EVGA 1070 FTW 6pin to 8pin?

Miltos Ser

n00b
Joined
Aug 18, 2016
Messages
5
Hello guys,

I have a question regarding my PSU compatibility with EVGA FTW 1070.

My PSU Seasonic M12II-620 Bronze has 2 pci-e connections 1x6p and 1x8.
The EVGA FTW 1070 needs 2x 1x8 connections.

Is there a way to make it work on my PSU? Would it be safe if i make it work?

Thanks in advance.
 

EchoWars

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2010
Messages
497
It's a pretty simple deal here...last two pins are just ground. Should be amazingly difficult to screw up.

500x1000px-LL-2bf838c0_st45sf-g-modular-pinout.png
 

Azrak

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 4, 2015
Messages
1,041
I bought that exact StarTech adapter linked above (but from Newegg) and it worked perfectly for a GTX 950 w/8-pin that I wanted to put into a Dell desktop that only had a single 6-pin PCIE plug.
 

jarablue

Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
975
Can you just plug the 6 pin into the board without the grounds? Would it work? Barring me having arcs shooting out of the video card in case something goes south that is.

I would love to get rid of my second power cable and just use the 8 pin and 6 pin that is together on one cable. Please tell me I can do this, if it's just ground, shouldn't be a big deal right?
 
Last edited:

EchoWars

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2010
Messages
497
Prolly won't work, but you can certainly try. Nothing is going to break if it doesn't do the job.
 

Azrak

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 4, 2015
Messages
1,041
Can you just plug the 6 pin into the board without the grounds? Would it work? Barring me having arcs shooting out of the video card in case something goes south that is.

I would love to get rid of my second power cable and just use the 8 pin and 6 pin that is together on one cable. Please tell me I can do this, if it's just ground, shouldn't be a big deal right?
You can try to plug the 6 pin into the card, but one of those extra grounds in the 8 pin is actually a sense wire. This means the card is going to likely detect that the 6 pin is plugged in and not an 8 pin, or not detect anything at all and refuse to work (or give you an alarm status in Windows after bootup). The StarTech adapter connects the two extra pins thus tricking the card into thinking it's a real 8 pin connector.
In your case, however, I'd continue to use the 2nd (separate) power cable to the 1070. By having two separate cables, you are splitting the power from the supply between them, thus there is less voltage drop caused by the wires. If you removed one of the cables and used both the 8-pin and 6-pin from the single remaining cable, you'd double the current being handled by those wires, thus doubling the voltage drop to the card. Would it really matter? Can't tell without analysis and testing. If you OC your video card, it could make a difference.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,328
Why ship a card with connectors that can handle 375w when it doesn't even use 200w? Heree it's using less than the GTX 1080:

Review: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW Gaming ACX 3.0 - Graphics - HEXUS.net - Page 12

Lazy as fuck design by OEMs here, just to complicate installation, and claim the card has massive power handling on the spec sheet. I think you should be fine using a 6 to 8-pin adapter, since it shouldn't be drawing more than 75w on any particular channel
 
Last edited:

NKD

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
8,850
Evga cards come with adapters in the box. So should be no problem.
 

AlphaFox

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
297
I have used a molex splitter to a 6 pin to 8 pin adapter and it worked fine lol. If you really don't want to upgrade your power supply.
 

wildpig1234

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
330
These 1070 use about 185W max. A pci -e 16 slot gives 75W. a 6 pin gives another 75W, 8 pin gives 150W. so you can actually get by with just 2 6pin or even 1 8pin. but it might not work if you only have 1 8 pin plug in. so you are fine with your 1 6 and 1 8 pin. you don't even need an adaptor to plug the 6 pin into the 8 pin port.
 

AlphaFox

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
297
These 1070 use about 185W max. A pci -e 16 slot gives 75W. a 6 pin gives another 75W, 8 pin gives 150W. so you can actually get by with just 2 6pin or even 1 8pin. but it might not work if you only have 1 8 pin plug in. so you are fine with your 1 6 and 1 8 pin. you don't even need an adaptor to plug the 6 pin into the 8 pin port.

I dont think any power is drawn from the PCIE slot, just the power connectors.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,694
A lot of overly complicated answers in this thread.

