet, but I want to make sure as some people here know alot about Exchange and all its goodies. There is no way to have Windows Mobile/ActiveSync sync Exchange tasks to the phone? I know you can do it if you are directly connected to the PC with Outlook, but it looks like you can't do it through the Exchange server, meaning if im away from my computer and use ActiveSync from the road to contact my Exchange server and sync, it will not sync tasks, just Calender, Contacts, and Email. Is this correct?
     
  2. Blitzrommel

    Blitzrommel 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,659
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
  3. Mabrito

    Mabrito [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,014
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Any reason why? Just curious as Tasks seemed like it would be something worth syncing with Exchange ActiveSync. Im going to guess because Tasks arnt that widely used so Microsoft decided not to add support for it.
     
  4. Blitzrommel

    Blitzrommel 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,659
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    No idea - but according to this white paper, synchronizing Tasks IS supported (Check page 14), although this is for Exchange 2007. In other words, they may have implemented that in Exchange 2007.
     
  5. Captain Colonoscopy

    Captain Colonoscopy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,863
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    yeah, it works in 2007, just not in 2003. :D
     
  6. Blitzrommel

    Blitzrommel 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,659
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    That's what I figured. I never used Exchange 2003 with a Windows Mobile device, thanks for ringing in with that. :p
     
  7. priteshvarsani

    priteshvarsani Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    157
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Too bad 2007 requires 2 servers lol, not really ideal for small usage.
     
  8. Blitzrommel

    Blitzrommel 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,659
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    This is not at all true. It is very simple to run a single Exchange 2007 setup; Microsoft just recommends that you use two boxes, the second one being your edge server.
     
  9. Captain Colonoscopy

    Captain Colonoscopy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,863
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Agreed. We run a single exchange 2007 server at the office running all roles. We use Postini to host our front end so there is no need to the edge server.
     
  10. oakfan52

    oakfan52 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,578
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    The Hub Transport can actually run all of the same anti-spam configs as the edge transport server. You just have to run a script to enable them.
     
  11. Captain Colonoscopy

    Captain Colonoscopy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,863
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Yeah, we have that setup and running on another client that didn't want to use Postini. Seems to work fairly well. We just don't run it at the office because Postini rocks so much. :D
     
  12. priteshvarsani

    priteshvarsani Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    157
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Kool i never knew that! Anyone got any links to one of those scripts i want to try it out myself? Hopefully it should work in the 32 bit version.
     
  13. Captain Colonoscopy

    Captain Colonoscopy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,863
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    if memory serves you fire up powershell and just punch in the .vbs script name and hit enter, it enables everything for you and an extra tab shows up in the MMC afterwards. I can't remember what directory the vbs scripts are in right now, though. Here's a linky:

    How to Enable Anti-Spam Functionality on a Hub Transport Server:
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb201691.aspx
     
  14. Carv

    Carv [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,032
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    I'm gonna have to agree with that, Postini definitely provides a huge weight off our shoulders here at the office.
     
  15. Blitzrommel

    Blitzrommel 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,659
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    I love postini. I used it with my webhost for email and it's incredibly effective.
     
  16. Captain Colonoscopy

    Captain Colonoscopy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,863
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    not only is the spam filtering fantastic, the fact that our exchange server can take a huge dump and we can still check our email using the flexbox webmail thingy rocks. After the floods here in Iowa our local QWest DSLAM was under water for a few days . . . no internets at the office . . . still got our email, though. That was nice. It's saved our asses a few times now. :D