EVGA E758 Westmere Mod

AthlonX2

n00b
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
32
Does anyone here remember what pads needed to be soldered together on the E758 for Westmere Dual QPI procs to work? I found a lot of information on google for the E757,760 and 762 but no one outright says what pads should be used for the E758. Thanks for any help you can offer.
 

Lightworker

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
457
Hey, I've been trying to track this mod down for quite some time after my board was RMA'd and returned with an earlier rev piece of hardware.

This is the doc that EVGA provided for the 758-A1 board on how to do the mod. I haven't done it myself as I haven't had the time, but as I interpret it, you are to short those two pads.

http://i.imgur.com/2prznns.png

Hope this helps, if you try it, please let me know if it works. I'm tearing my build down next week for some cleaning and upgrades and I'd like to knock it out too.
 

AthlonX2

n00b
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
32
i talked to a few guys that worked at evguh back in the day when these boards were fresh. Id have to double check my solder point but it did work for me and the L5639 i put in the board. No issues. Be aware those solder points are very tiny so youll need a good fine point iron. i used a 25w weller and my hobby knife with some flux paste on the end and draped it across the point to flow the solder better.
 

Lightworker

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
457
Be aware those solder points are very tiny so youll need a good fine point iron. i used a 25w weller and my hobby knife with some flux paste on the end and draped it across the point to flow the solder better.

That was the secondary reason why I haven't gotten around it it yet, I don't trust my soldering skills enough to make that 45 degree jump between pads.
 

AthlonX2

n00b
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
32
Its not too bad really, just get your iron nice and hot with a bit of solder on the end and tap the solder points.
 

Bad_dude

Gawd
Joined
Dec 28, 2002
Messages
931
What exactly are we doing when doing the mod?
Is it?
1) Moving the resistor R358 to R359?
2) Just short the open R359?
3) Crossing the solder from R358 to R359?

I cannot find any clearly stated information on EXACTLY what to do? What exactly is move R358 to R359 means?

Thanks.
 

Lightworker

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
457
What exactly are we doing when doing the mod?
Is it?
1) Moving the resistor R358 to R359?
2) Just short the open R359?
3) Crossing the solder from R358 to R359?

I cannot find any clearly stated information on EXACTLY what to do? What exactly is move R358 to R359 means?

Thanks.

#3, I still haven't worked up the balls to do this haha. :rolleyes:
 

Bad_dude

Gawd
Joined
Dec 28, 2002
Messages
931
#3, I still haven't worked up the balls to do this haha. :rolleyes:

If #3 is it's need to be done then that's easy. We are just shorting R358 with R359. I guess we just put a piece of solder across the two joints.
I need to see some samples to confirm this.
Thanks.
 

ChineseStunna

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
393
Definitely not correct, I just did the mod yesterday and the mod is to move the R538 resister to R539 so option 1
 

ChineseStunna

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
393
Honestly fine tipped soldering iron and a super study hand. Also sharp tweezers to help remove it first then hold it down to solder onto R539.
It's definitely the hardest mod I've done so far, the resister is tiny and will blow away just by breath and I actually regretted not wearing a face mask while doing it
 

Bad_dude

Gawd
Joined
Dec 28, 2002
Messages
931
Honestly fine tipped soldering iron and a super study hand. Also sharp tweezers to help remove it first then hold it down to solder onto R539.
It's definitely the hardest mod I've done so far, the resister is tiny and will blow away just by breath and I actually regretted not wearing a face mask while doing it

The smoke burns your eye ha? It's from the dirty iron tip. Done a few car amp repairs. Know how's it's like.
 

ChineseStunna

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
393
Actually nope, I was more concerned about deep breaths I was taking to be stable accidentally blowing away the resistor Lol.
Also I currently have the X5670 chip running but uncore multiplier seems stuck at 20 so could be a fail if you want to over clock on this board
 
Top