Plug what you have into each 8 pin terminal on the card, and use a paperclip/wire to jump the two free terminals on the second 8 pin terminal on your 1070. This will fool the card into working.
 

wildpig1234

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
330
could always plug what you have right now of a 6pin and 8 pin into the card. you don't need to have any adapter to plug the 6pin into the 8pin port on the card. then see if it will boot up. I have a feeling it will.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,694
You'll get an error message at boot up which is why you need to either pay for an adapter, or the easier/cheaper option of just jumping the two free contacts on the card with something like a paperclip. The two extra pins are just a sense and a ground so it's perfectly safe to fool a card by doing this.
 

wildpig1234

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
330
You'll get an error message at boot up which is why you need to either pay for an adapter, or the easier/cheaper option of just jumping the two free contacts on the card with something like a paperclip. The two extra pins are just a sense and a ground so it's perfectly safe to fool a card by doing this.

That sucks.
 

Lunas

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 22, 2001
Messages
9,966
If my psu has 2 8 pin do I need the adaptors 4 6pin cables vs 2 8 pin
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,694
If my psu has 2 8 pin do I need the adaptors 4 6pin cables vs 2 8 pin

No PSU that I know of would have an ONLY 8 pin PCI-E connector. It would be 6+2. If it's only an 8-pin connector it may be a CPU power lead instead of a PCI-E lead..
 

Lunas

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 22, 2001
Messages
9,966
No PSU that I know of would have an ONLY 8 pin PCI-E connector. It would be 6+2. If it's only an 8-pin connector it may be a CPU power lead instead of a PCI-E lead..
6+2 are 8 pin but yeah it has 2 6+2 unless i dig out my bag then it could have up to 4 i wanted to know if i needed to dig out 2 more to use the adaptors giving this card a total of 4 6 pin to feed 2 8 pin then i dug into it some more and no i am fine with the 2 6+2
 

Naieve

Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
749
Most 8 pin adapters on modern psu's are 6 pin adapters with their ground pins doubled up to a separate 2 pin ground. 6+2 pin.

There is no way in the entire world a 1070 would cause a problem with a 6 pin to 8 pin adapter.
 

Lunas

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 22, 2001
Messages
9,966
Most 8 pin adapters on modern psu's are 6 pin adapters with their ground pins doubled up to a separate 2 pin ground. 6+2 pin.

There is no way in the entire world a 1070 would cause a problem with a 6 pin to 8 pin adapter.
the card i just got had two 6 pin to 8 pin adaptors i had the cables in my pc setup to have 2 6+2 pin cables i did not want to have to dig out the other cables and snake 2 more 6+2 in my case to hookup the 2 adaptors...
 

_l_

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 27, 2016
Messages
1,151
Why ship a card with connectors that can handle 375w when it doesn't even use 200w?
... and claim the card has massive power handling on the spec sheet.

I agree on that one. The EVGA GTX 970 FTW has 6+6 and the lower priced / lower clocked EVGA GTX 970 SSC Gaming has 8+6 ...
 

Lunas

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 22, 2001
Messages
9,966
Why ship a card with connectors that can handle 375w when it doesn't even use 200w? Heree it's using less than the GTX 1080:

Review: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW Gaming ACX 3.0 - Graphics - HEXUS.net - Page 12

Lazy as fuck design by OEMs here, just to complicate installation, and claim the card has massive power handling on the spec sheet. I think you should be fine using a 6 to 8-pin adapter, since it shouldn't be drawing more than 75w on any particular channel

Or overkill for the sake of over clockers also it is speced to use 225w the superclocked variety is 185w the ftw are 225w and have 10 phase power
 

Pandur

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 4, 2000
Messages
320
The picture posted earlier in this thread doesn't tell the whole story though. The difference between 6-pin and 6+2-pin pcie power cables is that a true 6-pin cable has only two live 12v pins. The extra ground and sense wires in the +2 is meant to tell the graphics card that the third 12v pin is also live.

In reality many PSU manufacturers, of good quality PSU's, just connect all three 12v pins no matter if it's a 6-pin or 6+2-pin cable. And/or the wires are overdimensioned so even if it only has two you can still pull 150W without melting the cable (which enough people have ended up doing using molex adapters).
 
Top