Ethernet Channel on HDMI Cables?

Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
3
Hi! I am upgrading my HDMI cables and I keep seeing them offered with a Ethernet Channel? What the heck is that for???? Does that mean I can use it like a patch cable. I am just trying to figure out when and how I would actually use an Ethernet Channel. I went on HDMI's website and it says what it is but says nothing about an application?? Any input is much appreciated!

Here is an example!

http://www.cablingplus.com/products/277050x-vanco-50-ft-1-4-hdmi-cable

Thanks!
 

Jarod888

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
2,679
I think the thought is that it allows you to reduce the number of cables to your tv. I saw an article on it somewhere, maybe maximumpc or CPU.
Posted via Mobile Device
 

Bighitter

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 24, 2000
Messages
1,685
It works just like an ethernet cable between 2 devices that support such, unfortunately I have still not seen any devices that include the functionality so its a "future proofing" purchase at this point.
 

Verge

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 27, 2001
Messages
7,041
Hi! I am upgrading my HDMI cables and I keep seeing them offered with a Ethernet Channel? What the heck is that for???? Does that mean I can use it like a patch cable. I am just trying to figure out when and how I would actually use an Ethernet Channel. I went on HDMI's website and it says what it is but says nothing about an application?? Any input is much appreciated!

Here is an example!

http://www.cablingplus.com/products/277050x-vanco-50-ft-1-4-hdmi-cable

Thanks!


You completely fail !!!!





http://www.google.com/search?client...rceid=opera&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&channel=suggest

http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdmi_1_4/hec.aspx


You can run Ethernet over cat6 btw, if that is what you are implying.
 

Demon10000

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 20, 2006
Messages
4,502
The HDMI 1.4 spec included a channel for ethernet to reduce the number of cables that need to be plugged into each device since everything is internet connected these days. The idea is that you would provide ethernet to your "hub device" (probably a receiver for most applications) and then each HDMI device that was connected to your "hub device" would become connected to the same ethernet network.

I would imagnie that any HDMI 1.4 receiver that is up to spec would support this, but I don't know of any devices (like game consoles or blu-ray players) that support this yet.
 

ghost6303

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 24, 2004
Messages
2,291
i think what he meant was "OP- you could have found the answer by spending 10 seconds of your time and going to google instead of making a new thread (eye-roll smiley)", but it came out sounding like "im a giant dbag who gets upset at people on the internet for almost no reason". failure all around, i guess.

although there was this
You can run Ethernet over cat6 btw, if that is what you are implying.
which has obviously nothing to do with what the OP was talking about.

the original question has already been answered though; its part of the HDMI 1.4 spec.
 

powdermnky007

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
82
The caveat is you need one device in your system to be the 'router' for lack of a better word. This is the device the single ethernet cable would be plugged into that feeds all of your other devices with ethernet. Of course all of your other devices to be compatible with this new spec also.
 

nitrobass24

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
10,462
You can run Ethernet over cat6 btw, if that is what you are implying.

OMFG you can do this?!?!

Wow thank you for your wonderful insight. Im sure the OP appreciates your help.


OP basically its to eliminate the need to run patch cables to all of your devices. Unfortunately most devices don't yet support this feature, so really you can purchase 1.4 cables but its just future-proofing as of right now. So if you dont plan on upgrading all of your devices, then its not worth it.
 
Top