EVGA G3 750 watt Power Supply won't post?

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Comixbooks, May 9, 2017.

  1. Comixbooks

    Comixbooks Ignore Me

    Messages:
    9,989
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    What gives what a pain took out my old Corsair HX750 put the G3 750 in and it won't even post.
    Pretty sure all the connections were right you can't really mess that up. Checked the connections everything powers on but it won't load windows or goto the UEFI screen let alone post a beep?

    Hate to send this back if I knew what was going on I think it might have something to do with the MB cable maybe because the CPU cable the give you two of those and i changed them both out.

    If I can't figure it out I'll exchange it for a Corsair...kinda liked the smaller size of this knocked off two inches when it's on the bottom.
     
  2. Comixbooks

    Comixbooks Ignore Me

    Messages:
    9,989
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    EVGA chat told me to reset the BIOS with the button or use one stick of Ram I have it working but when I insert the rest of the Ram it won't boot.
    So still looking into it.
     
  3. Comixbooks

    Comixbooks Ignore Me

    Messages:
    9,989
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    After chatting with them again they told me to reseat the 24 pin motherboard cable then presto it worked never had this problem with a power supply before but I only owned like 5 of them in 20 years.
     
  4. Comixbooks

    Comixbooks Ignore Me

    Messages:
    9,989
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    So glad no more coil Whine but man did this give me a scare the cables I'm not a fan of the stock cables with the power supply but you can get fancy sleeved cables Hell with that they cost just as much as the power supply does. I did a memory test which tests the Dimms one at a time it keeps rebooting the PC a light goes on if a bad dimm is detected. I knew the Bastick crucials were not bad cause they worked with my older power supply. I held the BIOS button in but that didn't seem to do anything.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2017
    Speedeu4ia likes this.
  5. Gertjan

    Gertjan n00bie

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Was the 24 pin cable not inserted correctly?

    I'm considering buying this psu because my current ocz 700 modstream has a buzzing noise under load.

    Would you recommend it? You've mentioned no coil whine so that's a big plus for me.
     
  6. Comixbooks

    Comixbooks Ignore Me

    Messages:
    9,989
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008

    Yeah it's good I haven't had any issues since if you need help EVGA has Chat on the New Egg trouble shooting chat. It's about 2" shorter than most Power supplies out there. I hope i get 8 years or more out of it think it has a 10 year warranty.
     
  7. Kamber

    Kamber Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    135
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Glad you got it working! I just picked up an EVGA G3 850, loving the size.
     
  8. Montu

    Montu [H]ard DCOTM x4

    Messages:
    6,727
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    The G3 series fucking rocks. Simple as that.
     
    primetime likes this.
  9. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,034
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    What you paid for yours? My rails are starting to finally sag....And this model caught my eye on the egg and im thinking its a good time to replace BEFORE it becomes an issue. Thing sure is pretty as well!:LOL:
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Montu

    Montu [H]ard DCOTM x4

    Messages:
    6,727
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    If you are asking me I paid $109 shipped from Newegg. Excellent deal if you ask me.
     
    primetime likes this.
  11. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,034
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Got mine ordered from BH....and should have mine friday to hook up:)
     
  12. ir0nw0lf

    ir0nw0lf [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,837
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    The 750 G3 is on sale at the 'Egg for $99.99/shipped after $10 MIR. It's actually the same price AMIR as the 650 G3. :p
     
  13. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,034
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Got mine installed this evening......Nice to have proper voltage rails again and not have to worry about my old supply damaging my stuff or causing instability.
     
  14. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,034
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Already had to replace mine.....What did i get 6 months of typical use? My luck with power supply's always is not the best! The dam thing kept turning on and off so i had to pick up one local to replace it:(
     
  15. Comixbooks

    Comixbooks Ignore Me

    Messages:
    9,989
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Mine is still running good just switched to a coffee lake build.
     
  16. Batboy88

    Batboy88 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Nah, wouldn't mind at all turning to Rosewill again, been some Solid units. Or just find any unit or the ones that are Interruptible and will run for 3 years+
     
  17. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,034
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Well i went ahead and purchased another evga 850 at BB.....so at least i can use what ever cables i like the best...I still believe the g3 is cut above tech wise and i guess some of the built in protection was turning it off do to something...I like the cables that came with the G3 over the 850 i got....so ill mix it up when i get a chance to dress it up properly...I can say i noticed the g3 12 volt rail was riding about 14 volts when the problems started so im sure it was part of the issue. I swear EVERY high end unit i by online FAILS early....And i dont want the downtime;)...fuck it i guess ill have a brand new spare after the rma process!
     
    Batboy88 likes this.