Educate me - should I buy these prebuilt NAS (which is better) or make my own?

Red Squirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,211
Those are nice, my home server actually has two similar to your second link. They have their own sata connector so you can do what you want with the drives (WHS, MD raid, etc)
 

arachn1d

Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
836
I guess you're still not sold on the DS410 idea? Or is it the cost?
No, I'm definitely sold on the DS410. I want to backup the DS410 onto an External Hard Drive. However if my DS410 is in raid 5 with 4x 2TB drives I'll have way more storage than an external hard drive can back up to. So I wondered if there are "raid external enclosures", and apparently there are. So I want to use a "raid external enclosure" to back up the DS410 to.
 

schnell

Gawd
Joined
Jul 22, 2005
Messages
763
the LaCie 5big posted earlier is the biggest (maybe why it is the 5big) piece of shit I have ever had the misfortune of using/supporting in my life. On a good day the web client page will respond, It randomly locks up and disconnects, and generally just annoys me with its stupid blue light. We get it LaCie your products are trendy and look cool, too bad they do not perform.
 

arachn1d

Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
836
the LaCie 5big posted earlier is the biggest (maybe why it is the 5big) piece of shit I have ever had the misfortune of using/supporting in my life. On a good day the web client page will respond, It randomly locks up and disconnects, and generally just annoys me with its stupid blue light. We get it LaCie your products are trendy and look cool, too bad they do not perform.
Thanks for the feedback. I've switched my decision to Synology DS410.

Right now figuring out if an external hard drive enclosure that acts as a RAID 5 is possible.

I want to back up the DS410 to an external HD but a typical external HD isn't more than 2TB. So if I have 5GB+ on the DS410 how do I back it up to external HD?

I am wondering if there are "multiple HD" external enclosures that can act as a massive external HD?
 

wonSR4

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 17, 2009
Messages
1,588
No, I'm definitely sold on the DS410. I want to backup the DS410 onto an External Hard Drive. However if my DS410 is in raid 5 with 4x 2TB drives I'll have way more storage than an external hard drive can back up to. So I wondered if there are "raid external enclosures", and apparently there are. So I want to use a "raid external enclosure" to back up the DS410 to.

Oh right right makes sense. I might do that too although I think I would be okay with just an external hard drive to back up my most important stuff. If I lose tv shows or anything similar, I won't be as upset if I lose my music or pictures.
 

arachn1d

Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
836
Oh right right makes sense. I might do that too although I think I would be okay with just an external hard drive to back up my most important stuff. If I lose tv shows or anything similar, I won't be as upset if I lose my music or pictures.
For sanity sake, and recovery sake, I'd love to be able to just "recover from external HD" when using the Synology interface, that way you're back up and running in no time.
 

wonSR4

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 17, 2009
Messages
1,588
For sanity sake, and recovery sake, I'd love to be able to just "recover from external HD" when using the Synology interface, that way you're back up and running in no time.

Yeah that's true. It's not as big of a deal for me since it'll be used just for my own computer :)
 
Top